Ratings based on 291 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Grand Rapids, Michigan

Nice hotel ..

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: Room was nice and clean. Staff friendly.
Cons: Ok for our purpose this time.
Location: Great shopping. We had drinks at Capital Grille and dinner at J Alexanders nearby. Both were great. Easy access to/from highways.
My daugher and I booked this on short notice for a family funeral. It was easy to find and we arrived late in the evening to warm chocolate chip cookies straight out of the oven. Not even my choosy daughter could resist. Room had 2 double beds, was nice, but not spectacular. Provided all we needed. We did not try the restaurant, pool, or workout facility this time. We had heard that the meals were good but very expensive by family members who were there the day before for breakfast. I would stay there again, but maybe would be more interested in some of the other hotels in the area offering complimentary breakfasts next time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tokyo, Japan

Great location right next to Somerset Mall.

Posted Aug 7, 2014
Cons: Two things though, I wish they had a fridge in the rooms and would have liked to have some vending machines on my floor rather than having to buy bot
The stay at this hotel was a very great experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Easy location of the highway. Good looking lobby and clean rooms. Only stayed one night, but enjoyed it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago, il

Somerset inn, troy, mi

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Pros: Location. Tea tree shampoo/conditioner.
Cons: When the hotel is not full they should put their guest in a nicer rooms. Bathrooms could be updated.
Location: Somerset Malls. Restaurants close by.
Room was small. View was of air conditioners. This hotel use to have fabulous pillows. If they have them they were not in this room. I was disappointed in how small this room was. I have stayed there in the past and have never had this type of room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sammamish WA

Nice hotel - convinient location

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Friendly staff went out of way to accomodate my requests
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Like a Famous European Chain

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Pros: Clean, friendly, convenient.
Cons: Better HVAC. Add outlet plugs to rooms. Luggage rack in room. More reliable Internet.
Location: Across from a large Mall. Convenient to I-75 and many of the automotive suppliers.
I stayed in Somerset Inn for only one night. First impression was positive for a conference center hotel. It was convenient to my business, to shopping and to the Interstate and there was plenty of parking. But my room was disappointing. It was small and only had a double bed. Fortunately my wife wasn't with me so it was plenty big. But there was no luggage rack in the room and there wasn't much space to organize my suitcases without putting them on the floor. The air conditioner was old fashioned with a vernier hot/cold dial that was difficult to adjust to a precise room temperature. It was either cold or warm and the air conditioner was loud. The view was ugly 3rd floor roof. My biggest beef was that there wasn't sufficient number of outlets to charge all my devices. That's not acceptable in this day and age where most business travelers carries at least 3 devices. And the Internet was unstable. It kept disconnecting but when connected it was fast. The breakfast crew was accommodating to special needs from a Vegan member of my team but for a bagel with cream cheese, hash browns, toast, orange juice and 2 coffees, the bill came to 34 including tip. That's expensive. But I was here to sleep. And that I did. The bed was very comfortable. Would I come back to Somerset Inn? Not likely. I was here because my colleague made the reservation. I prefer the Hilton and Marriott networks.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Grand Rapids MI

Great location, great staff, one really big flaw.

Posted Jun 30, 2014
In room A/C was noisy and made a bad odor. Paid for two nights but slept so poorly the first that I chose to forfeit the second and go home.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Old standard deeps its dignity...

Posted Jun 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
literally walking distance to Somerset shops...clean room, friendly staff, a little dated in spots butvery well maintained...recommend it for business or personal pleasure stay in the Troy area...
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jun 18, 2014
Terrible internet conductivity and the AC unit was really loud.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 17, 2014 on Hotels.com