Ratings based on 814 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan City, IN

Not worth the money

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Executive king looks like any other ordinary carp room with a bigger bed. We couldn't watch tv due to a problem with the cable. Maintenence came up to fix it, said they'd be right back and we didn't see them for the rest of the night. So we had no tv. You have to pay for Wi-Fi. And there's no snack vending machines (all I could find is pop) and the cafe and restaurants close at a certain time. So if you're hungry later At night you have to leave which is difficult since the roads in Detroit look like a human's circulatory system. It was a very clean room and the staff was extremely friendly but they obviously had a poor work ethic. Definitely not worth the $140 I spent on this room. I can get a suit at Blue Chip Casino for less than that and have a hot tub in the room....
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh, PA

Great hotel, will stay again

Posted Aug 26, 2014
I usually stay at the Marriott Ren cen when in Detroit, well not anymore! This hotel was a great deal and everyone so friendly!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Alright

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Took forever to check in even with an already paid reservation. Was not informed of no internet. Who the hell does not have free wifi? Really! A $30 plate of scrambled eggs and pancakes? Smoke smell in hallway and some paint chipping in bathroom
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 25, 2014
State 1 night. Friendly staff, beautiful room, Very nice!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from warren, ohio

The best and most comfortable bed and bedding

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Very nice , friendly staff best bed and bedding I've ever had at a hotel highly recommend
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 27, 2014 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
We’re so pleased to hear that our Heavenly beds with pillow top mattresses helped to create the most refreshing stay for you at The Westin Southfield Detroit. We truly look forward to welcoming you back and thank you for your kind recommendation. Be well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great management and hotel

Posted Aug 4, 2014
I want to give credit to this hotel. I had originally booked three nights and found out at the last minute that I only needed two nights. This was after the time had passed to cancel the first night stay. Expedia called their management and the hotel agreed to let me change it. On that alone I give them a lot of credit. But the hotel was beautiful. Facilities were great. I would recommend this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 11, 2014 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
We’re pleased to hear that our efforts to create a truly heavenly stay for you fully impressed you and we thank you for letting us know how much you enjoyed your stay. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to The Westin Southfield Detroit and we hope it’s soon. Be well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from southfield mi

Relaxing

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Very relaxing, quiet and comfortable atmosphere..the bed was heaven sent..bathroom clean..overall I would recommend to others..
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 4, 2014 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
We are truly grateful for your kind words and are pleased to hear that your recent stay at The Westin Southfield Detroit was so exceptional. Thank you for your kind recommendation to other and we look forward to having you return in the very near future. Until then, be well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Grand Rapids, MI

Very nice hotel, minimal complaints

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: The "heavenly shower" was amazing! I had never seen two shower heads before at a hotel, so that was definitely a nice surprise.
Cons: I think there needs to be more security on who can and can't enter into the fitness center or any areas with guest key access only.
Location: We didn't really do anything in Southfield directly, but it was close to downtown Detroit, with only about a 15 minute commute to the Tigers game
I stayed there for a Tigers game, and it is a very nice hotel. The only complaints I have are these: one of the light-bulbs in the bathroom was burnt out, so it made showering slightly difficult as the room was dimmer than it should be. I told the front desk about it when we checked out, and they seemed very concerned, but didn't specifically say that someone would fix it right away. Hopefully the next people staying in that room will have all light-bulbs working. The other thing I noticed was the door to the fitness center was propped open twice while we were staying there. After the first time, I called the front desk/guest services, asking if it was supposed to be propped open. They told me it wasn't, and said someone would be up there to fix it right away. I checked roughly 20 minutes after calling, and it was closed all the way and fixed. When we checked out in the morning, however, the door was still propped open. I expressed my concern to the front desk again, and they said they still weren't sure why it was propped open again. I think that the fitness center should have been monitored more closely. We stayed on the same floor as the fitness center, and it definitely made me uncomfortable, thinking that basically anybody could get in there, not just hotel guests.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 5, 2014 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
How wonderful to hear that the convenient location of The Westin Southfield Detroit added such value to your stay; we hope you fully enjoyed the game you attended. Thank you for alerting us to the concerns within your guestroom. We will have our Housekeeping Associates check to ensure all of the light bulbs have been properly replaced. The security of our guests is paramount and we would like to clarify that only guests of our hotel can access our guestroom floors through key access in our elevators. We will however, look into why the door of the fitness center was not closed properly. It would be our pleasure to have you return in the future and we thank you for your review. Be well.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 28, 2014
The price was too high for the quality of the hotel. The hotel was hard to find.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 4, 2014 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
We do regret to learn that you felt the value of your stay did not meet your expectations. We strive to deliver the most comfortable and refreshing experience for all of our guests and it seems we missed that opportunity with your stay. It would be our hope to welcome you back in the future where you can enjoy our true Westin experience and we thank you for your review. Stay well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Everything was great! It was a wonderful experience
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 31, 2014 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
We love hearing that our guests are fully impressed with their experience at The Westin Southfield Detroit and we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon! Until then, be well.