Ratings based on 52 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom staffordshire

Great short break

Posted Aug 7, 2014
Pros: It was a very comfortable place to be in.
Cons: Not a lot, once the decorating is finished.
Location: It is near to all the resorts amenities.
We booked this hotel for a 2 night stay for a short break with our 10 year old grandson (wish it had been longer). Although the hotel was in the process of having some re-decorating done, we had a great stay. The owners & staff were very friendly & helpful. This hotel would not be suitable for anyone with walking problems as it is up quite a steep hill. We counted 321 steps from bottom to top ( steps up from the sea front to the road near the hotel which were lit up well at night)
2 out of 5
Recommended
by V Griffithfrom London

Good service, shame about the rest

Posted Jul 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
Staff and service were very attentive, breakfast was good and well located in the hills above the bay. However, general decor is very dated, shower was dirty and bed/mattress was very uncomfortable. We had booked for 2 nights, but decided to book out after 1.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Jenfrom Melbourne, Australia

Comfy bed, friendly hosts, great location

Posted Jul 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
Really wanted to come to Torquay & we were not disappointed. Such friendly staff & good atmosphere. Wifi only worked in common area, but all good. Would stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Cheryl Tfrom Pontypridd

Excellent service

Posted May 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stayed three nights and found the hotel very welcoming. We had a small but pleasant room, which we found had everything we needed for our stay. We were told that should we need anything at all to just ask. The breakfast was excellent and the menu for the evening looked good, although we did not try it out. We would return for another stay should we be in that area again.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Oliverfrom London

You can find better accommodation at this rate

Posted Apr 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
Checked in and checked straight out again. Awful rooms!
1 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Lumpy beds

Posted Apr 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
The rooms we stayed had lumpy beds, the hotel needs a repaint as decor is tired, it was very noisy in adjacent rooms
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Sue Andrewsfrom Somerset

Definate value for price

Posted Mar 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great stay, ideal for a short getaway, price paid was real value for money, breakfast extremely enjoyable. Rooms clean. No extra frills but not expected at price we paid, would happily use again for another short stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Budget best buy

Posted Mar 11, 2014
A budget option so didn't expect much, but was pleasantly surprised. A very quiet location with views across the bay. Whilst the hotel decor required some modernisation the rooms were comfortable and clean. The owners were welcoming and provided a friendly service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Ianfrom Somerset

Really excellent staff, welcoming and personable

Posted Mar 2, 2014
Pros: Views, location and being made to feel comfortable
Excellent views, good staff, very personable and welcoming. Would definitely recommend to anyone.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by richardfrom west devon

great breakfeast

Posted Feb 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
very polite service but rooms in need of an update