Ratings based on 12 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Very Quaint

Posted Aug 27, 2013
Pros: It was peaceful and aesthetically pleasing
Cons: Breakfasts, maybe a lick of paint needed
Location: 3 pubs withing a short walk and Tiverton is 10 minutes away by car
John, who was looking after the Catle, was most welcoming and made our stay thoroughly enjoyable. Breakfast was average, ran out of croissants and OJ when we got to the table and they weren't restocked, but we were a little late and the room is rustic but could perhaps have been cleaner. Apart from these two minor (not really) complaints, the rest of the stay was excellent. Great setting and only a short walk to 3 pubs that were doing excellent food and drink.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Bikemad from Bedfordshire

Friendly stay

Posted Aug 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very friendly welcome. Being a castle makes this venue different to other hotels of similar price. Picturesque location.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Jim from Southsea

Rather disappointing.

Posted Aug 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
Left waiting in reception for ages, whilst the owner/manager argued with a previous guest, and then told "it's not a 24 hour reception, we're not really a hotel", 'upgraded' from the single room I'd paid for to a double that was so small that the door hit the bed - with no TV (told that was normal for the area due to poor reception, and to be frank poor reception is something they know about). Note: TV is a minimum for a business traveller! 'Hotel' restaurant closed, Wifi only available in public lounge. Cheap via Hotels.com but still bad value.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Lnightingale

Lovely Hotel, great tour of the castle

Posted Aug 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
Really enjoyed our one night stay at the castle hotel. Really enjoyed the tour of the castle and grounds. Also was great to get a round of croquet in.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Ffrith

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
would recommend to friends and relatives for a quite stay. Staff were welcoming and informative.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by paraserv from manchester

Poor, very poor

Posted May 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
Worse hotel yet, no breakfast as stated, no internet as stated, no chance of an evening meal because a function was going on, will not be staying again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by BRYAN

Serendipity personified !

Posted Feb 22, 2013
Pros: Setting, ambiance, hosts, tranquility.
Cons: None
Location: Rural riverside setting. Poetic, off beaten track in lovely Devon countryside. The sound of silence. Priceless !
Stayed on business, found this place by chance, glad I did as I now believe in serendipity ! Gem of a place, stunning peaceful location, lovely hosts, fab rooms, superb breakfast. Will be back in the summer with my wife for a more leisurely stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by David

Memorable experience

Posted Dec 24, 2012 on Hotels.com
As long as you don't expect luxury, you will be very satisfied with the dramatic location, character and friendly service of this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Richard

Fantastically different place to stay

Posted Jul 4, 2012 on Hotels.com
I was on a business trip to Exeter University - the Castle is only 15 minutes from Exeter town centre and easy to access. The accommodation is very special and the welcome fantastic. You really cannot regret staying here in contrast to any similarly priced alternative.