Ratings based on 584 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from o

Going down hill

Posted Jun 27, 2015
I'm from the area originally and the Met has been the hotel of choice for us for years. I have noticed little changes over the years, but this last visit was the worst. I went to three different ice makers before I could find one that worked. The room wasn't cleaned properly, no towels and when I went to call the front desk to have them brought up, the phone wasn't working. The TV reception was terrible, you could only watch a few channels. We love the pool there and went down mid morning, luckily we brought our own towels!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn, NY

terrible wifi

Posted Jun 25, 2015
I was told there was wifi available only in the lobby. So when i would need to use my computer to check some emails for work, I needed to go to the lobby to do so, which is very inconvenient. Also this is an older hotel, keep in mind, so its dated, and could use a bit of a face lift.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Munich

Not good but not bad

Posted Jun 25, 2015
Pros: The room was quite big with extra space which I felt very comfortable
Cons: Cleanness
The room was not so clean and the reception guy was not kind either.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Spend the extra money. You get what you pay for

Posted Jun 22, 2015
First room had visible bugs on the air conditioner. Staff was nice and switched our room. Building is old and not well maintened. Spend the extra money and stay at a nicer place. You get what you pay for with this hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cleveland

Great price but it's true you get what you pay for

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Pros: Room Price
Cons: Everything
First I was suppose to have a double bed room they have me a single. Second I only stayed two days, On the second day when I went out and came back my door keys didn't work. My hands where full of stuff and I had to walk all the way back to the front desk. At the desk they rest my keys and didn't ask to see my ID. I could of got a key to anyone's room. Old TV poor poor quality. The room smelled, and no way to keep the sun light out. No Breakfast was supply like promised. SUPER DIDSAPOINTED!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arlington, TX

I ALMOST cancelled based on other reviews.

Posted Jun 20, 2015
Pros: Fitness center, dry sauna, pool, wi-fi signal was good.
Cons: In room coffee pots would be nice. Also, consider adding breakfast service & a business center for guest use. It would be worth paying a little more.
Location: There is plenty of food, shopping, movies, etc. nearby. Easy access to I-75 will put you into downtown Detroit in about 15-20 minutes (usually).
Have you ever booked a hotel based on price & area and THEN went back and read the reviews more carefully? Well, that's exactly what I did. I'm familiar with Troy, and enjoy staying there while visiting Detroit due to easy access to highways/interstate, plus nearby restaurants, shopping, etc. After I started reading a lot of the other reviews for The Met - I came extremely close to cancelling my reservations and going to the big chain that I normally stay (at 3x the rate of this hotel). I arrived about 4 hours later than planned due to flight changes and weather delays. I was tired, sore, and hungry and just wanted to check in, find some food nearby, and then come back and crash. The hotel staff was very pleasant, and made the check in process very quick. A few minutes later I was in my room (which was a handicap compatible room - although I didn't need it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from From Kalamazoo

Good value, no frills. Clean.

Posted Jun 19, 2015
Cheap rates. Large, clean rooms, comfortable bed, enough pillows. No coffee pot in room and TV picture quality was poor (analog). No breakfast, only coffee in tiny Styrofoam cups. Restaurant for lunch and dinner attached. If you don't need amenities then this is the place for you. It's older and right off I-75. I was by myself, travelling for business so it was fine. Not so much for families.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Windsor, On

Good for the price

Posted Jun 18, 2015
This hotel by no means was very elegant or of high standards. Grounds were nice, lobby was clean and nice but the room had half used shampoo, whiskers all over the bathroom counter and sink. The room also had a a water stain on the ceiling and what looked to be mold? The bed was comfortable and the room was decent. But we only paid $60 for it so we didn't expect anything amazing.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston

Disappointed at the MET.

Posted Jun 16, 2015
I arrived at 1am. The first and second rooms they put me in where unmade, unclean and towels everywhere. The third room had a light missing in the bathroom, a phone which didn't work and stains. Likewise, they never cleaned my room for the 3 days I was there. Manager didn't respond to complaints.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from alexandria va

Reasonably priced hotel

Posted Jun 15, 2015
Pros: Price, central location, free parking.
Cons: Coffee
This is an older hotel complex located in the midst of an aging office park that has seen better days. It has plenty of parking and the operators have done everything possible to bring the facilities up to current hotel standards. Rooms are spacious and comfortable. Free hi-fi and parking. No complementary breakfast and free coffee was cold and undrinkable. Decor In The lobby and outside the building was a bit strange as was the music playing outside the building. But consider the price!