Ratings based on 183 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London, Ontario, Canada

Excellent Value and Friendly Staff

Posted May 26, 2015
We only stayed one night but the staff was very welcoming and made getting to the airport very easy. The bed was a little hard but still comfortable when you got used to it. The make your own waffles for breakfast were excellent and well worth the stay. We will be recommending the Red Lion to friends and family. Thank you for a great night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Ann Arbor, MI

Great hotel for luxury and on a budget

Posted May 21, 2015
Pros: I liked that the hotel served coffee in the lobby throughout the day.
Cons: Communication among the staff should be improved --- I signed up for a late check out at 1:00 pm, and the staff was knocking on my door at 11:00 am.
Location: It was very close to the airport, a few coffee shops nearby, easy access to I-94.
The only thing I did not like about the room was that it was under a central air system --- I like having an AC unit to my own room. Other than that, all the appliances were modern, the bathroom was a nice space, and the bed was rather comfortable to sleep on.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 23, 2015 by Rebecca, Hotel Management
Dear Richard, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay, notwithstanding the air conditioning preference. Please feel free to visit any time. Sincerely, Rebecca Connolly Sales Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Rockford, Mi

The Red Lion worked nicely for our purposes.

Posted May 14, 2015
Pros: Clean, and friendly courteous staff
Cons: Better continental breakfast. Add donuts, bagels, an additional juice besides OJ, and decaf coffee. I know most people like caffein, but not all.
Location: Close to the airport, a nearby Walmart, and a couple restaurants. That's about it.
My wife found the hotel through Expedia, and with a 3.5 rating, we were happy we chose it. We took our 19 year old granddaughter and a friend to Detroit the day before they were to catch a 7:00 am. flight from Detroit Metro Airport. The staff was friendly, professional, and helpful in giving directions to a couple restsurants for dinner. They had a continental breakfast that was okay, but I've had better at other hotels. Our room had two doubled beds, an u stocked mini fridge, a microwave, a nice flat screen TV, and plenty of channels including HBO. The room was very clean, and if you like a firm mattress, this place is for you. You could hear jets coming and going from the airport, but after a while, it was just background noise, and no big deal. Also, the trip to the airport from the hotel, was about five minutes. We would stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 23, 2015 by Rebecca, Hotel Management
Dear Mike, We are glad your wife found us, and appreciate you taking the time to review our property! Our staff works hard to make sure our guests have an enjoyable experience, and we like hearing about when that happens! Please do come back and see us again, we'd love to have you! Sincerely, Rebecca Connolly Sales Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Supriseingly nice and very relaxing...............

Posted May 11, 2015
Very nice stylish HGtvish type rooms the tv can be a lil bigger other then that a pleasnt front desk staff an a nice get away
Comment from Hotel Management
May 14, 2015 by Rebecca, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you so much for the kind words. We are glad you found our staff friendly and enjoyed your stay! Sincerely, Rebecca Connolly Sales Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by jeffreyfrom Michigan

Basic, no frills inexpensive hotel

Posted Feb 22, 2015 on Hotels.com
This was a great hotel for staying at the night before a flight out of the airport. Your basic no frills, convenient, inexpensive place. However, after check in, when I got to my room, there was no running water in bathroom. I had to move to another room, but that room had no place to hang clothes. I spent the night and the free shuttle to airport was nice and convenient.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom london, ontario

Nice, clean, friendly staff, dog friendly

Posted Feb 1, 2015
Pros: Dog friendly
Cons: Breakfast coffee was terrible
Location: Close to the airport but there were no restaurants nearby and I did not have a car
Room clean but there was a cigarette burn on the coverlet in my "smoke-free" room
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Disappointing

Posted Jan 9, 2015 on Hotels.com
The hotel changed ownership & name a month before our stay & we were not informed. On our arrival at first we were told we had to pay again& get a refund from the previous owners & then after a long discussion it was discovered that we had prepaid & owed $00. The room was clean but very very small.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Armandofrom San Juan Puerto Rico

A+

Posted Nov 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
Clean,service excellent,breakfast very good,airport pick up and drop off great.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by PATRICIAfrom tucson

could be better

Posted Nov 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
There was construction going on and the refrigerator was smelly
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by barbfrom Paisley

Great stay

Posted Nov 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
It was very clean and friendly.