Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Hassan Shahin from Peterborough

Comfy beds, Great location and Fantast service

Posted Apr 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
Good service, nice location, clean rooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Good value, good service

Posted Sep 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
Excellent for my need for a good value one night stay
2 out of 5
by steve

Tired and dated

Posted Aug 27, 2013
Pros: The location
Cons: The decor.Clean the windows it was hard to see out of them.The shower was useless the whole place needs updating
When arriving at hotel it was like going back in time rooms had not been decorated or updated for years the owners were pleasant enough but the B and B does not reach the standards you expect nowadays the room was very dated with a tv my grandad use to have.The breakfast was adequate nothing special the whole experince was vey dissapointing.Surely the whole idea is for people to return but I would'nt go back if you paid me!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

A timewarp

Posted Aug 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
If you're after a free trip in a time machine, this is the place to come. If, however, you want that time machine to land somewhere other than in a mid-60s B&B then don't stay here. Its peeling wallpaper, lukewarm water and antediluvian d├ęcor are barely made up for by the breakfast, which dropped 7 points the moment I realised the owners don't know the difference between real and instant coffee. I shouldn't have been surprised when the nonchalant reply to my half-naked complaint about the trickle of a cold shower was, "Run a bath."
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

1 Night Stay

Posted Aug 12, 2013
Was attending a wedding down the road in Croyde Bay and stayed for a single night at the Avoncourt Hotel. Owners were very pleasant and accomodating!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

courteous staff but not clean

Posted Aug 12, 2013
the owners were nice and friendly but the rooms need cleaning and the hotel needs maintenance upkeep
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

carpet in the bathroom

Posted Aug 6, 2013 on Hotels.com
okay may be its a pet hate of mine, but i just don't see a need for carpet in a bathroom, and if one must insist on carpet, it needs to be clean, i mean spotless! grime under a leaking sink is not ideal, a shower with pressure so low water barely dribbles out to wash your hair (don't even try standing for a shower) and an access road which, if left un-maintained, will soon mean access only by 4x4 does not add up to an ideal stay. On the plus side the owners are pleasant, it's a short walk to the center and a quiet location.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

needs some work

Posted Aug 6, 2013 on Hotels.com
The guest house is clean enough and comfortable for the one night i stayed there, but it needs some money spent on it. The rooms feel old and tired, the floor board grown every time someone moves, while the water pressure is so low you can't have a shower. Spend a few pound cleaning up the place and a bit of time fitting a water pump, and the stay would be far more pleasant.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Average hotel, ok for a quick overnight stay.

Posted Jul 29, 2013
The hotel is situated via access up an unmade road which was very rough in areas and you should be careful about the suspension on your car. The hotel is clean and fairly comfortable but we were met at the entrance by the owners and the lady of the house had clearly dropped something unpleasant down the front of her t shirt but was not aware of how she looked for the customer. Breakfast the next morning was good and luckily the t shirt had been changed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Budd & Becky from Oxford

Great location, friendly owners.

Posted May 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
Stayed at the Avoncourt when attending a wedding at Tunnels Beaches. Location was perfect walking distance. Friendly owners, great service and good breakfast. Would recommend.