Ratings based on 57 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Carlton from Staffs

Shocking rooms I am afraid

Posted Jun 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
Loads of damp, very dark, single skinned and noisy...good food tho'
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Daz40 from Bristol

Needs some TLC

Posted Jun 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
Staff friendly. Pub nice, but standard of hotel accomodation very poor. Needs a bit of a facelift. Reminded us of 1980's Butlin's chalets. Smelt damp, and not the cleanest.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by JB from Gloucestershire

Posted May 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
Lovely location and the hotel could be fantastic, but a bit run down. Food good but did not receive all that was included on the menu for one of the meals that I ordered. If the gardens were looked after better it would be beautiful. They are full of weeds and do not do the grounds justice. Also the paths were not swept and could be dangerous for mature guests. Lastly the wi fi was not working when we stayed, which was a pain.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

weekend away

Posted May 28, 2014
Pros: locality
Cons: better variety on the evening meals
Location: there are some wonderful beaches near by lots to see Barnstaple is well worth the visit
Its very basic but comfortable, breakfast was good, we had a meal there the first night and not that good!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted May 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
Good place to stay. with no issues
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Darren from Telford

Dated rooms

Posted May 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
Ok to stay overnight, but rooms very dated and not particularly clean. Bathroom looked like a hospital bathroom. However, food and service was excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by alan from derbyshire

Ideal for our visit to Rosemore.

Posted May 5, 2014
Cons: More attentive and better trained restaurant staff
Quick ckeck-in,good room.Dining in the restaurant left a lot to be desired.
3 out of 5
by Will

A mixed bunch.

Posted Apr 25, 2014
Pros: The grounds and outdoor seating must make it a pleasant experience in the Summer months.
Cons: More fruit with the breakfast. Plain (Greek yogurt). Better breakfast chefs and a waiter with a bit more panache.
Staff at this hotel are a real mixture. Most (receptionists, bar staff) were friendly and helpful, but one waiter especially, up early to help provide breakfast, was having a really "off" day. My impressions were made early as I saw him blow into my cup to remove "whatever" before pouring coffee into it. I asked for a change, and when I later helped myself to more coffee, because he was elsewhere in the restaurant, I was rebuked for doing so. Breakfast itself wasn't brilliant. My scrambled eggs were obviously out of a pre-prepared dish as there were "crusts" among the eggs from the side of the dish in which they were kept. My son was similarly disenchanted with his eggs Benedict. Evening meals, the night before, we're not bad. Adequate to accompany a couple of pints of beer. The rooms (we had an upstairs one in chalets in the grounds) were fine. Ours was clean and of a decent size. The bathroom was somewhat "Spartan" but sufficed. I was just glad we were upstairs though. The floor really creaked. Anyone underneath would have had to be deaf or dead to the world not to be severely irritated by our presence.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Redtomo from Somerset

Good location for the area

Posted Apr 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very good and friendly staff.good and the hotel grounds were very large and plenty of car parking space.