Ratings based on 455 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Pros: I like the old time 50's feel and the location.
Cons: maybe a few more modern things.
Location: I stayed because I went to chene park .
The hotel has a boardwalk empire feel. Staff was friendly and very helpful, but if your looking for a modern hotel it's not but it is a nice hotel with a great view and location for the riverwalk. I have stayed here twice and enjoyed my stay each time.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Not what I expected

Posted Jun 20, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Serious remodeling updates.
I booked this hotel based on few different factors. First I need it right away. Second based on the customer rating of 3.5 I was hoping that it will be fairly descent. Third was the location relatively close to the job site we were working. First I have to admit that it was relatively clean. However everything was very old and worn out. The air in the room when we walked in had that smell of still air. Seemed like there hasn't been air circulation for a while. While I didn't care so much about the tv the other person with me found operating the remote control to be real hassle from the perspective of inresponsive buttons. There was uneven paint at the closet door which I found very ugly. There was no iron nor fridge. I wouldn't be complaining about the appearance as much but considering I paid $172 per night that was unacceptable. I have stayed in under $100 hotels that looked and felt many times better than this one.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by David

Nice location, clean

Posted Jun 19, 2014
Pros: Location, comfort
Cons: Decor was awful when it was new. Now it's getting a little threadbare. TVs blasting all the time in the lobby and restaurant.
Location: Riverwalk is truly enjoyable. Short hop to City Center restaurants, etc.
Clean, comfortable rooms. Staff is helpful. Decor is clean but dated. Needs redesign and redecoration. Terrible restaurant. Excellent location on the river with views to Belle Isle and Canada. Ask for a riverfront room. Riverwalk is a new, fun, safe attraction. Good restaurants in immediate area. Almost walking distance to Renaissance Center and Downtown.
1 out of 5
by Tim from Michigan

Very disappointing

Posted Jun 6, 2014
Pros: The location. Period.
Lights in my room not working. No clock in the room. No coffee cups. Continental breakfast was frozen mini muffins--again no cups for the coffee. Bar and restaurant were closed "for construction" with no advance warning.
2 out of 5
by Erin from Merrillville,IN

Just Okay

Posted Apr 25, 2014
We got into Detroit late and I was too tired too really care about the hotel. I had booked this the morning of our trip. The staff was interesting, not rude, but it was a different type of check-in service. The room was extremely warm. We turned the air on and it was 81 by the time we woke up in the morning. The vent in the room is loud and there is no way to turn it off. The curtains did not close all the way. The shower was the worst part. There was no temperature other than HOT or COLD. I spent more time trying to get the shower to a bearable temp than I actually did showering. The shower head was also very low. I am 5'8" and I barely fit. Check out was easy and the hotel was close to what we wanted to do. I probably will not stay here again.
3 out of 5
by John from detroit

Convenient, but minimal maintenance and service

Posted Apr 17, 2014
It seems that this hotel is used mostly by long term corporate customers so there is almost no effort made for their "breakfast."
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by W

beautiful on riverwalk

Posted Apr 9, 2014
Pros: Price to quality very good, nice people
Cons: Breakfats, but I think this is being renovated presently
Location: There is an excellent restaurant at 100yards, the Rattlesnake, and other bars and a microbrewery just nearby
Very convenient near center, free parking, beautifully situated on the Riverwalk, in front of Belle Ile. Free parking, very convenient near Downtown Detroit
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Char from B. Burton Michigan

Solidarity

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Loved drawing curtains and seeing the water! Suites are Gorgeous
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lady

Pleasant stay / friendly staff

Posted Mar 30, 2014
This was not our first stay at Roberts Riverwalk Hotel. Each time, the staff was friendly and our hotel stay was pleasant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by CSUE from Northern Michigan

Historical & Charming

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Pros: I thought for the reasonable price, the Hotel was quite pleasing. I loved the historical architecture of the place and the view of the river.
Cons: The place does need a few repairs. The bathroom door was hard to close. Could spend a little more time on the details like dusting.
Location: It was away from Downtown but not too far(2 miles?). It was cold/breezy when we stayed, otherwise the Riverwalk would have been a beautiful walk.
Went to Detroit to a Supercross event at Ford Field. Part of the hotel was closed for renovations which is why it seemed like we where the only ones staying there. I reserved my room online, so check-in was a breeze. The front desk was helpful. Ate at the restaurant downstairs for a late lunch and for Breakfast (some items where not available...but that was OK with us). The portions were big and tasty ...the Bartender/Waitress and Waiters were very friendly and accommodating which made every penny I spent worth it. Needed the shuttle to get to Downtown, but was told it was unavailable, that was disappointing since it is listed as a free service on their site. The front desk did call us a cab and we enjoyed our ride to and from town with our awesome driver "Clyde" :) If you are expecting to be waited on hand & foot then I suggest you not be so thrifty and book yourself a hotel elsewhere so you can feed your ego. But if you want nice, quiet, pleasant stay at a charming historical building this is it.