Ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Lovely relaxing stay

Posted Jun 29, 2014
The hotel is a lovely building but is a little tired in places. The food was excellent but the service was a little slow and we had to wait quite a long time for dinner, but it was in such lovely surroundings that we didn't mind too much. The cooked breakfasts are wonderful and are served in their restaurant with beautiful views. The staff were incredibly helpful and all of our requests were met with a smile and very quick response and assistance. The room was nice and clean and comfortable. I didn't use the pool but my father did and he thoroughly enjoyed it and said the facilities were nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Andrew from Bristol

Excellent food; very friendly and helpful staff.

Posted May 6, 2014
Stayed just one night for a weekend break, but what a great surprise! The food in the bar (not even the main restaurant) was absolutely delicious: can't give enough compliments to the chef! Room was spacious, clean and well furnished. Small and slightly dated health suite with decent pool, sauna and jacuzzi. The staff are lovely: welcoming, friendly, happy to help and to make your stay as comfortable as possible. I would definitely stay again if in the area, as the hotel is positioned brilliantly for access to Dartmoor walks and activities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Above the cut.

Posted Dec 7, 2013
Lovely country side hotel. Great views and friendly staff. In general a bit out dated. A good price and the views makes it worth a visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by ianq33 from lincoln

stunning location

Posted Nov 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
The Islington Couuntry House Hotel is located is some of Devons most spectacular countryside. As the only guest at the hotel, its hard to judge the staff, quality etc. But what i seen, they seemed very attentive and helpful. The decor needs a little updating, saying that the rooms are clean and comfy, bar area looked nice, menu was good and reasonably priced, the leisure complex was a bonus and unlike other hotels it wasn't over used by locals. well worth a night or two escape in the beautiful countryside!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Lovely stay

Posted Oct 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
We stayed for just one night, but managed to use the pool facilities which were excellent and also dined on site in the 'Blue Tiger' Inn where the food and service could not be faulted. Standard room a little dated but perfectly functional. Would highly recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by john from sydney

Great location

Posted Sep 26, 2013
Pros: Atmosphere
Cons: Nothing
Location: Great location near the moor and on a hill with great views. Near a small village worth a walk in the evening
Great hotel with an excellent atmosphere. Very good service and excellent meals. Easy to relax and enjoy peace and quiet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mojo from Bristol.

Pleasant Country Hotel

Posted Sep 1, 2013
Pros: Its position. Quiet and peaceful. Good food and pleasant staff.
Cons: A low shelf in the bathroom to facilitate personal toiletries etc.
Location: Near to the Dartmoor National Park. Lovely walks over the moors. visiting the little villages.
Freindly staff, good food in an excellent position for visiting Dartmoor.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by MKJ from London

really nice

Posted Aug 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
My wife and I wanted to spend a couple of days in Devon so we could do some local sightseeing. Dartmoor is beautiful and this hotel was a great base from which to set out on our trips. If and when we return to Devon we are more than likely to rebook the Islington Country House Hotel. The hotel staff were really nice, the food was very good and the setting was brilliant. Highly recommended
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel for walkers and peace and quiet.

Posted Jul 8, 2013
Pros: Quiet and close to superb country
Excellent food and service. All staff helpful and friendly.