Ratings based on 1,493 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Fremont, CA

Spectacular Hotel

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Pros: Location.
Cons: Nothing, it was great!
Location: Everything is close by, California Adventure is right outside, Downtown Disney is right outside, Disneyland is just a few steps away.
We have been to Disneyland and California Adventure many times in the last year and have stayed at several different hotels. We have always wanted to stay at Grand Californian due to it's location and appearance. We were not disappointed. While it is expensive, it is worth the money for the convenience and overall experience.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Phoenix, AZ

Don't Waste Your Money

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Pros: Check In and Out was seamless for us Free Wifi (as of this date that I write) but it was slow Comfortable Beds (if you like sleeping with spiders)
Cons: Spray for bugs (Pest Control) Request your vehicle from valet from your room Offer rooms w/ 2 King Size beds Allow guests early entry to both parks
Location: Better hotels/motels for less at entrance to Disney. Save your money.
My wife & I thought it would be "grand" to stay in this resort with our 9 yr old as a surprise for her spring break. It wasn't. It certainly was NOT worth the money spent. It is a standard hotel room w/ a 5 Star price. The lobby bar was packed & service was SLOW even though I sat AT the bar. The one bartender was too swamped to care for all patrons in a timely manner. The bar-back did not have the authority to crack open a beer bottle nor did he have the inclination to inform the bartender that a patron had been waiting a very long time for service. My wife caught (and squished...GO HER) a spider the size of a nickel crawling up the side of the bed sheet . I called the front desk to inform them &, while they did offer a change of rooms (as if I were to do that at 10pm?), I explained that if I found a spider in MY room I was sure that there are spiders everywhere & informed the front desk that perhaps Disney ought to consider spraying for bugs outside & inside. I've been in less than desirable hotels/motels across the nation & never found bugs (in my BED no less). We assumed we would have early access to the park as that is something advertised on the Disney Hotel websites. Nope. Disneyland & California parks alternate early open days. So, the morning we awoke was dedicated to Disneyland Early Open NOT California. Our mistake. Last one we will ever make. I could write scathing reviews about "Cast Members" & their appalling customer service but no more room here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Arizona

Perfect Disney experience

Posted Mar 19, 2015
Pros: Comfort. Decor. Proximity to Disneyland and California Adventure.
Cons: None.
Love this hotel. Have stayed here many times and it is always top quality. Great place to take a break from the parks and feel spoiled.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom LA

I'd rather the Holiday Inn

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Pros: Position--well located in California Adventure (although the land it was in was closed for renovations when we were there).
Cons: The rooms are very basic and not at all worth the exorbitant rates.
Location: Well it's Disney, great location but just remember it's on Disney you're not close to LA.
It was fine. Except that I thought we were having a night away as a bit of a splurge so we'd be on site at opening and get to experience a nice Disney hotel. The location is great, the outside is commanding but when you get to your rooms it's the biggest let down ever. The rooms are no more than Holiday Inn standard (we were in a standard city room outside peak and it cost $500 a night with taxes) so imagine our disappointment. Room service breakfast was good and we didn't do any of the character breakfasts or anything but we won't be returning or recommending this hotel. Sorry Disney.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom 東京

ランド以外にも楽しみ充実!

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Pros: ロケーション
ランド内のホテルでロケーションは最高です。 アーティストパレットのキャラクターモーニングは食事も満足できるもの。夜のブッフェは種類が少なくイマイチ。 ホテル宿泊者向けのプールも充実しており、こども(3歳・9歳)も楽しんでました。 ランド外のダウンタウンディズニーに食事や買い物に行くにも圧倒的な近さで滞在は楽でした。 セルフパーキングも宿泊者用が近くにあり、ランドの一般客用より近くチェックインの前から車を置けるので助かりました。
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle, WA

Great being so close to both theme parks.

Posted Mar 12, 2015
Pros: The hotel is very attractive and located conveniently to Disney attractions. The pool was the perfect temperature.
Cons: In order for us ever to consider the expense of staying here again - we would need to be GUARINTEED to get into California Adventure AT 8:00am
Location: Great location. Great Restaurants and shops. Disneyland was Great. You can skip California Adventure if you are short of time.
Overall our experience at Disney's California Grand Hotel was wonderful. We had 2 disappointments 1) The towels were not as soft as the Ocean Spray Beach Resort's towels and 2) There was no advantage getting into the park one hour early. The line to get into the park took about 25 minutes - leaving 35 minutes in the park befor the gates to the general public were opened. Once in - the main attraction was closed and most of the attractions did not open until 9am.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Issaquah, WA

comfortable and convenient hotel in Disney

Posted Mar 10, 2015
enjoyed the restaurants especially the breakfast buffet with Chip and Dale, the pools and hot tubs were relaxing after a busy day on the rides, and enjoyed the piano music in the lobby. The room was very nice and beds comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom santa rosa ca

Great place to stay

Posted Mar 7, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Expensive
Location: Restaurants, shopping, California adventure
Very convenient location. Can walk everywhere. We took a break during the day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom SScottsdale

Posted Feb 28, 2015
Pros: Location and assess to Disneyland properties
Cons: The worst shower I have had in a hotel/motel. No pressure and very little water flow as well as very hard water.
Enjoyed 4 days with our grandchildren and their parents.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Canada

Hotel clean but not helpful

Posted Feb 27, 2015
We were amazed at how clean the hotel is kept, but disappointed with the lack of help from staff when we asked questions about various things. We were also a little disappointed with the amenities provided (barely basic cable during down time) and for the price per night, dated room.