Ratings based on 34 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Short mid-week break

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Pros: Location and pool
Cons: Décor needs updating. Stop golfers parking outside the hotel so that guests don't have to carry their luggage a long way.
The hotel is well-situated. It was in well-maintained grounds and easy to drive to Dartmoor, Plymouth or the coast. Our room had a great view across the golf course. The pool area was excellent, better than expected although neither jacuzzi was working. Our room was very large, but the décor was tired and uninspiring. Also would have appreciated a larger TV. We had quite a long wait at reception to check in and at breakfast our order was wrong on both the days that we stayed. I agree with other reviewers and didn't appreciate a cat in the restaurant during breakfast. However all in all I knew what to expect from previous reviews and for me the good points overruled the bad. I would stay again and would bring my dogs next time (that might also encourage the cat to stay outside?)
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Adyfrom Queensland, Audtralia

Country charm

Posted Jul 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
A charming manor situated next to the verdant green of a golf course. The rooms are spacious and although showing its age was more than adequate for our needs. The breakfast was ample and delicious and satisfied my two teenage sons. The restaurant and housekeeping staff were warm and friendly. It was about half an hour from Plymouth and not too far from other places like Torquay and Exeter.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by geoff

Ok but could do better

Posted Jun 7, 2014
Stayed in room 7 which had a slight buzz/hum all the time. didn't bother my partner but was somewhat annoying for me. What was really annoying was golfers taking all the car parking at the front of the hotel which was supposedly reserved for hotel patrons - we had to park and lug our stuff quite a long way. Otherwise the hotel was good as was the breakfast and was the surroundings
3 out of 5
by nicfrom hereford

2 night stopover

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Pros: Size of room.
The hotel has faded grandeur. Needs updating. Was ok for what we needed. Functional but not somewhere we would have spent a lot of time at. The room was however clean and very spacious. Shame the jacuzzi bath didn't work. Great that they left us peppermint tea bags as we'd used our own on the first morning and they'd spotted this for the second morning which was really thoughtful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Darrenfrom Dagenham

Ideal for a short business trip

Posted May 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel appeared to be going through a bit of a makeover which was probably necessary, the room could probably do with a bit more work. The leisure facilities were the standout feature.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by KRfrom Surrey

Again - a very pleasant stay

Posted May 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
I have stayed here a few times. It's locatin won't suit everybody but it is fine for me. Always welcoming and staff are very pleasant without being 'interfering'. Lovely views too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Robfrom Bournemouth

Staying for business not leisure

Posted May 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel location is very quiet. Nothing else near to it. But very quiet and relaxing. I did not have chance to try the lesiure facilities. But they are within the hotel complex. They do seem a little short on staff at times in the restaurant and bar. But the food and drink was very good on each of the three nights I used the restaurant/bar. Rooms were comfartable and clean. Wi-fi was useless at times. Could not find anywhere in the hotel with a decent signal.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by CRfrom Dorset

I wouldn't stay here again if you paid me

Posted May 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
I'm sure the golf course is fantastic, as is the spa and gym, but this was a simple overnight stay. The joy of arriving to find two full-on parties happening, one with a disco and the other with a live band, I was told I was being put in a room which was closer to the party that was ending first. Really? So some kind of way of telling me there were two parties going on, one until at least midnight would have been nice - I would have stayed somewhere else. Although it was clean (kind of what you'd expect in a hotel), the room looked like it hand't been refurbished since 1987. The shower worked well, which was a bonus, but everything about this place seems to have been thought about by completely separate groups of people. I guess it didn't help that the receptionist seemed pretty nonchalant when I left, as if it was an inconvenience for me to be there. It's a shame, because the location is great. Unfortunately the hotel doesn't quite get what real customer service is.