Ratings based on 494 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Kalamazoo, MI

Nice hotel in New Center area

Posted Apr 29, 2015
Pros: The staff, the cleanliness, and the bed
Cons: The only downside is there's no self parking available, so you kinda have to chuck out the $20 per night for the valet.
Location: There isn't much around the actual hotel location, but midtown and downtown in just a 5 minute drive down Woodward, so no big deal.
The front desk staff when I checked in was extremely knowledgeable and helpful. There was some confusion about the price when I arrived, and she accommodated me accordingly, which was greatly appreciated. The room was very clean, and the bed was SOOOOO comfortable! The only downside was that the valet staff was not very friendly or inviting, and they didn't even offer to help me with my bags :(
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

You check in and then you count down to checkout

Posted Apr 23, 2015
Pros: The staff was friendly.
Cons: The hotel rooms can be freshened up. Replace broken furniture.
Location: I was there for one night.
The hotel furniture is in bad shape. The desk chair was ripped, the bed made a lot of noise, the toilet seat shifted a lot and the tub was a little grimmy. The breakfast was expensive and bland. The restaurant closed at 9pm and the only food option was a pizza joint.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Michigan

Tiger Game

Posted Apr 8, 2015
Pros: Location
Location: Comerica Park
Hotel staff was very friendly. Front desk clerk had a great sense of humor. The waitress in the restaurant was very professional and friendly. The bartender was not very social. The housecleaning staff was friendly and pleasant in the hallways.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom milwaukee

Price point is right on

Posted Apr 6, 2015
If the walls could talk! A little tired but glamourous Art Deco and probably "the spot" in its hay day. Clean, comfortable, great location and staff is exceptional! Very well priced, I stay when visiting my son. I highly recommend! All staff gets an A+ they are most courteous, respectful and friendly around.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom cobalt, ontario

We drove over 9 hours that day!

Posted Mar 10, 2015
When we arrived the staff was welcoming and helpful and overall great! Rooms were clean and spacious and throughout our stay the staff were helpful and accommodating!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Clio, Michigan

close to event

Posted Mar 2, 2015
Pros: Price
Cons: Choices of drinks in the bar were very limited. One beer on tap and didn't have either of the mixer we asked for either.
Location: There was nothing within walking distance. The neighborhood was a bit sketchy.
I chose this hotel because it said on the website that there was a shuttle available to Joe Louis. When I got there, we had to rely on a cab. I was disappointed. We could hear every little sound in our room too.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Too expensive for the condition

Posted Mar 2, 2015
Pros: It was convenient for the location we needed. The linens on the bed were very nice.
Cons: See above.
Location: We were right by the highway we needed and 6 miles from Greektown and the Joe Louis Arena.
Our room was next to the elevator (which I've learned is common for Expedia-reserved rooms). The heat in the hallways and our room was overpowering. We had to actually turn our thermostat off in order to get the heat to turn off. The front cover of the heating unit kept falling off. The television was poor quality & old style with very little station choices. It took a long time for the water to get hot. The valet service was nice but our car was kept parked right outside the door so the $20 valet charge was unnecessary. There was no information about the hotel amenities in the room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Grand Rapids Mi

Decent Hotel

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Very nice staff. Very clean. Good restaurant. Only complaints no free parking. No gym pool or hot tub. Hallways were hot. The building is old and has a unique charm. $20 for Valet parking seems a little much.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Andrewfrom Naperville, IL

Nice Hotel but...

Posted Feb 3, 2015 on Hotels.com
Very nice hotel, should have been told upfront by the booking site that parking is extra cost and mandatory valet. Most people don't like surprises when they travel, especially me.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 30, 2015 on Hotels.com