Ratings based on 124 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 12, 2014
1st room I was assigned to had wet towels on floor in bathroom - bed was not made - had to request a new room. Made reservations for 2 rooms at the same time. They were far apart
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manitou Beach MI

further from the Palace of Auburn Hills than liste

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: The beds were very comfortable, sleep number!!
Cons: breakfast
Location: location to our event we came to town for @ The Palace was further than described so if you don't mind a 30 min drive to The Palce it may be the place
The hotel is further from the palace than listed. Listed as 7.97 miles its closer to 17.97 miles. Hotel breakfast wasn't very appealing. Hotel rooms are old & run down, need updating. Mold/Mildew in shower grout .
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad stay

Posted Jun 25, 2014
Doors did not work. Could not leave the room without someone to let you in. The beds were hard as a rock.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2014 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
We're terribly sorry about this experience. We will review the condition of your room with our maintenance manager to be sure our future guests do not encounter this kind of trouble with the door. Magnetic key cards can be deactivated by static electricity, magnets and even proximity to cell phones. We'll alert our front desk team about this and ensure they pass along this information to out guests. Again, thank you for you comments and letting us know how we can improve our hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel needs updating

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Rooms and hallways were OK. The restaurant / bar was closed. Breakfast tasted OK, but was served in a function room. Courtyard walls, near pool especially, should be cleaned / power washed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 27, 2014 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us and for your comments. Your observation regarding the pool area has been shared with our team so that they may take action on your suggestion. We'll also share your review with our management to take into account as they consider updates and changes to the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back if your travels bring you to Bloomfield Hills again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tim from Chicago, IL

The Kingsley Inn no more!

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Pros: Proximity to venue, general cleanliness.
Cons: Continental breakfast was horrible. Still, it was free, so I can't complain too much.
Location: Cranbrook Kingswood Schools, as well as downtown Birmingham. If you're looking for beer / liquor, go SOUTH to the Mobile Gas Station. Nice selection
I attended school nearby, and back in the day (25 years ago), this was the Kingsley Inn, which had a bit of a reputation. I had never been there, and thus, when it came time to book a room that was close to the school, I wasn't biased. In truth, the room was fine, if a little odd-shaped (the room is split in half by the closet space into a seating area with a couch and a cabinet holding a 40" TV and the bed area). The wallpaper was scuffed pretty badly along the baseboard near the exit, and the door stop on the floor is VERY poorly placed. I stepped on it while leaving the bathroom, and the pain is akin to stepping on a LEGO brick in the dark. I REALLY wanted to talk about what happened when I came in my first night. I had gone to the store and was carrying several heavy bags. I entered on the parking lot side which is the first floor. I was looking for an elevator to go to the second floor. I passed rooms that were used for meetings, and finally I came to an elevator. The inside was the first clue that I had entered the unrenovated part of the hotel. I punched "2" and it took me to the perfect setting for a horror movie. Stained carpets, doors with padlocks on them that had been forced open, and debris galore. I just wanted to enter the 'good' part of the hotel, but after a lot of wandering, I had to go back down the elevator, where I was met by a stern but kind hotel employee, who escorted me back to the right place. Any urban spelunkers out there?
3 out of 5
by Amit from Singapore

Compact & Cozy, but that's it...

Posted Jun 6, 2014
While the hotel is not bad, it'd location is not very suitable. Breakfast is poor and sparse. There was a power cut for 1 complete day due to a small storm. Air con wouldn't work and all digital TV channels went off the air. While not the hotel's fault, they certainly could've done a better job of informing guests. No restaurants on site, hence no room service. Overvall a neutral experience. Some staff members were friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kurt from New York, NY

Posted May 25, 2014
Beautiful hotel. Great staff, very accommodating. Got a free upgrade, huge room with balcony.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Amanda from Sterling Heights, MI

Nice hotel at reasonable price

Posted May 19, 2014
Pros: Great location, easy parking.
Cons: Sleep number bed functioning.
I was impressed with the price of this hotel for the location. It was convenient for the wedding that I was attending. The room was great with the exception that the sleep number bed wasn't working, but it was comfortable anyway.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible beds and place reeks of cigarettes

Posted May 18, 2014
Beds were terribly uncomfortable and the entire place smelled like an asstray. The nonsmoking rkoms obviously are not policed or enforced. I go to Detroit four or five times a year and will never stay there again. Staff was curtious and friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Julie from San Antonio, TX

Nice Hotel on Main Thoroughfare

Posted May 15, 2014
Cons: The hot tub was evidently not working, as the temperature of the pool was warm, but the hot tub was very cold.
My daughter and I spent 6 nights at this hotel. Although our room was not one that had recently been remodeled, it was very clean and comfortable. We especially appreciated having a refrigerator in the room. The hotel is located in a beautiful, safe area on a major thoroughfare. Restaurants and all kinds of shopping are nearby.