Ratings based on 18 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.8 out of 5
61% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Christopher from Aurora CO

Nice hotel to stay at in Exeter.

Posted Oct 13, 2013
Pros: The nice comfortable bed, the location, the quality of the food, and the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. A nice quaint hotel.
Cons: It could be a bit more handicapped accessible.
Location: You are a half of an hour walk from most things to do and see in Exeter including ther quay and the cathedral and main shopping district.
The Great Western Hotel in Exeter was the base for my stay in Exeter and I enjoyed it very much. It was inexpensive and less than two minutes walk from Exeter's St. David railroad station. I was pleased that they hadn't tried modernizing it too much, so it retained its chararcter from when it was a railroad hotel. The staff kept my luggage for me on the day I checked out until I had to go catch my train back to London. The bar was nice and comfortable and the food was very good.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Richard

O.K. hotel for 1 night

Posted Oct 1, 2013
Pros: Quiet room
Cons: It was very scruffy - work out carpets etc
Location: Near the train station; a bit grim. Not much there - just a few pubs. A 15 minute walk would get one to central Exeter.
It was a bit basic but O.K. for a 1 night stopover. Check in/out was a bit uncertain ! I had to wait for the bar manager to turn up..this was at 10 pm...In the morning only option was to just leave my key (presumably they charged my credit card accordingly). There was no hotel parking (contrary to info on expedia !). I could park outside in the train station car park for £8 overnight or (as directed by the manager) go to a cheaper car park around the corner. They had 24 hour tickets for £2.50 but they expired at midnight on day of purchase ! So I found some street parking a bit further away ! Breakfast was O.K.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Avoid at any cost

Posted Sep 16, 2013
Pros: Staff was friendly
Cons: Everything.... Carpets were disgusting... Everything was smelly
It s a sponsored hotel for homeless, smelly and bad neighborhood. If you re in a tight budget and don t mind, go for it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

bellow basic/old/just ok

Posted Sep 15, 2013
you get what you pay for. 66pounds a night was all i could spend so thats what i could find in exeter
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Burls from Somerset

Good location , close to city centre

Posted Sep 15, 2013
Pros: Nice short walk to city centre; about a mile.
There claims to be free parking on Expedia website, but when we checked in, we were told it was pay and display a short walk away. This was about £5 for 24 hours, but not what we expected. Room was clean and comfortable but the hotel overall was in need of some TLC - bit tired and tatty in parts. having said this, the staff were very pleasant and we enjoyed our breakfast.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ian from Hull

Handy Hotel for the Railway Station

Posted Sep 8, 2013
Pros: Location
Cons: It needs serious renovating.
Location: Lots to do in Exeter and next to the Railway station.
This hotel is virtually next too Exeter St David's Station. Sadly its a tired hotel that needs a good renovation. Rooms are basic but a hole in the carpet near the window and lino in the bathroom let it down. The small bathroom had just a shower and a toilet basin in the room but to access the bathroom you had to squeeze behind a bed. Breakfast was rather on the small size, but was included in the price. This could be a great hotel but needs some upgrading it feels like its still in the 1980's. Okay to stay overnight but wouldn't want a long stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Smiler from Guildford

Great value

Posted Sep 1, 2013
Pros: Good, clean comfortable rooms
Cons: Perhaps a slightly larger breakfast but it was very nice indeed
Location: It's by Exeter St David's station and the best thing to do is to stay in and sample the fine ales on offer
I stayed at the hotel for only 1 night on the bank holiday weekend. It was the cheapest in Exeter for that night but I was unsure after looking at some reviews. I was on a pub crawl so I thought ok. I checked in and found the room very clean and modern and no problems with a hotel of that price. I must add the pub is one of the best, if not the best in Exeter with the choice of all local ales on offer
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Flying Visit

Posted Jun 12, 2013
Location: Ideal for the station
I was only there 4.5hrs & didn't see anyone but they were very helpfull when I contacted them to say that I would be late arriving
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good budget hotel

Posted May 23, 2013
Ok for the price, old fashioned charm, wanted a good value place for the night and this suited what I wanted
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not an enjoyable experience!

Posted Jan 30, 2013
Very poor standard, shabby room, no lampshades on bedside lamps, broken mirror with fingermarks, mould on tile grouting in shower, overall poor service.