Ratings based on 71 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.9 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wales

Fabulous Hotel. 5 min walk from Front

Posted Oct 12, 2014
Pros: Everything
Location: Everything Nearby,, Shopping, buses ,Trip booking, Boat Trips Places to eat
Wonderful Welcome, Fabulous Breakfast , Lovely Rooms with lots of nice touches , Pleasant helpful staff . Will be back for more
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wales

Good location to the town

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Pros: It was very comfortable and the breakfasts were wonderful, so much choice. Also it was good to have fresh milk to use in the room.
Had not visited Torquay for a long time but it was well worth another visit and find such a good hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dunfermline fife

Indulgance

Posted Sep 18, 2014
Pros: The small touches
Cons: None
Location: Good location five minutes up a small incline to the centre.
My wife and I spent three nights at the Sommerville at the beginning of September and enjoyed every moment from arrival in the spacious carpark and the warm welcolme,The bedrooms are totally luxurious with attention to every need,even an ironing board and fridge.Very comfortable bed and lovely fixtures.Cake and fresh milk are available in the afternoon in the hallway.The breakfast was the highlight of our stay.The presentation,choice and quality on offer is fantastic and the staff are excellent.Everything is quality about this hotel and our thanks to them for making this our best stay in a hotel yet.Stay here you won't regret it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Essex

Great place to stay

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Pros: D├ęcor - free parking and the extras (Cakes, sweets, etc)
Cons: nothing
Location: Very close to the harbour/town - within walking distance.
Enjoyed a 3 ngt break here and would definately recommend. Excellent location, very clean and quiet. Excellent choices for breakfast. Owners extremely helpful. Rooms superb. Would stay again as made to feel very welcome!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bournemouth UK

Not hotel but upmarket bed and breakfast.

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Pros: The breakfast and closeness to the centre of the town.
Cons: Not a lot.
Location: What do you need to know about Devon Tirbay. It is a holiday area.
The place is very convenient for visitors to Torquay on holiday or wanting to see the area as a bed and breakfast. In my view it was not suitable for my purposes as I was there to work. Furthermore my work finished early and I had to pay for the full four nights. It should be made clear therefore that itis not suitable a anything other than bed and breakfast, but otherwise good. The rooms do not have facilities to work in and the en-suites are tiny/
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 7, 2014 by Adam, Hotel Management
In response to this review I would firstly like to say that we have never pretended to be a hotel. Our technical classification from Visit Brtain is Five Star (Gold Award) Guest Accommodation. Some of the international booking agents struggle with the subtleties of our grading system and label us their own way. But we are what we are. In terms of charging. Guests make a booking and are asked to accept terms and conditions as you would expect. This is done voluntarily. And just as guests have a right to expect a hotel to keep to its obligations so too should guests keep to theirs. It is completely unreasonable to cut short a visit at short notice and not expect to pay. The guest gave us no reasonable time to re let the room and it is not right that we as a hotel should pay for the fact that his work commitments changed. We provided the guest with a full invoice so that he could claim back his expenses. When it comes to the size of room, the guest chose to book the smallest and cheapest room. We make clear that our standard room is compact (although it does have a King size bed). The guest had the opportunity to book larger rooms and we do have desks and areas that are suitable for working in them. The larger rooms also have ensuites that contain roll top baths as well as separate showers. We also have public rooms where guests are free to work and where wifi is available at no extra cost. The ensuite in the room the guest booked is compact but does have a very reasonable sized shower. The price of the room reflects all of this. Finally, it is disappointing that in his assessment of our suitability for business guests he failed to mention that on both mornings he was with us we did an early breakfast for him. We have a great many business guests who choose to stay with us. We try to ensure our service and facilities are responsive to their needs and can offer late check ins and early check outs. As a VAT registered business we also have an added benefit in that companies are able to reclaim the VAT element of our bills.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Carol from Kent

Somerville Torquay

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Pros: Quaint quirky wonderfully clean lovingly run great food.
Cons: Nothing stay as you are.
Location: Was told as soon as we arrived of the local attractions and given a map of the area by the proprietor to add to the splendour of the English Riviera.
A lovely guest house, close to all amenities, situated in a lovely spot. The gardens are beautiful and well loved just as the hotel is. We were pleasantly surprised by the extras that the proprietors give to this quaint and quirky establishment. The breakfast was first class. We would highly recommend and we will definitely return again and again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Stella from Kidderminster

Good hotel within walking distance of the harbour

Posted May 7, 2014
Pros: Position within the town
Cons: Furniture was very heavy and ornate so helped to make the rooms appear darker than they were.
Location: Within walking distance of the town, used the buses to go to Brixham and Painton.
Very good hotel room a bit dark but very clean, lovely bathroom. Only complaint the bed was too soft! Breakfast was excellent good selection and beautifully cooked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dawn from Lancashire

Fantastic!

Posted Mar 24, 2014
Couldn't fault it. Attention to detail was commendable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel good location

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Overnight stay made very welcome great rooms and attention to detail. Very good breakfast with plenty of choice and locally sourced produce. Would highly recommend The Somerville .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 12, 2014 on Hotels.com