Ratings based on 9 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto On

Charming!

Posted Sep 18, 2014
Barton Cross is charming. It is in a lovely area of Devon down a hedge filled road. We were happy to find it and happy with our two day stay there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by MH

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Excellent Food and Service

Posted May 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
Short notice business trip and i prefer to stay off the beaten track with the typical chain hotels. This was a great choice , nice large room , peaceful with good wifi , easy parking and the food was excellent !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by jon from woking, surrey

Quirky hotel near Exeter thatched cottage style

Posted May 15, 2014
Excellent food with home comforts but very quiet after trouble with floods. Worth going out of Exeter to stay as not far out.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Rob Mackay from Kent

Stunning

Posted Apr 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
From the service, to the food, the room and comfort, our stay was exceptional, thoroughly recommended!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Laurie from reading Berkshire

A very attractive thatched hotel in the country

Posted Feb 24, 2014
Pros: The peace and quiet and the wonderful food.
Cons: Making sure the public areas are warm and comfortable and some attention to such detail as the shower control being stiff to turn.
Location: We were only there for 2 days to help a family member move house so we had no time to explore. but Exeter is only 15 minutes drive away.
This is a hotel full of character in a peaceful rural setting. The food is really top notch and the other guests confirmed they had been coming back year after year because of the superb food and historic comforts. I can well understand why. We did not see the the hotel at the best time of year as the area had suffered from floods, high winds and fallen trees. The countryside was sodden and cold and this affected the wood on the open fires. The restaurant was chilly on the Friday night but warm and conpmfortable on Saturday. The owner and staff were friendly and very helpful. I would have no hesitation in recommending it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Robby from Basingstoke

Lovely People

Posted Mar 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
Lovely Hotel in the beautiful countryside. The exterior is a little worrying with signs etc. looking faded and un-kept but, don't let that fool you. Inside the hotel is in good nick, the food is impressive and the choice of wines are good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Beautiful location in the country yet near Exeter

Posted Jun 21, 2012 on Hotels.com
The hotel was most attractive, our host was charming, our accommodation was faultless and dinner first class.