Ratings based on 83 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

not restfull

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: leaving
Cons: do not have wedding showers in front of the elevators where it disrupts not only the guests but the bridal shower guest
jackhammers woke us up at 7:45 on Friday morning pretty expensive to have to stay their with all the noise. Hotel staff down stairs must of known this but yet sold us the room
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sue from Sylvania, OH

Wonderful customer service.

Posted Jun 22, 2014
Pros: Service.
Cons: Our A/C wasn't the greatest.
Location: It was a perfect location for us because the church and reception were nearby. Many shops, but did not have an opportunity to do any of them.
While the room is just a normal room, in my opinion, the staff and service couldn't have been better. Very prompt, courteous staff is such a joy in this day and age when service lacks at most places. Great location with many shops, even though we didn't have the opportunity to venture out. We were in Birmingham for a wedding so it worked well for us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 18, 2014
The hotel staff were competent, professional and helpful. The hotel was well-maintained. Rooms were clean and comfortable.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Townsend Hotel Review

Posted Feb 10, 2014
There was a water line break near the hotel. We had to change room Saturday night so we would have water Sunday morning. The scale in the bathroom did not work and the room ran out of kleenex. Otherwise our stay was OK.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Wm. Baron from Garden City

Wonderful Property . . .

Posted Jan 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
Wonderful place to spend a special getaway. Staff very friendly and courteous. In house restaurant provided great service, attentive but not pushy. Food was wonderful unlike many in-house hotel restaurants I have experienced. Menu was not overwhelming but accommodated most tastes. Wished my wife a Happy Birthday upon arrival and presented her with a complementary Lava Cake at meals end. Breakfast the following morning was outstanding. Suite was as described on website. Found it to be extremely clean and well appointed. If I was to be fair, we experienced two issues. Weather was in the single digits upon arrival and we found the halls and room to somewhat chilly. Upon arising the following morning the room was very comfortable and we found the same to be true of the halls when going down for breakfast. Upon mentioning this to the Maitre De at breakfast, she indicated that she experienced an unusual temperature variance the afternoon on the day we arrived and that she thought there might have been an equipment issue that had been promptly addressed. No other employees seemed to have any knowledge of a heating issue. The only other issue was that we were unable to get the bedroom TV to work. Not a big issue since there was another in the sitting room. Neither would be a reason for us not to choose the Townsend again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 20, 2014
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Best metro Detroit

Posted Jan 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Ana

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Holly from Detroit, MI

Always a wonderful stay at the Townsend

Posted Oct 28, 2013
Pros: Everything, especially the service. The rooms are very comfortable, the bed is a dream and the bathrooms are well appointed.
Location: The location is perfect not only for the greater Detroit area, but also for a stroll down the street to fabulous restaurants and shops.
We stayed at the Townsend for one night on Saturday and had a wonderful time. Prior to arriving, I had requested a quiet room and they put us on the top floor in a really lovely suite. Also, in my pre-arrival correspondence I mentioned just in passing that we're looking forward to celebrating our anniversary there again. To our surprise, there was champagne and chocolate dipped strawberries delivered to our room at the same time we checked in. This was a really thoughtful surprise. It's not even like we're regular customers, we go there only once a year. But they truly know how to make their guests feel special, and that makes all the difference!