Ratings based on 43 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by susan from manchester

Cat

Posted Mar 26, 2014
Pros: Staff were very nice
Cons: Refurbishment.dont allow pets where food is served or to sleep on the chairs.
Location: The hotel is not near Torquay unless you want to drive or taxi.
Very pleasant staff,however hotel was a long way from Torquay.Rather shabby hotel.In the lounge where food was served cat sleeping on furniture .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

Lucky upgrade

Posted Oct 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
Due to a room mix up we were upgraded to a suite resulting in the most opulent hotel room we have ever stayed in. No complaints here and breakfast was very good.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Shopping
by A verified traveler

Great customer service

Posted Sep 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
Staff were very friendly and helpful, hotel a bit tired but no different to most others in the area
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Victoian Grandeur

Posted Sep 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
A fantastic piece of Victorian Grandeur in an enchanting setting.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

DiSAPPOINTING FOR A WELL KNOWN 4 STAR HOTEL

Posted Sep 23, 2013
Pros: The breakfast, as above.
Cons: Redecorate the room, strip and paint the window frame, fit double-glazing, replace the kettle with something half-decent and replace the bedding.
Location: Noisy - heavy traffic.
The room (other than the bathroom) was small and had the feel of a second-rate bedsit, certainly not a major 4 star hotel. The bedding looked like it had been salvaged, paint was peeling off the window frame and the kettle was like a discard from 20 years ago. The window was not double-glazed and there was heavy traffic noise. I've stayed in smaller hotels in Torquay (e.g. Gleneagles) and the rooms have been far nicer. In addition, parking was very difficult and at one point I had to park on the public road outside. The breakfast was better, with a wide choice and quality food.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sara from Saslisbury

good old fashioned grand hotel

Posted Sep 20, 2013
Pros: easy to find location,breakfast, free parking on site
Cons: update wi-fi and TV's
Location: Easy to walk into Torquay although it's uphill coming back.Paignton zoo is a great dayout for everyone.
Spent 2 nights in this classic grand hotel experience.The facilities(pool,restaurant,parking) and location were good.Breakfast amazing,anything is possible here!.The single room was a good size but had that "neglected" slightly damp smell.The tv was of the old fashioned square variety so half the picture was missing and reception on it was terrible. Wi-fi is only available downstairs in selected areas so if you want to stay connected it's a bit awkward.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Due for an update

Posted Sep 19, 2013
Pros: Beautiful gardens and a building with good bones, but sadly a grand dame whose wrinkles are showing through the make up.
Our view was over the roof and the vents from the kitchen. The window won't close so we woke early each morning when the kitchen vents went into action..early!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by marky mark from altrincham, cheshire

Lovely hotel good quality

Posted Sep 18, 2013
A last minute booking, thoroughly pleased with our choice
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Faulty Towers from Norfolk

Nice Museum!

Posted Sep 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
The staff were very friendly and knowledgeable - however the room was something that has been reserved from before the war! Needs some serious updating to maintain it 4 Stars. That said, the hotel was clean and very tidy - didnt get to see all of the facilities but wifi could do with some extra hamsters! Overall, had a great sleep and enjoyed stay, albeit - novel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Shabby Room

Posted Sep 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
Staff were very attentive and food was exellent. Grounds were good as were general areas. However, double room was shabby and although we were offered an alternative this was a twin. If given a refurbished room we would maybe try again.