Ratings based on 993 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lenexa, KS

Terrible hotel. The second star is for the staff.

Posted Sep 12, 2014
Pros: Reasonably clean bathroom, surprisingly great water pressure (ground floor) and hair dryer.
Cons: Mold and mildew remediation would be a start!
Location: This is at the Detroit airport. There isn't much to do nearby, except fly - that's why we were here.
The staff were really nice and accommodating, except for the super creepy maintenance guy who kept following us around. The hotel itself smells horrible, like mildew and maybe old cigarette smoke. The atrium is not clean and not at all well lit at night. Our room smelled bad, the bedspreads were not particularly clean, and the mattresses have seen better days. The restaurant is stuck in 1983, although to their credit they had some pretty decent beer on tap and the food was edible - not great, but OK. Our room was very poorly lit, and also off the atrium, so very loud.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Plant City, Florida

Vacation of 2014

Posted Aug 23, 2014
Pros: Location, a free paper to find out what was going on, a very nice continental breakfast area with plenty of choices; comfortable rooms.
Cons: We were happy with all aspects of our stay.
Location: We were only visiting friends and relatives so I don't know about things to do near by but it was perfect for the areas we were going.
We wanted a hotel close to the airport at which to stay while we visited friends and relatives in the "downriver" area of Detroit. While this hotel posed a problem for us to find initially, it turned out to be very centrally located to where we would be for the first few days of our visit. We liked it so well, we booked the night before we left for home at the same hotel. It was nice to get back to something familiar - where everything worked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Glad we were there only one night.

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Cons: Door was very hard to open.
Location: By airport
Mediocre at best. We had a room at the back of the hotel when plenty were available around the interior atrium.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2014 by Caitlin, Hotel Management
Dear valued guest, I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review for our property. It sounds as though you enjoyed our atrium, the water features and live trees certainly do make for a revitalizing atmosphere. Guests are placed depending on their personal room type choice. Depending on availability guests may utilize the double or king atrium rooms, though a small upgrade charge may apply. We appreciate your patronage and welcome you back to the Wyndham Garden anytime!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good value near Detroit Airport

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Cons: Hotel has seen better days. It has a lot of potential but just needs to be updated.
Didn't have high expectations but hotel was good enough for one night. Looks dated and parts of the room looks/feels old but everything was in working condition and the beds were reasonable comfortable. However, the individual working at the reception was extremely unfriendly and curt.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2014 by Caitlin, Hotel Management
Dear valued guest, Thank you for your honest review. I apologize that your interaction with the reception agent was less than desirable. We have since had a team meeting in which we expressed the importance of receiving our guests appropriately. Otherwise, I am pleased to hear that our hotel suited your traveling needs. Thank you, again!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Salt Lake City, UT

Hotel Tobacco

Posted Aug 6, 2014
My heart sank as I entered the hotel and was enveloped in the fetid smell of years of tobacco smoke permeating every surface. Sure they threaten to fine smokers $250 but that isn't enforced. Wyndham should condemn this property and start afresh or abandon the market at DTW. The employees are ultra friendly but this non smoking rule is all smoke and mirrors. No pun intended! I have never experienced such a heavy, oppressive and nauseating odor in a hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2014 by Caitlin, Hotel Management
Dear valued guest, I wish to thank you for alerting us to an area that needed attention and know that I have notified proper personnel of your concerns. One of our desires as we embrace our new brand name is revitalize our property. Our plans include re-carpeting all of the guest rooms, providing our guests with new mattresses along with fresh bedding. The smell of smoke can linger for several months which is why we do enforce the non-smoking rule. We appreciate your review and hope that you will try us again in the future!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Taxi driver front desk.

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Front desk answered call of distress. Couldn't find hotel with rental car. Omar the driver met me at Delta terminal and I followed him to the hotel front door. Outstanding!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 9, 2014 by Caitlin, Hotel Management
Dear valued guest, Our staff takes their role in the industry very seriously and try their best everyday to take it to the next step. Omar is a great asset to our team and he believes in personalizing guest experiences. I have forwarded him your kind words. Thank you for allowing us to host your stay in the DTW area and we look forward to your return!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poor overall look

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: better front desk, have timely shuttle service to the airport
They do not have 24 hour shuttle as they advertise. You could miss your flight if you have a early flight as their shuttle service starts after 5AM. The front desk person was too sleepy to answer any question. It is more a motel than a hotel
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient, but not great.

Posted Aug 3, 2014
The hotel is close to the airport and interstate highway. The price is very reasonable, but the facilities are not in good condition and the decor is very dated. Carpets are dingy. Building entry doors are well worn. The grounds at the back of the hotel are in poor condition and trashy.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from windsor

Business /airport

Posted Aug 2, 2014
Hotel is nice just needs to be updated a little newer carpet
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 1, 2014
Pros: It was generally a pleasant place to be.
Cons: The mattress and the pillows need upgrading. Complimentary breakfast was wonderful to have but the food could be a better quality.
We waited a long time at the airport for a shuttle because it was unclear that the shuttle would not have the hotel's name on it. We were waiting for a van that said "Marriott" on it!! We did call the hotel three times but did not get adequate clarification.