Ratings based on 167 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Detroit

If you want to feel insignificant stay here!

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: The staff.......bellman, service staff, waiters/waitresses were very nice, pleasant and helpful.
Cons: Management is abysmal and singularly the reason we will never stay at a marriott again. We will encourage all of our friends to choose other hotels!
Location: Not there long enough to know.
The process began very well. Was able to read reviews before making a final decision. Pictures were very helpful and very accurate. The hotel was very nice. It was very clean and the staff were initially very helpful and accommodating. We had to check in between a wedding ceremony and the reception so we literally checked in, drop off our bags and left. We returned to the room at approximately 12:30 AM. While relaxing after a busy day, we heard some sort of elevator very close to our room; odd because we were a good distance from the hotel elevator. This elevator and the accompanying noise kept us up all night! Assuming it was too late to do anything about it, now going on 1:00AM, decided to mention it in the morning. I called down to the front desk in the morning. Paul said he would contact a manager who would call me back. Paul, not the hotel manager, called back 20 minutes later and proceeded to be very condescending and rude. Repeating several times that they had upgraded us to the Concierge King?? No mention was made of an upgrade prior to this, I never requested one and don't consider a very small room with one chair an upgrade! Paul "At Your Service", (supposedly his title), does not listen! The upshot is this: we were very unhappy, very tired,and not looking for anything other than a call from management, (unwarranted because I am NOT a "rewards member"??), and an apology. Hotel management is uncaring/unprofessional. Will NEVER stay at a marriott again!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 9, 2014 by Ami, Hotel Management
Hello Martha and thank you not only for visiting, but also for choosing to post. Please believe that we have passed your exact comments to our general manager for her review. We are sincerely sorry for any disappointment in the we handled your phone call the following day after check-in. It's always our top priority to assure guests a positive experience and we certainly would never want anyone to leave feeling "insignificant" as you say. Please accept our sincere apologies and we do hope to see you again soon. Thank you once again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 16, 2014 by Ami, Hotel Management
Hello from Oakland County! On behalf of our entire team here, we thank you for visiting and for leaving the four star rating. Thanks again an safe travels.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Weekend Traveler from Indiana

Weekend Stopover

Posted Jun 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel is first rate and very nicely decorated. We had an accessible room for my mother who made several demands on the staff. They answered each one cheerfully and really made the stay quite comfortable. However, I find irony in that the higher quality the hotel, the fewer services offered without charge.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 9, 2014 by Ami, Hotel Management
Greetings weekend traveler and thank you for your very useful feedback. We definitely appreciate the four stars, and are happy to hear that we were able to accommodate your mother, however we do apologize for your last comment. Please know that this is very valuable feedback that we are sharing with our general manager. Thank you again and we hope to see you again soon.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 9, 2014 by Ami, Hotel Management
Greetings weekend traveler and thank you for your very useful feedback. We definitely appreciate the four stars, and are happy to hear that we were able to accommodate your mother, however we do apologize for your last comment. Please know that this is very valuable feedback that we are sharing with our general manager. Thank you again and we hope to see you again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Attended Conference

Posted May 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
Fine, nice hotel
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2014 by Ami, Hotel Management
Hello from Detroit and thank you for the glowing five stars! We definitely appreciate you taking the time to write and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2014 by Ami, Hotel Management
Hello and thank you for the glowing five stars! We appreciate you visiting and hope to see you again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good

Posted May 9, 2014
Pros: The staff were friendly, the bed was comfortable, and the restaurant was good.
Cons: The room decor could be updated a bit.
It was great. Everything was pleasant.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 12, 2014 by Ami, Hotel Management
Hello and thank you for the wonderful five star review! We appreciate you staying and hope to see you again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Rado

Posted Apr 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 5, 2014 by Ami, Hotel Management
Hello Rado and thank you so very much for the glowing five star review! We are happy that you visited and very appreciative of the review. Thanks again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by EF from NY

Our go-to hotel in the area

Posted Apr 28, 2014
We stay at the Troy Marriott 2 or 3 times per year when visiting family and have always enjoyed our stay (with one exception, when our stay happened at the same time a child beauty pagaent was going on at the hotel, which was overrun with pre-teens -- not really the hotel's fault). The staff is friendly and helpful and most have been there for years, which is usually the sign of a well-run establishment. My only complaint is that the rooms don't have a mini-fridge, which isn't really much to complain about.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 29, 2014 by Ami, Hotel Management
Hello EF and thank you for returning so many times while visiting your family. You are correct that we are very privileged to have several hosts who have been with us 5, 10, an even 20+ years! Regarding your comments about not having in-room refrigerators, please know that we do have a limited number of in-room fridges that are available for guest use. Should this be of interest, please inquire when booking your next reservation or upon arrival and should one of our refrigerators be available, we'll be happy to bring it to your room! Once again, we thank you for staying and look forward to seeing you on your next visit!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Shopping
by Stacey visockis

Posted Apr 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 5, 2014 by Ami, Hotel Management
Stacey, thank you so much for the glowing five stars! We appreciate you staying and hope to see you again very soon. Travel safely!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Bobby from London, ON

Lovely

Posted Apr 22, 2014
Pros: Service, bed, shower, food.....
Location: Troy Michigan, Somerset Mall, Birmingham, Carrabba's, PF Changs, The Bird and the Bread restaurant, Grosse Pointe
The service was great!. Jaime helped organize everything so that it was very smooth. We were upgraded, received everything promised plus more....the staff are great, room super clean, bed comfy. Couldn't ask for more.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 29, 2014 by Ami, Hotel Management
Hello Bobby and thank you for the glowing five star review! We're happy to learn about your upgrade and that everything was wonderful. We'll look forward to your next visit!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
Comment from Hotel Management
May 24, 2014 by Ami, Hotel Management
Hello and thank you so much for the glowing five star review! We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again soon.