Ratings based on 40 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.8 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Roger from Tas.

Retro beach resort

Posted May 22, 2014
Mid 20th century resort keeping in touch with pleasant rooms, helpful staff and reasonable faculties. We enjoyed our stay at Woolacombe.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

royal hotel woolacombe

Posted Apr 11, 2014
Pros: location, food ,entertainment in evening ,sea view, pool, parking
Cons: décor, shower,,general appearance which is why I wouldn't recommend it to friends Welcome from reception
Location: exploring, walking. good point for visiting other attractions
5 night stay. we walked and explored area by car. visited National Trust places and other beaches
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A somewhat tired hotel but excellent value.

Posted Jan 29, 2014
The Woolacombe is a giant of a hotel, and I imagine in the summer it is bustling with visitors. When I stayed I was one of 7 other guests, so the place was very quiet. Despite this the staff were very friendly and seemed pleased to accommodate our needs, for example, when we arrived at around 8:30 the bar was closed, but when I enquired, the staff opened it immediately. The swimming pool is in need of a makeover but was large and warm. The décor is very chinz, it reminded me of staying at my nan's house but I really have no complaints. Particularly for the price we paid, off season of around £25 per person per night. At this price, it was a fantastic almost unbelievable deal.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Suffolk

Good Food - Happy staff

Posted Sep 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
Food was very good, staff were pleasant but room No 511 was very tired and old and in need of redecoration & refurbishment.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

horrible experience

Posted Sep 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
there is no room service so when we got there we were left hungry as all the surrounding pubs dont serve after 9. the rooms were horrible ugly and old deco which had an old smell. The bathroom was just ridiculous so dirty and the tub was permanently stained. the worst hotel experience ever I wouldn't recommend it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by gaz mel and sam from northampton

great location and breakfast

Posted Sep 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
hotel needs complete refit, shabby and musky but breakfast and staff service great
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Good Location

Posted Aug 19, 2013 on Hotels.com
Tired hotel in need of renovation. Dated facilities but economical and good location. Staff friendly and generally in clean condition.
1 out of 5
by Angela from Wales uk

Woul not return

Posted Aug 19, 2013
Pros: Breakfast
Cons: Room
Location: Very good
Service good breakfast good and great views of woolacombe bay but the rooms are very dated could do with a big refurb we had a family room a double and 2 single beds, the double was that bad the first night did not sleep at all so swapped with the children for the rest of holiday they didn't seem to mind the springs you can also here every footstep of the people above you we had a balcony but the floor was all cracked and broken.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
by Beth

Ok for families but could do much more.

Posted Aug 12, 2013
Pros: Cheap and good distance to the sea.
Cons: Noise, dreary staff.
It was a last minute choice to stay at the Royal. The staff were averagely polite but seemed very dreary, stuck to the bare minimum. The room was clean but could really do with some updating. Could here every word and footstep through the walls of passers by or the next rooms. Good for families with kids as there seemed a lot of entertainment. Overall an ok last minute/cheap option.