Ratings based on 320 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Grand Rapids, Mi

Beautiful rooms

Posted Dec 8, 2014
Great service, beautiful rooms you could have as much quiet and privacy, or as much action as you could want with the casino a short walk through the facility. I would go back in a heartbeat!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ohio

Nice hotel, hotel staff was very pleasant.

Posted Nov 20, 2014
Pros: The staff was very friendly, hotel had everything you needed on site, no real need to venture out.
Cons: Of course the stopped drain and quicker valet.
Location: Didn't really venture out based on comments about city not really being a good place to walk around.
Hotel was very nice, unfortunately the drain in the shower seemed to be clogged the water drained so slow it almost ran over into the room, had to cut shower short to avoid a huge mess. Free valet parking was nice until we had to wait @30 minutes to get our car, eventually found out the initial call for our auto didn't go through. Would have been nice if the first gentleman we asked about the extent of the wait would have actually checked instead of just saying we're a bit busy it could take longer. Female attendant actually made a call and got our car for us. All desk attendants were very friendly. We were also told there wasn't a shuttle or transportation to joe Louis arena, there really was and we only found this out once we found ourselves stranded after taking a cab to the venue.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Grand Rapids, MI

TOP OF MY ALL TIME LIST!

Posted Nov 16, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
I have stayed in many hotels all over the planet and this one is overall the best I have had the pleasure of experiencing. Exceeding many "5 star" hotels hands-down. Extremely clean, super friendly and attentive staff, very comfortable!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 12, 2014
very nice place, friendly staff and great rooms will definitely be back
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Michigan

Very Nice !

Posted Nov 10, 2014
Pros: Very clean....................nice romantic setting in the room
Cons: Casino seemed to zap our money quicker than normal casino would.
Location: We went to Redwings game and were lucky enough to be given complimentary Limo ride to the game.
Every single member of the staff was super friendly ! It's one thing to give superior service, but it was clear that every single member of the MGM Grand team was commited to making us comfortable. Front Desk, Door Men, Valet, Room Service and even Maintenance Team were incredibly friendly !!!!! My only complaint is I had to tip more than I expected to but tips were well deserved and never solicited. Excess tips were purely a result of being taken so well taken care of by the staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Birmingham, MI

Great Hotel

Posted Oct 28, 2014
Great hotel and casino, great hotel room, very nice restaurants and room service, TAP restaurant lots of fun and great food, bed was very comfortable, very nice bathroom, tv in mirror was very nice/convenient when getting ready, very easy to get limo, sedan or taxi, would definitely recommend, extremely nice, hotel staff was extremely nice, friendly, professional and helpful
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel and very accommodating!

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Pros: Valet parking was very convenient! Beds were very comfortable.
Cons: Microwave and coffee maker available in room-even if added to bill.
I had a wonderful stay. Room was clean, bed was comfortable, bathroom was spacious and modern. A microwave would have been nice(wasn't one available in room or anywhere throughout hotel for guests).
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to marathon start/finish

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Pros: The beds were very comfortable.
Cons: Having a bathtub instead of an overlarge shower would have been more appreciated by me.
Location: Close to Detroit Marathon start/finish. Not much else of interest to me within safe walking distance
I'm simply not a fan of casinos - having to walk through smoke-filled rooms to conveniently reach parking is unpleasant. The fault may have been with how I booked the room (through Expedia) but I don't think the quality of the room was commensurate with how much it cost. It would have improved my experience if the front desk manager had allowed late checkout to marathon runners, yet this is not what happened and I had to wait until check in to find this out. The management of the Mission Point Resort on Mackinac Island offers access to their health club showers for a $20 fee after their 1/2 marathon race in the fall. Something similar would be a good idea, and may generate positive interest in the MGM Grand.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Michigan

MGM Grand Detrtoit

Posted Oct 7, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: NA
Wonderful hotel and excellent service. Will definitely be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 19, 2014 on Hotels.com