Ratings based on 18 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by David from UK

Shabby and Inadequately Heated Old Inn

Posted Feb 3, 2014
Pros: The member of staff provided a freshly-cooked breakfast at 8.00, half an hour before the usual time, to enable us to catch our flight on time.
Cons: The Anchor needs refurbishment externally and internally and proper heating, in order to make it a remotely welcoming place to stay.
This was a last minute booking made when we were unable to fly to Lundy from nearby Hartland Point because of poor weather. When we arrived at the Anchor, mid-afternoon, it was closed but we were checked in, politely, to a clean room, whose only form of heating was a plug in electric fire with no heating in the bathroom. The access to the room was through an unheated staircase, with threadbare carpet, which smelled musty. The Inn was a huge disappointment in terms of our expectations, which were raised by reviews and our confidence in booking through Expedia. We spent the evening in another pub in the village, which had a fire. There appeared to be no other guests staying at the Anchor.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Carlos from Midlands

Loud party!

Posted Oct 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
The room and hosts were lovely, and the pub food was delicious. Unfortunately there was a party in the pub the night we stayed, until the early hours of the morning... So got very little sleep...
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
The family and clientel were friendly. The hotel was in a good location in a quiet village.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Paul from Bournemouth

Posted Jul 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
Lovely old pub but the rooms were very dated.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Graeme & Heather from Weston-super-Mare

Comfy bed; Great location & Fantastic service

Posted Jul 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
Quaint hotel in a delightful village. Very tasty breakfast. Plenty off hot water and helpful friendly staff.
1 out of 5
by Martin from London, UK

Horrible - Stay away

Posted May 27, 2013
Pros: the breakfast lady was in a very good mood.
Cons: the mould and the smell
Location: nice village
When we entered the gready pub we expected no good, but it came even worse: mould on the ceilings of the room and the bathroom, and so our room smelled accordingly. We had no shower and neither a remote control for the tv. For the two of us we only had one small towel, the toilet paper holder was empty, there were brown stains in the bath. Someone has spilled a little pack of milk over the drawer in the room and the stains were not removed (at least I hoped it was milk...) The furniture and wallpaper was very new and nice looking, but dusty, the matresses very thin, giving us a backache and every move in the bed caused a creak. During the night we could hear rats or mice running on the floor over us. Wifi was only available in the pub not in the room. Breakfast wasn't very nice either. The coffee looked like weak tea and after having one bite of the nearly white scrambled eggs we decided to have our breakfast somewhere else. We were so pleased when we could finally leave this place. We traveled one week through Cornwall staying in a different B&B every night, they were all great but apart from this one. The only good thing was a nice pub in this village, so that we could at least have a lovely dinner.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Maggie from Suffolk

Very welcoming

Posted May 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
We booked for one night. Arrived late afternoon. There were some local people in the bar who were very friendly. The owners were away at the time, but their daughter, Amy was running the Inn in their absence. Amy was very welcoming. We had a good night at the bar. She cooked us both dinner and breakfast which were both equally delicious.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Kay from Australia

Uncomfortable bed

Posted Apr 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very old and run down. Hard beds, and somthing was scuttling in the roof during the night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Janet from Cornwall

Beautiful Area

Posted Apr 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
We stayed at this hotel on a really cold day but we had an extra heater which was already and available when we arrived..The room and ensuit were very clean .WiFI was available and working. I love to have a bath when it's cold and the water was hot and loads of it. We ate at The Anchor Inn which was very enjoyable. A lovely weekend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

GOOD BREAKFAST

Posted Aug 21, 2012 on Hotels.com
i got there really late so didnt have time to try the pub out but breakfast was very good and the staff were helpful. Off the main track but not far from Bideford by car.