Ratings based on 1,015 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great value and price

Posted Oct 23, 2014
Cons: Warmer pool water
This hotel is in a great location, close to highway, good price, breakfast was complete. Pool water was cold which was disappointing as we stayed here specifically for the indoor pool. Otherwise the rooms were clean and nice. Microwave and fridge in each room too. We would stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Nice conveniently located hotel.

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Stayed one night and was very pleaded, especially with free airport shuttle.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 21, 2014 by Caitlin, Hotel Management
Dear valued guest, I appreciate you taking the time to out of your day to write a kind review regarding our staff and service. We appreciate your patronage and hope you will stay with us at the Wyndham Garden the next time you are passing through the Detroit area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Battle Creek, MI

Quiet hotel close to airport and parking.

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Pros: Convenient to Park n Go.
Efficient and pleasant desk clerks. Clean and comfortable rooms. Good continental breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 15, 2014 by Caitlin, Hotel Management
Dear valued guest, I wish to thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am delighted to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and welcoming also that you enjoyed our continential breakfast. Again, thank you for your kind words and we look forward to your return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Grand Rapids, MI

Night before our flight

Posted Oct 7, 2014
Cons: The shower head in our room would not stay stationary and we had to use the handheld shower head instead.
The hotel shuttle service & parking was very convenient & prompt. The room was clean, bed was very comfortable, and it was a good value for less than $100.00/nt.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 12, 2014 by Caitlin, Hotel Management
Dear valued guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am pleased to hear that our Park and Fly package suited your traveling needs. As always, we appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again in the future!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from NW OH

It was a dark and stormy night.

Posted Oct 7, 2014
Pros: The gentleman at the breakfast bar is lovely and gives great customer service. My hall was quiet..even with the jets going right over my room.
Cons: See above. Comping me something would have been nice or calling mgr fo rme.
Location: NA
Reached hotel and after a delay, was greeted and quickly checked in. When I parked, I opened the door and stepped out into a puddle up to the ankles, and of course in nice high heels. The light was out over the back key swipe and the doors are manual and narrow. Room was fine; I did complain at the desk the next am re the puddle, my shoes and the light. And got a pretty blank stare.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 12, 2014 by Caitlin, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, I appreciate you taking the time to comment on our property. I am sorry to hear about the excessive water in the parking lot along with the ill functioning exterior lights. I could imagine the combination of the two being quite frustrating. Looking through the log books, there was a maintenance order placed for the back lights and I have been notified that it has since been corrected. Thank you for alerting us to that problem!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from tampa, florida

close to Detroit Metro Airport

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Pros: everything
Location: Detroit metro airport
very professional staff. Easy to check into. Great rooom
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 12, 2014 by Caitlin, Hotel Management
Dear valued guest, I appreciate you taking the time out of your day to review our property. We here at the Wyndham Garden Detroit Metro Airport believe that our guests deserve the greatest quality of service and attention. I am pleased that you were satisfied with our services and I look forward to your return!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

undergoing renovations

Posted Sep 26, 2014
Cons: the hotel is undergoing a renovation. The cleanliness left a lot to be desired.
Location: 2 minutes from the airport.
I knew that there was trouble when the only thing that came up when I tried to google maps this hotel was a hotel that was permanently closed. I think that this hotel was just reopened- it was clear that the hotel was undergoing a major renovation, as there was rolled up carpet in the common area and tile in the entry way. I was only there for a few hours at night, as I had an early flight in the morning, but the place was easily the dirtiest hotel that I've ever stayed in (and I'm a frequent business traveller). The carpets were dingy, the bathroom was- frankly- gross, and I had a tub with leaking water. The staff was ok, we had an issue with getting into our room that was promptly addressed. Hopefully, things improve in the future.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 16, 2014 by Caitlin, Hotel Management
Dear valued guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We were formerly a Best Western before converting to the Wyndham Garden. Online it may be noted that the Best Western is permanently closed. However our property has remained open during our conversation. I have forwarded notes regarding the sub par housekeeping that you mentioned to our housekeeping department so that they can review their current processes. We appreciate your patronage and welcome you back anytime!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wy

nice hotel close to airport

Posted Sep 23, 2014
stayed for 1 night was ok comfortable beds friendly staff,would recomend
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lenexa, KS

Terrible hotel. The second star is for the staff.

Posted Sep 12, 2014
Pros: Reasonably clean bathroom, surprisingly great water pressure (ground floor) and hair dryer.
Cons: Mold and mildew remediation would be a start!
Location: This is at the Detroit airport. There isn't much to do nearby, except fly - that's why we were here.
The staff were really nice and accommodating, except for the super creepy maintenance guy who kept following us around. The hotel itself smells horrible, like mildew and maybe old cigarette smoke. The atrium is not clean and not at all well lit at night. Our room smelled bad, the bedspreads were not particularly clean, and the mattresses have seen better days. The restaurant is stuck in 1983, although to their credit they had some pretty decent beer on tap and the food was edible - not great, but OK. Our room was very poorly lit, and also off the atrium, so very loud.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 20, 2014 by Caitlin, Hotel Management
Dear valued guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am pleased to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and accommodating. We place a great deal of pride in our continuous customer service training and your satisfaction is our reward. I passed a message to our lounge manager in regards to you being satisfied with the service and quality of food that you received on property as well. I welcome you back to enjoy our refreshing guest quarters once our renovations are completed!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Plant City, Florida

Vacation of 2014

Posted Aug 23, 2014
Pros: Location, a free paper to find out what was going on, a very nice continental breakfast area with plenty of choices; comfortable rooms.
Cons: We were happy with all aspects of our stay.
Location: We were only visiting friends and relatives so I don't know about things to do near by but it was perfect for the areas we were going.
We wanted a hotel close to the airport at which to stay while we visited friends and relatives in the "downriver" area of Detroit. While this hotel posed a problem for us to find initially, it turned out to be very centrally located to where we would be for the first few days of our visit. We liked it so well, we booked the night before we left for home at the same hotel. It was nice to get back to something familiar - where everything worked.