Ratings based on 18 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: Friendly service and good location.
As well as being close to the beach it is close to the rail line so it can be very noisy especially when the karaoke pub across the road starts up. The friendly service and having breakfast bought to your room though really makes up for it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wales

Nice and central

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: Lovely breakfast which is made to order and brought to your room.
Cons: Nothing to do with the hotel, but local parking could be extended so visitors can enjoy the local walks etc...
Very welcoming, friendly and helpful. Room was nicely decorated and comfortable. Although the hotel is situated on a busy road and opposite the main rail line, don't let this put you off as you cannot notice any noise and can have a good nights sleep. There is a lovely park nearby where you can sit and relax, plenty of cafés and lovely atmosphere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mike from halton

Great Hotel near the beach

Posted Jun 7, 2014
Wonderful hotel with great views, large comfortable rooms and wonderful breakfasts topped off with a lovely hostess we will be staying there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Good location near the town, station and sea

Posted Apr 22, 2014
Pros: Views, breakfast, location, welcome
Location: Close to the sea, railway station (check out steam trains coming through), town centre, lots of places to eat
Stayed in the top floor in the family suite for 1 night. We travelled by train so no need for parking. Breakfast was served in our room but was probably one of the best cooked breakfasts we have ever had !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gordon from Victoria BC Canada

Nice hotel in a great location...but

Posted Apr 5, 2014
Pros: Awesome location. I was in "The Nest" - the view out of one window was downtown Dawlish and the other the English Channel. Room service breakfasts.
Cons: Better communication by management. Rebate on parking fees if you have to park offsite.
Location: This hotel is great for train lovers. Several good restaurants within walking distance.
No reception - you are expected to know when you're arriving, or phone, so someone can meet you and open the door. Unfortunately many tourists can't do either so I went to the Tourist Info center downtown and they helped me out. Very uncommunicative management (emails so brief that they made no sense). Any issues were explained away as being "a Devon thing." Virtually no parking facilities. Bathroom in my room was minuscule made it hard to use without making a watery mess. Confusing difficult to use water system in the sink - taps were replaced by some sort of on demand hot water thing. But once settled, the room was nice and comfortable. There's no eating area so breakfast is brought to your room. You cannot change or cancel your reservation - so you better be sure when you book it. Parking is for maybe 4 cars - tightly packed Tetris style (4" apart) - so you need to be limber to exit the vehicle and hope you don't get a dent in your rental car.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Steve from Bristol

Perfect location in Dawlish

Posted Mar 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
We were well looked after during our overnight stay and the location was great for our purposes. Take a walk along the railway line to the Rock Pool Café at Coryton Cove, it's a great beach location nearby.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 19, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Sue R from Bristol

Brilliant location in south Devon

Posted Nov 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
It was quaint, but very comfy. Unusual in that we ordered breakfast and it was delivered to our room, there was no dining room. A lot of the rooms had the option to be used as self catering, but we didn't want that with just an overnight stop. Annabel, the landlady, was very helpful and friendly. More like a seaside guest house than a hotel really. Good value for money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tom & Anna

Friendly hotel

Posted Aug 17, 2013
You couldn't meet a more attentive and welcoming hostess. Our room was due for renovation but even so was clean and tidy. We did sneek a peek at another room facing the sea which was beautifully done. The breakfast was fantastic and served in our room at the time we requested. We would definitely make a return visit!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Emma from Cardiff

Overall weekend

Posted Aug 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
Me and my partner spent two nights in this B&B, the owner was extremely friendly and chatty and made us feel at home straight away. Location was perfect, breakfast was fantastic, room was comfortable and a good size. I cannot fault the hotel at all. Perfect weekend away, will be staying again and I have recommended friends and family