Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Disappointed Guest from London

Not worth the rate charged!

Posted Jan 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
Pleasant room but beds are not quite the standard you would expect in a Guest House and you needed to be an engineer to work out how to use the shower! Did not like the basin in the bedroom...should be where you would expect it to be...in the bathroom! Would have been nice if the owner had offered me a light breakfast in my room, as I was informed breakfast was only served until 9.15am and could not make it down that early!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 23, 2013
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Fi from Huddersfield

A warm welcome and great service

Posted Oct 6, 2013
Pros: The hosts Karen & Bill, the food on offer at both breakfast and dinner. It was such good value that it exceeded my expectations in every way.
Location: I was in Devon on business so did not get the chance to explore really but I believe that Paignton is a good base to see the local Devon attractions.
Karen & Bill went out of their way to make sure that I was at home in the hotel and even accommodated early morning starts with a hearty breakfast. The room was very clean and tidy and the meals were substantial and very tasty. Whether staying on business or leisure it is a great choice for exploring the area and excellent value for money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by loo loo from bournemouth

Nice and peaceful

Posted Sep 28, 2013
Pros: Good food and very clean
Cons: Better wi fi
Location: Plenty of pubs and bars
Nice sea side town to visit with a great beach plenty to do and see and there is a good bus and train service
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Norfolk

Lovely guest house and lovely people

Posted Jul 7, 2013
Karen and Bill did an amazing job making sure we felt welcome and comfortable. The guest house was very clean and freshly decorated making it feel more like your home. The location was absolutely perfect - lovely and quiet but only a five minute walk to the sea front. The cooked breakfasts were really good and we ate a hearty, home cooked dinner in the dining room one evening. Our room was a little "cosy" but had everything we needed, my only niggle was that the shower was not very powerful so it took me ages to wash my hair! I would definitely come back to this guest house if I was to return to the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by darren from yorkshire.

lovely people and guest house.

Posted Oct 27, 2012
Mr and mrs Bill made us more than welcome and made our stay a pleasure.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 24, 2012 on Hotels.com
Owners friendly and very helpful. Room extremely comfortable.Sofa would be a great addition. Food excellent. Would highly recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Michelle

Not bad - lovely hosts

Posted Sep 25, 2012 on Hotels.com
The hotel was clean and modern-looking and the owners Bill and Karen were very welcoming. The decor was nice and the whole place smelt lovely. It was easy to find, very central and there were no parking problems for us. The only real issue we had was noise due to the conversion of the property. We could hear other people using the toilet (and I don't just mean flushing it!) and the floorboards creaked so much, it was as though people were in our room with us! We didn't get much sleep! The room was also chilly as the central heating wasn't on. Overall, a fairly pleasant stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

excellent stay

Posted Apr 6, 2012
Excellent hotel. The room was excellent. Both dinner and breakfast were superb. We'll be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

I'd definately stay again

Posted Sep 16, 2011
Bill and Karen were lovely and very helpful. Really useful advice on what to see and local tips on how to get there. The food was tasty and plentiful with a good variety to select from. The included breakfasts were very generous. It was great to get to our first overnight destination on arriving in the UK having travelled straight from Australia to UK then drive to Paignton to be met with such warm, friendly and welcoming people. It was like they were greeting friends when we arrived and nothing seemed to much bother.