Ratings based on 195 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom portage, mi

Nice hotel near Sea Life

Posted Apr 27, 2015
Pros: Nice sized room at a fair price. I like the later checkout too (noon vs 11:00 like a lot of other places).
Cons: Pool and breakfast.
Location: Close to Great Lakes Crossing outlet mall & Sea Life.
My husband and I were looking for a spacious room to stay in near Sea Life, where we were taking our 3 year old. The room was nice with two queen beds (one for us, one for her) and we used the desk as her activity area. After she went to bed, we sat in the "living area" comfortably browsing the Internet on our devices with the free wifi. Overall comfy and clean room that worked well for us and just a few miles from Sea Life. Our only complaint of the room was that the fridge was on a two hour timer- I've never seen that before in any hotel- basically worthless. The pool was disappointing because it was so small (& really salty-weird). We were lucky to have to ourselves for about 20 minutes since once another family came in it was pretty crowded. And breakfast was just so-so. But overall ok, especially just for the one night we were going to be there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 30, 2015 by Joleisha, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank your for the 4 out of 5 star review. It is always a pleasure to hear when our guests enjoy themselves while at the Hotel. We have forwarded your information regarding the refrigerator to the proper department to ensure that this situation is an isolated one. We look forward to serving your future lodging needs.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom SE MI.

Clean hotel, lacking some standard amenities

Posted Apr 10, 2015
This hotel was clean and the bed was comfortable, however the sofa bed had crumbs on it when we pulled it out. The coffee maker only had one package of regular coffee (for one person) and only one package of cream and sugar. Thankfully we brought our own towels because the pool rack was empty (but the dirty bin was full) and this was at checking in (3:30pm). Overall I was disappointed, although it appeared clean, it kind of makes you wonder when such obvious lack of attention to detail was overlooked.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 13, 2015 by Joleisha, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I would like to apologize because, from the sounds of things, you were not as quite blown away as we hoped. Your comments have been duly noted and passed along to the proper departments. We value all of our guest's comments, positive or negative, so that we can continue to make improvements to our hotel. Please accept my deepest and sincere apology. Again, thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Holly, MI

Nice hotel, super close to the Palace

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Pros: The set up of the room was like two separate rooms in one
Cons: Have a shuttle that's running.
Location: Palace is right there, Great lakes crossing is not far at all.
The room set-up was very nice, way better then a traditional hotel room set up. Staff was very nice, rooms were clean, very nice breakfast. The only complaint I had was that the shuttle bus was not working.... Even though we were less than a mile away from the Palace, we were pre-partying before a concert and was depending on the shuttle to safely get us all there. Hopefully in the future your shuttle will be up and running just like it said when we initially booked our room. Other then that I would defiantly stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Great time and comfortable hotel. Would stay again!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 11, 2015 by Joleisha, Hotel Management
Thank you for the 5 star review. We look forward to serving any future lodging needs when your travels bring you back to the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Rayfrom Sturgis

Stayed for game.

Posted Feb 23, 2015 on Hotels.com
It was a nice hotel and great staff. The shuttle service was down and created a little more cost than we wanted to attend the game by taxi.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 11, 2015 by JoBradley, Hotel Management
Thank you for the 4 star review of your past stay. We do apologize that the shuttle was not available for the event that you attended. We hope to serve you again in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Kalamazoo, MI

Great hotel near the palace

Posted Feb 22, 2015
Pros: We loved the pool area.
Cons: We were up late so we missed breakfast. We wish that weekend breakfasts went a little later.
Location: We went to a Detroit Pistons game. The hotel is about 5 minutes away. It is also very close to the Great Lakes outlet mall.
We were in town to see the Detroit Pistons. The hotel is very close to the Palace. The pool area was very well maintained and our room was very clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2015 by JBradley, Hotel Management
Thank you for the 5 star review of your recent stay. We are pleased that you enjoyed the pool area and closness to the palace. Thank you again for choosing SpringHill Suites Marriott for your lodging needs. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

inconsistent rates

Posted Feb 20, 2015 on Hotels.com
Stayed there for location to children's swim meet at OU. Only complaint is there's another meet near there on March 8th and you want twice as much for the same room. Without hesitation,we chose to book w/ Centerpoint Marriott.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 11, 2015 by JoBradley, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us during your children's swim meet. We hope that you will continue to choose the Marriott brand for any future lodging needs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Dwaynefrom Flinttown

Warmth and Comfort Even During Polar Vortex

Posted Feb 19, 2015 on Hotels.com
The suite was very nice and clean. I like the work area and a fridge and microwave are always nice. The staff was great and very helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 2, 2015 by JoBradley, Hotel Management
Thank you for the 4 star review. We look forward to serving you again in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great location to the palace, ok hotel

Posted Feb 9, 2015
this was the perfect location for going to the palace of auburn hills. the hotel was fairly clean, we did have 2 nasty looking stains on the carpet and the tub wasnt the cleanest. its advertised on their website and on expedia that they have a free shuttle to the palace but yet there was no driver the night we were there so that was disappointing and we then had to pay to park at the game. then saturday morning we went down for breakfast and it ended at 930 which seems pretty early for a saturday. overall it was an ok stay but a great location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2015 by JBradley, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay. We are pleased that our location was a prime spot for you. We have forwarded your concerns to the proper departments . We look forward to serving your future lodging needs.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Katherinefrom Wyoming, MI

Clean and inviting

Posted Feb 3, 2015 on Hotels.com
This hotel is very clean and the amenities are great. The only complaint I have is that they charged my credit card twice even though I explained to the front desk clerk that it was already paid. Otherwise our stay was very enjoyable.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 2, 2015 by JoBradley, Hotel Management
Thank you for your 5 star review! The staff was pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Again, we do apologize for the confusion regarding your card. We look forward to serving your lodging needs in the future.