Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel right on Detroit Lake

Posted Jun 20, 2015
Great place to stay. Rooms are spacious, clean and look brand new. Fabulous breakfast! Loved the spa treatments.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Monticello MN

Comfy hotel.

Posted May 26, 2015
Pros: The view of the lake is wonderful.
Cons: Breakfast bake was on the cold side.
We have come back to The Lodge on Detroit Lakes three times and will continue to come. The rooms are clean, the beds are perfect, you feel like you are at home.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from s

awesome

Posted May 10, 2015
beautiful room, gorgeous view, great breakfast, this hotel is an awesome setting. Watched sunset from our balcony.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Winnipeg, Manitoba

Nice Hotel with excellent view of beach sunset

Posted Oct 15, 2014
Pros: It is clean, has a nice location facing the lake, there is a residential area close to go for walks in.
Cons: Perhaps a notice on the pool door that the exercise room is upstairs, we didn't actually find it until day 3 so didn't get to enjoy it as much.
Location: We went off season, so it was limited. We made do with what was available.
We had a very nice time, went for walks, some shopping and drove around to look at the sites. Should have asked where the exercise room was on the first day, but once we found it we enjoyed the top notch facility!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from moorhead, mn

Excellent facility

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Very relaxing. Great facility and friendly staff. Wonderful view of lake.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bismarck North Dakota

This is a wonderful hotel.

Posted Oct 10, 2014
Pros: Everything. The breakfast was excellent.
Cons: Perhaps the girl at the check-in could have suggested some interesting drives.and I would have enjoyed the fireplace during the afternoon.
Location: The location of the hotel is perfect.
This hotel has a beautiful location. All of the staff are warm and made an effort to make our stay comfortable. I would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northern WI

Wonderful lake setting

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Can't say anything bad about this hotel. The location is great, easy to get to and on Detroit Lake. Everything was clean. Room was big, bed was very comfortable. Check-in was easy and the staff was very friendly. Would definitely stay here again :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Winnipeg, MB

One of the best hotel experiences we've ever had

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Pros: Everything, and especially the warm, personable staff who went above the call of duty. Get the 80 minute massage at the Spa, too!
Cons: I would replace the coffee cream machine. :) Some may mention the trains that pass behind the hotel from time-to-time, but they didn't bother us.
Location: There are 400+ lakes in Detroit Lakes area, lots of beaches, parks, boardwalks, nature walks, etc. The town itself has plenty to offer.
The title of this review isn't thrown about lightly...we travel a lot and have stayed in hundreds of fine hotels. But this hotel has it all: great location with every room overlooking a beautiful lake...one of the best complimentary breakfasts out there...excellent spa...comfortable, spacious rooms with incredible sunset views from the balcony...free use of paddleboats and kayaks...a private beach...a decent swimming pool and hot tub...and then a little extra something. The "extra" was a combination of attention-to-detail, with a staff that is so naturally friendly, eager-to- please and comfortable with guests that there was no hint of the pretense or the "just doin' my job" of most hotels. These people actually seemed to enjoy the guests. Since it's important to paint a balanced view, I should write something negative...and there are only two tiny ones I can think of: the TV remote wasn't as user-friendly as most others, and getting cream into the complimentary coffee in the lobby area was a bit of an ordeal.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manitoba

Lovely hotel with great lake view

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Pros: Clean, well appointed rooms. Quiet comfort.
Cons: Breakfast was disappointing.
Overall, very pleasing experience. Clean, well furnished room with a wonderful view of the lake.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bismarck, ND

Great View

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Enjoyed sitting on balcony overlooking Lake Detroit.