Ratings based on 32 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Friendly, old-fashioned pub.

Posted Jul 21, 2015
Pros: Friendly atmosphere; good, English food.
Cons: Being a pub, and visiting in summer, it was a bit noisy. If you crave quiet, ask for a room away from the bar.
Location: Hartland Point and Hartland Quay are fabulous.
Good traditional food. No frills, but good value, well cooked. Very friendly staff. The pub is a bit in need of a facelift, but somehow that does not matter as the staff and the locals are welcoming. We will return to undertake more walking, and Alison the landlady has kindly offered to drive us to our destination, taxis being in short supply and expensive.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Deutschland

ziemlich heruntergekommenes Hotel

Posted Jun 2, 2015
Bei Ankunft stand der Staubsauger noch im Zimmer, keine Glühbirne in der Lampe und kein Toilettenpapier auf dem total veralteten Etagenbad. Zimmereinrichtung sieht aus wie aus einem Second Hand Shop. sehr ungemütlich. ...
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Mixed Results

Posted May 28, 2015
Although the owner and chief female employee did all they could to make our stay pleasant, the Unn is seriously in need off an extreme makeover There have been recent changes in ownership and hopefully within a year this will be a more presentable place to stay On another note the owner is an excellent cook. She makes an incredible Cornish breakfast and the main meals at lunch and dinner are very very good.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Graham from Paulton

A wasted weekend break

Posted Nov 25, 2014 on Hotels
Extremely tired hotel. Seems to be on its last legs. Damp smell permeates the building. Uncomfortable bed with springs digging in all night. Breakfast was very disappointing. The full English tasted as if all cooked in butter. The first breakfast for me to leave half on the plate. Even the coffee was unpalatable. Booked for two nights but left after the first breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler

Distance from Bideford

Posted Oct 3, 2014
Pros: Bed was good and the food and service was very good.
Cons: The ad need to ensure that those looking to stay in Bideford understand that this Inn is in 15 miles from Bideford. So a map with Bideford as a refere
Location: Lots to see - the Abbey and the Quay and the hotel where terrific.
I was impressed with the room and the comfort and the quality of service, although somewhat apprehensive in the beginning due to the distance from Bideford and the fact that we assumed that the Inn was in Bideford because this was what we asked for when we went online. Having said that the stay was a good one and I would have no qualms in recommending the Anchor Inn
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 17, 2014 on Hotels
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Quirky

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 16, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
by John Cannon from Taunton

Great service

Posted Aug 7, 2014 on Hotels
Lovely friendly attentive people. I felt most welcome.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from australia

Sleepless in sleepy town!

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Pros: The wifi was good
Cons: Everything!!
Location: Best thing was the hartland quay had amazing views. There was little else locally to do worth doing.
We were quite disappointed when we walked into the bar and saw how shabby it looked and the musty smell that hit as we walked in made our expectations of the room instantly drop but the room was okay. Only just. The whole place looked like it was a mix between a retirement village and halfway through renovations. The shower was strange, there was no hook on the wall to hang it. Being in a pub we expected some noise and the bar closes at 11pm and that was ok, so we thought silly us. The first night we were there the noise went past midnight but it wasn't too bad and we were able to fall asleep eventually. Another issue was the constant door slamming. The doors were old and heavy and spring loaded to slam after using it causing the building to shake, this went on day and night. The 2nd night (a weeknight) was a whole different story. There was loud voices and loud music in the pub until about 2am, and then again with the door slamming, people stomping up and down stairs, still talking loudly. It was so loud I was unable to sleep until almost 3am and by this time I was so angry. To make matters worse the fire alarm sounded at 7am waking us with a start, this was due to a toilet over flowing into the restaurant below :-S the restaurant also remained uncleaned from the morning before (they had served lunch and dinner in between) there was food on the floor under our table I'd accidently dropped the previous morning & There was crumbs and grains of sugar on the table. Never again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by easy going from Kent

Great food

Posted Jul 9, 2014 on Hotels
very good food,excellent service, They had just had roof repairs due to storm damage,so there was a slight smell of damp but it was still a good friendly place to stay.we arrived at around 21:30 but they still offered to cook anything that was on the menu ! will go there again for sure. although we had a busy schedule there are some great places to visit in the area