Ratings based on 515 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Atlanta

Good place to stay.

Posted Jan 27, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Old smell in the room.
Location: Plenty to do downtown.
The hotel is located in a good location downtown. The room itself was pretty comfortable considering how old the building is. The only complaint I had was with the stale, old smell in the room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom indianapolis, in

Beautiful hotel centered downtown

Posted Jan 22, 2015
Pros: I liked the hotel cleanliness and the staff were great.
Cons: I'm a foodie and I about starved, I didn't enjoy the menu.
Location: The location was great for what we needed, it was close to the venue where the Auto Show was being held and there were a few restaurants nearby.
The hotel was absolutely beautiful, the room was nice and clean and the hotel staff were warm and inviting. We did valet while being there which made it easier for us because it was quite chilly. Our hotel was only three blocks away from the Auto Show which was why we were in town and that was very convenient.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Canton, MI

Nice hotel, crappy view

Posted Jan 15, 2015
Everything was fine, but I would have appreciated a room with a view of the city and not the middle outside of the rest of the building. I took my mom and sister to downtown Detroit, they are from out of town. It would have been nice being 10 floors up to see the city. I find it hard to believe that the hotel was even half full that night. Just can't believe that was the room they gave to is. Real crappy view, a huge disappointment when we pulled back the curtains. We got a better view from the People Mover.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Great staff and very clean rooms. Overall, I was extremely pleased with my stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Shelby Twp

New Years Eve Celebration

Posted Jan 5, 2015
This is the first time we have stayed at the Book Westin. We were very impressed with our stay. The hotel is very nice. The staff could not have been more pleasant and the beds are the best! We enjoyed our dinner at Roast... Michelle our server was so much fun! Thank you!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NJ

Perfect location!

Posted Dec 31, 2014
Pros: We liked the appearance, the price and the service. The front desk people were very helpful and accommodating!
Location: The location was perfect!! We were within walking distance to Ford Field, Greek Town, Joe Louis Arena and the many other sights in Detroit.
My daughter and I stayed for two nights while in town for the Rutgers bowl game. Our room was lovely, spacious and very clean!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel in Downtown Detroit

Posted Dec 30, 2014
Pros: Great Atmosphere, outstanding service, employees are well trained.
Cons: As I walked by the pool area, I noticed that it could use some tender love and care.
Location: Sporting events, Bars, and I loved the Detroit Seafood Market.
The moment we walked in the door, the staff treated us with outstanding customer service. The bartender was great, the food was great, and I was always referred to as Mr. (last name). I felt welcomed and appreciated the whole time I was there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good experience

Posted Dec 30, 2014
It is a well kept hotel, clean and comfortable. Downtown Detroit is full with empty building now so the location might not be the one for the price since it does not include little things like wifi or parking. Overall a good experience
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A good value

Posted Dec 23, 2014
I think that this hotel does pretty well for quality of rooms, quality of staff, and affordability. I think this hotel is a good value overall. Valet is $30 and self parking is $15, but I've stayed here twice this month and still can't locate it where self parking is. You're probably better off paying the extra $15 and going the valet route as I'm sure self parking is in a minimally supervised and moderately lit area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Detroit

Top Notch

Posted Dec 22, 2014
Pros: The facilities, the staff, and the location
Location: Walking distance to Campus Martius, MGM Casino, several restaurants, bars, and clubs. There was a karaoke night at the bar around the corner
The accomodations were excellent through and through. We had dinner at one of what looked like two very nice restaurants in the hotel- very convenient. We walked to the casino and then to the ice skating rink, both were about 3 blocks away in opposite directions.