Ratings based on 124 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from phoenix

Posted Jul 28, 2015
Nice area, reasonably close to DTW, Dearborn attractions. Comfy beds, great staff, nice restaurant in the hotel. Great ambiance, and a pretty busy place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from South Carolina

Perfect amenities for a boutique hotel.

Posted Jun 27, 2015
Pros: The entire experience is first class, lead by the staff.
Cons: My room (202) had a very small window, but was otherwise perfect.
Location: Walkable entertainment, fine dining, shopping, and in town offices.
Haven't stayed in the Townsend in 20 years, but its bar, its staff, its breakfast, and its location remain wonderful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from seattle, WA

Posted Jun 15, 2015
My husband and I stayed at the Townsend while attending my 50th year high school reunion. It was elegant and the staff other than a host in the dining room were attentive and accommodating. We will definitely stay at the Townsend if we find ourselves in Birmingham again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Posted Jun 8, 2015
Wonderful room. Courteous staff very comfortable. Would definitely return if ever in the Detroit area
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CV, Ca

Turn off the fan

Posted May 15, 2015
Pros: Beautiful
Cons: Air conditioning/heating system. More accommodating staff
Location: Great area
Could not sleep first night because fan would not shut off. Second evening the engineer had to override the system to shut the whole system down.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Jill from West Bloomfield

Great service! Bad views...

Posted Apr 17, 2015 on Hotels
The views aren't so great but that applies to half of the hotel rooms.... Our room viewed the dumpster.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CANADA

wonderful weekend!

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Pros: PET FRIENDLY!
Cons: WATER PRESSURE IN SHOWER WAS A LITTLE TO LOW
Location: MANY GREAT RESTAURANTS ( THE BIRD AND THE BREAD),LOTS OF VERY NICE SHOPPING . GREAT HAIR SALON NEARBY, FIG,( THEY COME TO YOUR ROOM).
Stayed at the Townsend this weekend, as my daughter's wedding took place in Birmingham. A wonderful place to prepare and enjoy the time leading up to the event. Gracious staff, beautiful room, we had a suite, everything was taken care of.. Would definitely recomend The Townsend for a wonderful stay in the very quaint city of Birmingham!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Steven from Atlanta

Birmingham

Posted Mar 20, 2015 on Hotels
Room service food and breakfast was not very good. Parking is 24 for overnight parking which seems exorbitant for a suburban neighborhood.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Something unexpected

Posted Mar 18, 2015 on Hotels
My stay was extended due to a family member in the hospital. The concierge sent a lovely note to my room offering a complimentary service from the hotel and wishing my family well. Very thoughtful service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Julie

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 17, 2015 on Hotels