Ratings based on 395 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.9 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Angola, IN

Conveniently located close to the ballpark

Posted Apr 7, 2015
Pros: Located close to the ballpark
Cons: Pretty much everything excluding the staff
Location: Located fairly close to Comerica park
Old, outdated, not very clean. Location, staff, and price were good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 16, 2015 by JKnudsen, Hotel Management
Angie, Thank you for staying with us at Corktown Hotel! We’re sorry to hear your stay failed to impress. We’re taking your words to heart as what is important to our guests is important to us. Corktown is in the midst of ongoing renovations, and we’d love to show you our newest rooms. We believe in putting our best foot forward and hope to win you over the next time you stay!
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Indiana

NASTY DOESN'T TOUCH IT

Posted Mar 25, 2015
We had to stay due to our first hotel not honoring our reservation. Dirty, naaty. Smelled like cigarettes. Jacuzzi tub and shower so gross. We slept in our cloths for fear of contracting something. The pictures online are a gross false misrepresentation of the hotel!!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 31, 2015 by JKnudsen, Hotel Management
Hello EE, We’re truly very sorry that you’re unhappy with your recent stay. Cleanliness is a top priority of ours, and we’ll look into your concerns right away. You’ll be happy to know that we are in the process of renovating our hotel to be better than ever. We’d love to welcome you back in the future; we’re confident our transformation will wow you!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Detroit,Michigan

Posted Mar 7, 2015
The rooms needs upgrades. Furniture is old and worn. The staff was pleasant and courteous. The area of hotel was convenient. I've stayed here before and would come back again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2015 by JKnudsen, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for the fantastic rating! You’ll be very happy to hear that we’re renovating; the results will impress you we’re sure! Our location so close to many of Detroit’s loved attractions is one of our favorite qualities too. Thank you for your praise of our hotel team. We’ll happily pass along your compliments; we know it will make everyone’s day. We can’t wait to welcome you back again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Saginaw Mi

An Ok Place to stay.

Posted Mar 3, 2015
Pros: The place was very close to my concert venu which was a major plus
Cons: The staff needs more training the rooms really need a update.
Location: we went to cobo joes for dinner and to the cobo hall warming room to wait to get into the joe louis for Garth Brooks.
The Staff was terrible slow and very unknowledgable. they couldnt find the reservation took forever to check in and check out. they were very unkind ladies.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 7, 2015 by JKnudsen, Hotel Management
Hello DawnMarie, We sincerely apologize that you’re unhappy with your recent stay. We strive to offer every guest stellar service, and we are taking your comments very seriously. Please rest assured that we’ll look into your stay and address any necessary improvements right away. We’d love to welcome you back again in the future; we’d love the opportunity to show you the excellent service we pride ourselves on.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Ohio

Sketchy. Dont waste your money.

Posted Mar 2, 2015
The whole city of detroit was booked for the night and tgis was the only room we could fine. Now i know why. There was bulletproof glass, buzz in entry, bullet holes in the elevator door, and the room was the size of my closet, and was freezing! I can also see why the place is nonrefundable...because no way would we have slept there! We lost out on the $100 and drove an hour back home.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 7, 2015 by JKnudsen, Hotel Management
Hello, We like to extend our sincere apology regarding your stay. We are fully committed to making our hotel better than ever, and we’re excited to say that we’re currently renovating. We’d love to welcome you back again when our improvements are complete; we’re confident we’ll wow you!
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Canda

Worst stay EVER!!!

Posted Feb 28, 2015
Pros: NOTHING!!!
Cons: everything!!!
Location: Forget about it!!!!
The room looked & smelled like it had never been cleaned Supposed to be a non smoking hotel but all you can smell is smoke. There was q-tips & other debris on the floor. The side tables were not clean. They were very sticky & had to be cleaned by self. The phone was so sticky that it would stick to your hand .Pathetic. Then when we returned from the Garth Brooks concert; which was awesome, there was no hot water to bathe .It seems that the pipes had bursts because they were that old.The electric was soo old that we could not even plug in a three pronged plug to use our laptop.We got the room for about half price which I thought was still to much. The funny thing is that there logo is " A FINE HOTEL". what a joke.I would definetly NOT recommend this place to ANYONE. PERIOD!!!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 7, 2015 by JKnudsen, Hotel Management
Hello Dusty, We are truly very sorry for the inconveniences you experienced. Please know that your visit is not a typical stay with us. We pride ourselves on our cleanliness and wonderful service, but it seems we feel short during your stay. You’ll be happy to hear that we will be looking into every concern you mentioned and addressing the situations right away. We’d love the opportunity to welcome you back for a wonderful visit to Detroit.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Indiana

Don't do it.

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Got there early enough to call for a taxi to take us to our event. Before leaving freshened up in our room, toilet wouldn't flush. Upon return was told there was no hot water, trying to get it fixed before morning...still no hot water the next day. People smoking in the halls and rooms on all floors when it is a non-smoking facility. We will never stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2015 by JKnudsen, Hotel Management
Hello TJ, We would like to sincerely apologize for the issues you experienced during your stay. Please know that we are dedicated to making our hotel better than ever, and all your comments will be taken into careful consideration. We’d like to especially apologize for the smoking your saw. As you mentioned, we do not allow smoking in our hotel; a policy that is strictly enforced. We are taking this concern very seriously. We hope you’ll reconsider a future stay with us. We’re busy renovating, and we’re sure the results will wow you!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a good hotel

Posted Feb 23, 2015
I was not expecting anything nice based on the reviews, but this hotel was worst than expected. We were a bunch of college people staying the night for a concert and just laughed about how bad it is. Our room smelled like cigarette smoke when it says it is "smoke-free". There was no hot water. The toilet seat had stains on it. We ran out of toilet paper and they did not have an extra one in the room. I will not be staying there again. Next time I will just pay a little more for a better hotel. I am not one to care too much about where I crash for the night but this was just bad.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2015 by JKnudsen, Hotel Management
Hello, Please accept our sincere apology for failing to impress you during your recent visit. All of the issues you mentioned will be careful looked into and addressed. Feedback from our guests is always greatly appreciated as we strive to make our hotel better than ever. You’ll be happy to hear that we are renovating and the results so far are very exciting! We hope to wow you in the future; we’re confident we can win you over!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Detroit, MI

A Decent Stay for Decent Value

Posted Feb 8, 2015
My mother and I stayed here overnight just to get out of the house. My room was very clean (beds, linen and towels), but was quite cold when we arrived, as someone had turned the fan on. It took about 2 hours to get the room comfortably warm. The decor was slightly outdated, but there were no visible issues to complain about. Best of all, the hotel staff offered fast check-in/out with a smile.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2015 by JKnudsen, Hotel Management
Hello Rochelle, We fully agree; sometimes a staycation is the perfect getaway. We’re very happy you and your mom chose to enjoy your staycation with us. We strive to always offer exceptional cleanliness and service, and it makes our day to know we met our goal for you. Unfortunately some rooms may take a little longer to warm up due to our cold weather. We do apologies for the inconvenience and would like to make this up to you on your next staycation. You’ll be thrilled to hear that we are in the process of renovating. We’d love to welcome you both back again in the future; we’re confident our renovations will wow!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

You get what you pay for

Posted Jan 26, 2015
Location: Near Cobo center
Good for 1-2 nights. Near downtown, Cobo, Icehockey. Polite staff, clean room but need to be renovated. Seems that the hotel is/will be soon under reconstruction
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 7, 2015 by JKnudsen, Hotel Management
Hello, We fully agree; our location so close to many area eateries and attractions is one of our favorite qualities. It always makes our day to hear that our team made you feel welcomed and that our cleanliness impressed. Yes, we are very excited to be renovating. We hope to welcome you back again in the future; we’re confident we can wow you with the improvements.