Ratings based on 138 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Exceeded expectation.

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: Location, pool, restaurant and staff.
Cons: Availability of a fan.
Location: Great location for central Plymouth, the Hoe and Barbican. Short walk to the National Aquarium.
We booked the hotel as a break in our journey down to Cornwall and I choose it for the great location in Plymouth. The hotel will never be an architectural masterpiece, but my family really enjoyed the pool and the penthouse restaurant and bar. The food was of good quality/value and the staff helpful. The only issue with the hotel was a lack of aircon on a very warm night and the windows do open very wide (understandable given the height of the building). However, being the UK, this is rarely an issue! Our executive room had complementary wifi and parking, with enough room for 2 adults and 2 kids. Overall, I would recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dave from Manchester

Great location

Posted Jun 28, 2014
Pros: Location
2nd review, have stayed previously. Great location edge of Hoe, with easy walk to town centre. used underground car park this time, built for 1970s sized cars, very tight. Would recommend surface car park on opposite side of street if spaces available. Didn't eat meals, excellent and cheaper breakfast at 'Pub on the Hoe' next to hotel car park.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Caroline from Cambridgeshire

Excellent hotel near Plymouth Hoe.

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Pros: Excellent, helpful, friendly staff everywhere.
Cons: Car parking was an issue, I would definitely book in advance in future.
Location: We were delighted with the view of. Plymouth Hoe, and had a very short walk across the grass to the register office for a wedding.
Needed help with a cravat, the reception staff were very helpful by googling it and printing out instructions for us. Excellent deal on the evening meal for two people.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Yusuke

Nice view from restaurant

Posted May 3, 2014
Pros: room size
Cons: Bathroom
Location: Hoe
Had no problem to stay here. Nice view from restaurant.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to the Hoe and the city centre.

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Great central position. Nice swimming pool. Staff as always were friendly and accommodating. This the third time I have stayed at the hotel. This was by far the worse room I have stayed in . In the bathroom there was a strong smell of the sewers. There were hairs on the floor and the bath was stained from the rusting handrails . I didn't complain as I was only staying the one night .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Raj

Holidayinn stay Plymouth

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Great hotel at excellent location with stunning views. Good breakfast, friendly staff. We enjoyed our stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay

Posted Apr 20, 2014
Great enjoyed our overnight stay, rooms clean and comfotable
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hospitality

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: Location and friendliness of staff
There was a brief problem as our room had been mistakenly allocated to someone else. However, we were offered a room upgrade at no cost, free breakfast and free parking. The staff couldn't have been more helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by gav from reading berks

Great hotel in a great location!

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Pros: Comfy bed! friendly staff ! Overall a pleasant visit!
Cons: Outside could do with a facelift!looks a little tired but don't judge a book by its cover! Rooms are clean and tidy ! Good shower too!
Location: Great location on the hoe close to city centre,nice pub near by and shop conveniently located nearby!
Cannot complain at all,great location,nice clean rooms,hotel looks a little tired on the outside but rooms are clean and tidy and modern,staff helpful and friendly,decent beer on tap,sports bar is good too! Would stay here again definitely!
3 out of 5
by angela from portsmouth

Average stay, dreadful restaurant experience.

Posted Feb 24, 2014
Pros: Locality
Cons: Clean the rooms especially the bathrooms more thoroughly.
Location: Restaurants, shops, theatre and the hoe all in easy walking distance
the stay was average, our room was very tired looking, with need of a good clean. We had to go in search of enough towels for the room, as there was only one between the three of us. The reception staff were lovely when we arrived, and booked us for lunch in the restaurant the following day. At check out we had to buy a carpark token to release our car, but were told that we could get a refund for this after we had shown them our meal receipt. We turned up at the restaurant at the time booked with reception to find that it didn't open for another half hour. We deceided to wait, and the bar filled and a stampede started for the tables. People seemed to turn up and go straight in. We were told to wait which we did, then were told no window tables were available, we could sit in the middle for a view. We were then told a table was available, and moved. The whole experience was like some sort of lunch club, people apparently had discount vouchers, and were getting excellent service. The staff were so busy chatting to friends, we had to ask to order, then when we managed to get someones attention to get the bill, they didn't seem to want our money, I had to go in search of staff who were stood chatting to pay the bill. The food was lovely when we did get it, but the service completely spoilt the experience, the restaurant was not full, so dread to think what it would be like if it was.