Ratings based on 109 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 6, 2015
Cons: TV channel changing is a royal pain. It's great to have the various menu choices that are available but not every time you want to change channels.
By far the best hotel in the Birmingham / Oakland County area. Excellent location, incredible staff, and facilities.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 30, 2014
Pros: Location and staff excellent. Restaurant excellent
Cons: Put us in room away from wedding party
Location: Birmingham has many attractions
noise in hallway until 3am. Walls thin could here tv in other room until 3 am
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Such a Treat!

Posted Dec 30, 2014
I booked this room as a special treat for a mother daughter night in. The room was nice..the bathroom stunning and the service was impeccable. The only reason I didn't give it a 5 in all areas was the cost of some items. I get that its a high end hotel, but $18 for a pot of coffee and the same price for 1 pay per view movie seems outrageous. I'm glad we went and I'd do it again, but clearly bring my own coffee and movie :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Novi, MI

Great weekend retreat

Posted Dec 16, 2014
Pros: Location perfect for shopping and dining, rooms well appointed, staff available and helpful, pet friendly with park adjacent to the hotel for walking
Cons: Evening turn-down did not show up.
Location: Shopping locally by foot, mall 5 mile drive, excellent dining and bars within walking distance
This is our "nth" weekend at the Townsend. Always nice experience - comfortable, friendly, professional.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Burlington On

Good hotel in downtown Birmingham

Posted Dec 3, 2014
Pros: Modern, clean and everything works as advertised
Cons: N/A
Location: Near to downtown shops restaurants and 5 minutes to Somerset Collection
Our second stay was as enjoyable as the first. Good staff, clean rooms and responsive front desk.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Canton, Michigan

Nice. A number of excellent restaurants close by.

Posted Nov 26, 2014
Cons: Don't charge for the internet!
Location: Good location with shopping, entertainment and good food within walking distance.
Everything was great except for the fact that we were disappointed that you actually charge for the internet. This is a real turn off considering what your room rates are.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Mary Jo

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by VALERIEfrom Mount Dora, Florida

Charming old Townsand in need of Botox injections

Posted Nov 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
It's the only place to stay in the Detroit area. However, most hotels of your caliber give new soap and replace the towels each day. There was a problem with the coordination of the lights in the room. The wall switch turned on-off everything without availability to keep any of the lamps on. I tried every combination and the coordination still did not work. Also, the telephone is tricky. When I called the front desk, the girl continually had to call me back because the phone cut off in the middle of a sentence. There should be the availability of pushing a button for room service, front desk, etc. Also, the room was not equipped with internet connection. I was told there was WiFi, but this was not what I needed for my computer. Also, there was a charge on my final bill for a "hamburger", which I never had. I had paid cash for a cheese platter in the dining room because I was so tired after chairing my meeting. The old hotel is charming, friendly and elegant, if a bit in need of botox injections.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 3, 2014
Overall it was very nice. Pretty much as expected given it's location and price. High-end place with nice dining and area surrounding the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 2, 2014
Wonderful stay. First class service. Great location.