Ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Visit from Canada

Posted Jun 19, 2014
Pros: Food good, location was good.
Cons: The bedrooms need updating, and could do with a bit better shower i.e. a power shower
It was in a good position for what we needed. Close to the lovely town of Diss, and Bury St Edmunds
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by David from Bournemouth

Old World

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Typical old fashioned pub accomodation and as such fine for the price. Sat round an open fire for a drink before bed, very pleasant. Staff friendly and helpfull, happy to provide extras like more tea bags, on request. Room was ok, needed a new carpet but fine for an old building. Bathroom a bit smelly and we didn't fancy the shower, but the bed was comfortable and we slept well. Good breakfast included. Overall was happy and worth the price, would stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by leggs11 from Sutton

great location

Posted Oct 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
great location as close to family we have in the area. good size room with lots of nice touches, tea/coffee/biscuits etc.Room very clean. good breakfast. did not eat dinner but looked a good selection on menu at reasonable prices.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Anna

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
by emheals from chelmsford

not bad

Posted Aug 31, 2013 on Hotels.com
room was musty and airless, but clean and tidy,breakfast was fine but the room was in direct sunlight window didnt open so room was too hot to enjoy breakfast, highlite for me was ava behind the bar fiesty , funny and smart could do worse than let her run the place
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by samick from UK

Posted Aug 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
Friendly and helpful service in pub and at breakfast.Good tasty breakfast. No complaints.Thanks
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 6, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Jetset-Jac from Herts

Friendly Staff -Room too hot

Posted Jul 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
A wonderful warm welcome and amazing friendliness and service fromt he staff. Nice pub in a similarly pleasant village. Down side is that the room was ridiculously hot - not entirely the hotel's faul as we were mid-heatwave, but even with three fans going (the hotel supplier two and we had oen of our own) it was still oven-esque. The rooms were basic but clean and the food was pretty good. Woudl i go again - yes, for sure, but not mid-summer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sylvia from Richmond, North Yorkshire, UK

A great hotel in a beautiful village

Posted Jun 12, 2013
Pros: Great atmosphere by both staff and locals
Cons: Small en-suite facilities
Location: A small picturesque village with beautiful thatched cottages and Suffolk pink houses surrounded by peaceful countryside.
Being a family run hotel in a small village we were greeted in a really friendly manner, the food was excellent and the beds really comfortable. All requests to the staff were met with a genuine smile, in fact nothing was too much trouble. I would certainly recommend the Bell Inn to anyone and wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Angela B from West Sussex

Shame, could be lovely but is definitely not

Posted Apr 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
Given the keys to Room 2, I opened door & was gutted as it was nothing like the rooms I saw in the photos. Where do I start - paper was torn/peeling from the walls, curtain rail coming away from the ceiling in the bathroom, a broken fitting on the bathroom wall, shower (if thats what you call it) no more than a trickle, room tired & very much in need of redecoration, carpet dirty, bed/bath rooms both in need of a good clean (putting a plug in the socket behind the bed we were worried what we might put our hands in, yuk!)....I took photos of the lot to remind me how awful it was. On the plus side the towels & bedding appeared nice & clean. Our room was above the bar & we could hear everything; until about 1am we suffered the noise of the pool table, the music & the banter of the 'merry' lads. I feel sure that the owners cannot expect a good review from anyone unfortunate enough to be given this room....they may say we should have voiced our disappointment at the time, I say they know what the room is like & shouldn't put anyone in there in the first place. Maybe there are better rooms - some of the reviews would suggest so - if you are considering staying then you would do well to check the room details before parting with your hard earned cash. The food was ok, nothing special, but not bad. Needless to say I will not be returning.