Ratings based on 466 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Virginia

Red Roof hotels update

Posted Dec 2, 2014
Pros: Every staff person I met was friendly and helpful.
Location: Located close to Henry Ford Museum and Greenfield Village, or any of the attractions associated with the Ford company.
I am impressed with the upgrade that Red Roof has done at their properties. I stayed in 2 different locations over the Thanksgiving holiday. The rooms are clean. The beds are comfortable. There is a lot of desk space. The price was great compared to the other brand name hotel chains. The rooms open to the outside, but it seemed like a very safe area. It isn't fancy, but if you are looking for a comfortable room at a good price, you'd be happy here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Lafayette, IN

Nice clean hotel

Posted Nov 28, 2014
We only stayed one night but it was just what we needed. The room we were supposed to get wasn't cleaned when we got there, so we got upgraded which was nice. The room was very clean and the bed was comfortable. The only problem was controlling the heat. We were too warm despite turning the thermostat down. It is also a little tricky getting in and out of the property. Overall though, we would recommend it as an inexpensive, clean place to stay when visiting the Detroit area.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom San Diego, CA

Basic, relatively cheap...

Posted Nov 2, 2014
Pros: Clean sheets/towels, basic
Cons: Take away the fridge cause it ticks.
I decided to book this hotel because it was relatively cheap compared to the other ones and had good ratings. Upon actually experiencing the hotel myself, I would say this much: The staff are definitely pleasant, but the room is probably more like a motel. The corridors lead to the outside which is especially scary when you're on the first floor because basically, you don't want to open the windows at all, especially not at night. But that was fine for me because it was November so it was pretty cold. The heater takes a while to finally open because it's one of those really old ones that exist near the top of the wall and pumps out heat. Overall, room was clean, sheets, and towels were clean. I had one of the accessible rooms which meant it was for disabled people so the bathroom was ginormous. Definitely bring a flip flop or shower slippers because I personally wouldn't want to stand in their shower area on my bare feet. The walls and corners of the bathroom looked sort of moldy/dirty. The walls of the hotel room is really thin and around 5 or 6am, I totally thought someone was trying to get inside my room and I absolutely freaked out, but then when I looked at the peephole, I didn't see anyone so I'm guessing that it was for next door...it was just so loud though that it pretty much sounded like they were trying to get into my room. The heater and fridge makes loud noises at night so I unplugged the fridge. Thankfully, no puddle appeared that morning.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago, IL

Convenient location

Posted Oct 28, 2014
Pros: Great room for a great price. Convenient location.
Cons: It was a little hard to find the driveway into the hotel.
Location: Close to The Henry Ford Museum, Greenfield Village and the Ford Estate. Close enough to downtown Detroit.
We enjoyed our stay at Red Roof Inn. The hotel was conveniently located to the attractions we were in Dearborn to visit. It was only about 10 minutes to The Henry Ford. There were a couple of nice restaurants within a few block area. The room was clean and comfortable. We would definitely stay here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Absteige - gerade noch OK

Posted Oct 27, 2014
Cons: No strange smell in a room.
We had two rooms. Both smelled strange but one smelled quite heavy. I think it was kind of a chemical cleaning that caused the smell but not sure. Ground floor rooms have window but everybody directly looks into your bed. Washbasin is in sleeping room. Shower and toilet is in seperated room. However the room was clean and the car still there next morning. Breakfast is only a bag with an apple, a muffin and a bottle of water.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 21, 2014
This is an older Red Roof Inn and didn't match the pictures on the website. It served it's purpose but was less than expected.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto

Excellent cheap alternate in Dearborn

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Excellent staff and service who catered to our every request. Breakfast bags every morning included a bottle of water, a fruit and either a granola bar or a muffin. Nice way to start morning off. Stayed here due to high rates everywhere else for NFL game and was not disappointed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable, very good value hotel

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Pros: Comfortable clean well-stocked room. Breakfast bag a welcome surprise.
Cons: Given the presence of the microwave and fridge, some plastic cutlery would be useful if not essential.
Location: The hotel is a short drive from the Henry Ford Museum, Greenfield Village open air museum and Dearborn Amtrak station.
Two comfortable nights, very cheap rates. Best for those who have a car though there is a bus that runs past the hotel and taxis are easy to get if called. A 12 dollar ride got us to the Henry Ford Museum.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Cincinnati, OH

Reasonable price for the room

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Overall it was ok, maybe 3.5 out of 5. Room is good, but bathroom is small. Plenty of walking if you have a second story room that's near the ends of the building. It's clean, but I've seen much cleaner and more updates for the price. Good selection of tv channels. Comfortable King bed. Location is great, but that depends where you want to stay near. I have an 80% chance of staying there again if I were to go and BTW, I did see 2 ants in the room, so they may need to step up pest control.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ulan Bator

Close to Airport

Posted Sep 27, 2014
Pros: The renovated rooms
I was in transit in Detroit and this hotel was great. Recently renovated and very comfortable. The staff was very helpful and smily!