Ratings based on 36 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by SCar

Number One

Posted Mar 30, 2014
Clean, warm, comfortable. Excellent location to town and the Hoe with free parking. Breakfast sets you up for the day. Second time we have stayed and would return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Rosemary from Cornwall

Very convenient for theatre

Posted Mar 10, 2014
Pros: The helpful and pleasant owners, the original period features and proximity to town and Hoe.
Cons: Decoration and fittings in the room, and more coffee, tea etc.
Location: Just a short walk from the theatre, lots of choice of eateries and just a short walk from the Hoe. Easy to find and park.
Lovely staff, and general rooms, but the room was a bit tired and basic. However, it wasn't expensive and was very clean. Breakfast was good, and the lady serving it was excellent. We were close to the theatre, town centre and Hoe, and the free parking was much appreciated. We would stay again, but probably try another room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great for a week-end break

Posted Feb 8, 2014
Pros: Friendly and close to the Barbican.
Cons: Our room was at the back of the hotel and unfortunately in the early hours of Sunday morning the local youth decided to hold a shouting match.
Location: Plymouth Gin distillery tour, cheap and good fun. The Refectory bar is wonderful. Great seafood on the Barbican, can't remember the name though.
Very easy to find and with a good sized car park. The staff were very friendly and left us to our own devices once we were in our room. Breakfast is great, a good size and made fresh to order with loads of tea on demand.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by walter from Sydney

Posted Dec 23, 2013
Pros: Room was comfortable and the breakfast was good.
Cons: There is no lift so keep that in mind. Wasnt a drama for us.
Location: Right on the Plymouth Hoe. Just a short walk for a great view
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Jason from Waterford Ireland

Great location not far from the famous Barbican

Posted Dec 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
Location and price was excellent and hotel had offroad parking which is a must in this area as it is all disc parking. Breakfast was full english fry cooked to perfection. No lift so be careful if you have heavy bags. would love to see a bit of an update on the room decor to be honest thats all this hotel needed the rooms are very clean. would stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Brian from Channel Islands

Quality B+B with private parking and free wifi.

Posted Nov 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
I only stayed one night, but hard to find fault. Beautiful building, nicely furnished, friendly but unobtrusive service. Good value for money in a convnenient location for the City Centre, Hoe Barbican etc. Criticism? Breakfast choice not huge but then it is a B+B not a 4* Hotel. Quantity was there though; full English plus cereal, toast, fruit juice etc and real coffee.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Comfy beds

Posted Oct 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
Beds were very comfortable. Personal service was very good. Breakfast very nice but no yogurt which is one of my favourites. Only other negative was no toiletries in bathroom apart from hand soap.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 21, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Shopping
by Steve from UK

Great location

Posted Oct 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
Would recommend, ideally located for all that Plymouth has to offer & the surrounding towns in Devon & Cornwall!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Sonia from Kent

Lovely

Posted Oct 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
The number one was a lovely place to stay and in a great location . Another added bonus was the parking . The owners were very helpful and friendly . We will definitely stay here again .