Ratings based on 607 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom WV

Great hotel near sporting events!

Posted Dec 9, 2014
Great breakfast with a lot of options! Staff including maintenance were friendly and very helpful. Checking in was efficient and the room was beautiful! I would travel and stay here again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Time.. very Convenient location

Posted Dec 8, 2014
Pros: Location and Staff Friendliness
Cons: Breakfast.. Not set up well and leads to Extremely long lines.. way too long
Location: it is near everything... just a "people Mover" away to Casino's, The JOE, Tiger and lions stadium..
Just returning from our trip to Detroit.. Saw a Red wings game, went to Greek town Casino, had a Lafayette Coney (2 blocks away). Great weekend.. The Staff at here at the Holiday Inn were GREAT, all of them, Valet, Front desk, Housekeeping.. all. It's an Older Holiday Inn, Its Clean though.. just down the street from Detroit's "People Mover",... very fun restaurant/Bar .. mixture of locals and tourists. I was a bit reserved about traveling and staying in Detroit.. NOT any more.. we walked, people moved etc across the city and had the BEST time. we will be back.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom chicago

very poor experience.

Posted Dec 6, 2014
Pros: nothing. I didn't use the pool because I didn't want to brave the hallway or the elevator again.
Cons: keep the guests quiet
Location: downtown Detroit.
we arrived at 8:15 pm with prepaid reservations and were told that our rooms were not ready so we waited 15 min to get to rooms. the cleaner continued to vacuum the hall after we were in the rooms till about 9 PM One elevator had a puddle on the floor which smelled like (and we were told) was a spilled bottle of liquor. So that elevator was out, and they had someone helping in the staff/freight elevator because the others didn't respond to calls because the elevator that was not usable was open on the first floor. the elevator floor was still sticky and marked up in the morning. There was noise (kids running, adults yelling, pounding) from the time we got into the rooms till at least 1 AM. 2 calls to the desk didn't help. At 6:44 AM we were awakened with an adult yelling into a room "time to get up" and then yelling" be quiet". The room itself was well appointed, comfortable. Breakfast good. Car parking fast. The manager did give a credit when I complained but it clearly didn't make up for a very unpleasant evening. Although the manager was pleasant in the AM . I rated staff poorly because of the experience with the wait and the elevators.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 16, 2014 by Emily, Hotel Management
MK, Thank you for sharing your detailed feedback. We rely on your comments to guide us as we continue improving the hotel. I regret that we missed some important opportunities to provide you with a flawless experience but am pleased that the room was comfortable and you appreciated our amenities such as the Express Start breakfast and valet parking. We hope to have a chance to welcome you back again to provide the experience you should expect. Enjoy today! Emily P Dailey Portfolio Reputation Manager - Holiday Inn Express Detroit
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel

Posted Dec 2, 2014
Location: One block from the People Mover was a plus!!
Check in was a little crazy busy, but the staff was efficient and handled it well. The motel was very clean. Loved the breakfast. We enjoyed the shuttle provided by the hotel. Would stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 18, 2014
Friendly, helpful staff. Clean and convenient location. Good value.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not a bad place to stay!

Posted Nov 3, 2014
Pros: The beds and refrigirator
Cons: The elevators need to be cleaned more often
Location: It is near the heart of Down Town Detroit with in walking distance of many local hot spots.
I found the room to be clean accommodating, it has a nice size fridge with lots of room. The toilet seat was loose and I almost fell off more then once. I fond the elevators to be a bit dirty, it looked like stuff was splashed on the doors of most of them. To be fair there was a convention in town. They served a pretty nice breakfast up until 10 am. I find that 20 bucks a night to park it a bit over priced.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Good for price. $20 Valet (not optional).

Posted Oct 31, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel was pretty good for the price I thought. Keep in mind that you have to valet your car and the charge is $20.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by G. Thompsonfrom California

Posted Oct 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
Fully adequate to my needs.