Ratings based on 116 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom CV, Ca

Turn off the fan

Posted May 15, 2015
Pros: Beautiful
Cons: Air conditioning/heating system. More accommodating staff
Location: Great area
Could not sleep first night because fan would not shut off. Second evening the engineer had to override the system to shut the whole system down.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom CANADA

wonderful weekend!

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Pros: PET FRIENDLY!
Cons: WATER PRESSURE IN SHOWER WAS A LITTLE TO LOW
Location: MANY GREAT RESTAURANTS ( THE BIRD AND THE BREAD),LOTS OF VERY NICE SHOPPING . GREAT HAIR SALON NEARBY, FIG,( THEY COME TO YOUR ROOM).
Stayed at the Townsend this weekend, as my daughter's wedding took place in Birmingham. A wonderful place to prepare and enjoy the time leading up to the event. Gracious staff, beautiful room, we had a suite, everything was taken care of.. Would definitely recomend The Townsend for a wonderful stay in the very quaint city of Birmingham!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Willis

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 5, 2015 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 6, 2015
Cons: TV channel changing is a royal pain. It's great to have the various menu choices that are available but not every time you want to change channels.
By far the best hotel in the Birmingham / Oakland County area. Excellent location, incredible staff, and facilities.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 30, 2014
Pros: Location and staff excellent. Restaurant excellent
Cons: Put us in room away from wedding party
Location: Birmingham has many attractions
noise in hallway until 3am. Walls thin could here tv in other room until 3 am
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Such a Treat!

Posted Dec 30, 2014
I booked this room as a special treat for a mother daughter night in. The room was nice..the bathroom stunning and the service was impeccable. The only reason I didn't give it a 5 in all areas was the cost of some items. I get that its a high end hotel, but $18 for a pot of coffee and the same price for 1 pay per view movie seems outrageous. I'm glad we went and I'd do it again, but clearly bring my own coffee and movie :)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Elizabethfrom IL

Great location but overpriced!

Posted Dec 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
Upon arrival we did have an issue with parking due to a holiday party going on - didn't have an option with our stay due to an unexpected funeral. The garage across the street was full so the only option is valet. Street parking even on Sunday morning is difficult. Other than this issue - Everyone we met in the hotel was more than accommodating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Novi, MI

Great weekend retreat

Posted Dec 16, 2014
Pros: Location perfect for shopping and dining, rooms well appointed, staff available and helpful, pet friendly with park adjacent to the hotel for walking
Cons: Evening turn-down did not show up.
Location: Shopping locally by foot, mall 5 mile drive, excellent dining and bars within walking distance
This is our "nth" weekend at the Townsend. Always nice experience - comfortable, friendly, professional.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Awesome!

Posted Dec 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great atmosphere
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Burlington On

Good hotel in downtown Birmingham

Posted Dec 3, 2014
Pros: Modern, clean and everything works as advertised
Cons: N/A
Location: Near to downtown shops restaurants and 5 minutes to Somerset Collection
Our second stay was as enjoyable as the first. Good staff, clean rooms and responsive front desk.