Ratings based on 36 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Bath

Nothing to complain about what so ever

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Pros: Everything and Wi Fi.
Location: It's only a few hundred yards from the harbour and shops very convenient for everything.
We arrived for our one night stay on Saturday Oct 11th we were met by Roger who gave us all the information we were likely to want during our stay in Torquay. He took us to our nice little room at the top of the hotel, it was really lovely and could not have been better. The breakfast was excellent with everything in the dining room looking very clean and nice. We will not be looking for another hotel in Torquay in the future the Haytor is just right for us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sheerness

Anniversary Break

Posted Sep 28, 2014
This was our first visit to Torquay and our first visit to a non-chain hotel. We chose this hotel on previous reviews and were not disappointed. The grounds of the hotel are well kept and picturesque, the inside of the hotel was just as well decorated and clean and tidy. The staff were very helpful and our room was comfortable and clean. The area around the hotel was nice and quiet which allowed for a peaceful nights sleep. In the morning the staff were very freindly and attentive with a good selection for breakfast including a cooked breakfast which was consistantly good throughout our stay. During our stay we availed ourselves of the bar for a night-cap and again the staff were very freindly and helpful. The staff were very helpful in suggesting places to visit and walks which were not dissapointing. The hotel is a very short walk to the sea front just be aware that the hotel is on a hill, we were aware of this before we went from the previous reviews. I can safely say that we will be returning to Torquay and this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Stevenage

An Excellent Hotel

Posted Sep 21, 2014
Pros: The standard of presentation is high, the breakfast was also of a high standard as was the table service
Location: Torquay...where do you start?? South Devon has so many different things to do, we went on purpose to a local seafood restaurant called No7 Fish Bistro
When we arrived were made to feel very welcome, everything was very well explained. The room was very well presented and a very pleasant place to be.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Margaretfrom Newcastle NSW

Great location.

Posted Sep 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great location with parking. Excellent breakfast and staff. Nice room but a little small. Small bathroom. Good wi fi.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Mark in Mississaugafrom Mississauga Ontario

An accepable hotel

Posted Sep 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
Unfortunately, the town has seen better days. Canadians would think a cross between Wasaga Beach and the CNE.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Great find

Posted Aug 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
Having decided we wanted to visit this fabled sea side town on the English riviera we were delighted to have found this hotel. Centrally located it does everything well and with a certain class. The welcome was warm, the room spacious and had good quality furnishings. The breakfast was great. We would happily return as and when we return to Torquay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hôtel de charme avec un service impeccable.

Posted Aug 11, 2014
L'accueil donnait le ton d'entrée. On s'est senti attendu. On a été dorloté pendant tous le séjour. Localisation OK. breakfast OK. Je recommande chaudement.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom warrington

Excellent Stay

Posted Aug 1, 2014
Pros: Location, Close to the town but far enough away for it to be quite in the day and at the night. Friendly and helpful staff.
Had a great stay at the hotel the staff were Excellent and I was given loads of information on where we could eat and the attractions in the area which were worth a look. the Breakfast was very good as well, the staff are friendly and helpful giving any advice to make you stay comfortable I would recommend the hotel to friends and family if I was going to Torquay again I would stay here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

A lovely warm welcome

Posted Jul 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
A fabulous location - just 2 mins from the centre but in such a quiet location. A lovely warm welcome from the owners - thoroughly recommend this Hotel.