Ratings based on 38 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Texas

Management needs work but not bad

Posted Jul 9, 2014
I booked a room for two nights. When I got to the hotel they only had me staying one night. Fortunately they were able to honor my reservation. I was not made aware of a $107.31 authorization charge debitted from my bank account for having used my debit/mastercard to pay for the stay. That money is returned to your account anywhere from 3-30 days later depending on which bank you use. Had I been made aware of this at the time I would have used the atm machine and just paid in cash. The room was clean and comfortable. The pool was very well maintianed. My kids enjoyed swimming and the arcade. It would be nice if that area were more climate controlled but that is understandable due to the size of it. The free buffet breakfast was very good, service at the restaurant not so much. You have to wait to be seated. When we walked in the staff was nowhere in sight. Several families were waiting. Finally a waitress appeared. She asked how many in that party, lead them to a booth then returned to get the menus which were right beside her to begin with. The bus boy was having difficulty focusing his effort on the table he was cleaning and therefore was taking much longer than it should. Another waitress appeared and seated another family. There were several empty tables but for some reason the staff seemed to be concerned with using the same ones and were having to wait for them to be cleaned before they would seat the next group. They also disappeared in the back frequently.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Kansas City area

Nice, comfy room for a decent price

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Pros: Breakfast and available recreation and dining options.
Cons: It may be time to "buff up" the rooms. The room was very acceptable, but was starting to look a bit worn. It's not a big problem now.
Location: Dodge City is a small town, so all of the historic and touristy attractions are just minutes away.
The room is what you would expect fire the price: clean and comfortable with a great breakfast buffet prepared and served at the on-site restaurant. Although I wasn't traveling with family, my impression was that it's a wonderful place for families with kids because of all the recreation facilities right in the hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Forest Run

Never Again

Posted Jun 25, 2014
Pros: Bed was good. That was it.
Cons: Bulldoze.
I'm sure it was nice in the 60s. Enough said.............
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Alaska

A Great Place for Kids and Large Groups

Posted Jun 21, 2014
Pros: It felt like I was in old Dodge based on its western furnishings in the lobby
Cons: The breakfast buffet had a limited offering. Needs to have some fruit, bagels, muffins, etc.
Location: The location is right on the main drag.
This hotel has a huge indoor recreation area well suited for kids and large groups. Lots of seating. Our room was nicely furnished and clean. The view from our window was of a trailer and building materials but that aside everything was great. If you're in Dodge, this place fits the bill as it has a lot of nostalgia. A nice restaurant and lounge on site.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Albertfrom Tulsa, OK

Second Stay

Posted Jun 19, 2014
Pros: The atmosphere.
Cons: Put in an elevator. It's hard for seniors to carry their luggage up to a second floor.
Location: Toured downtown, the old district and went to the casino.
This was our second stay in less than 2 weeks. The staff is friendly and very helpful. I would stay again if I had to go to Dodge City again. The prices were reasonable. The only problem is no elevator.
3 out of 5
by Annfrom Iowa

Interesting Decor

Posted Jun 17, 2014
The staff at the hotel were great, the problem was the dated decor and the pool that was closed. The hotel is pretty clean and a good value though.
2 out of 5
by Jakefrom Pennsylvania

Stay Someplace Else

Posted Jun 15, 2014
Pros: People with active children will appreciate the facilities for basketball, swimming, etc. A late supper at the restaurant was tasty.
Cons: Improved sound dampeners (insulated curtains and doors) and cleaning of the air conditioning units would help.
I didn't expect anything fancy, based on previous reviews. I stayed two separate times. The first time things seemed adequate but noisy. The second time, it was very noisy, and when I turned on the air conditioner to try to mask the noise, I had to immediately turn it off due to the moldy stench coming from it. I promptly cancelled my third reservation.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Room was old and hadn't been updated for 30 years!

Posted May 30, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Disgusting, old and dirty! Terrible experience. Should have stayed at a newer hotel. This hotel should not have 4 stars.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by STEPHEN @ NANCYfrom KISSIMMEE, FL

nice hotel with all the info for local interest

Posted May 23, 2014
Pros: EVERYTHING
Cons: EVERYTHING GREAT
Location: ALL THE HISTORY OF DODGE IS CLOSE BY.
WE ENJOYED THE EXCELLANT FOOD.......GREAT STEAKS, GREAT TRIBUTE TO GUNSMOKE IN SEVERAL DISPLAYES. GREAT INDOOR POOL. VERY NICE ROOMS. GREAT BARGIN.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Billfrom Oakley,Ks.

Very nice hotel

Posted May 15, 2014
Pros: The room was clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful. They have a good restaurant on site and easy access to the highway.
Cons: I do not know what improvements would be feasible in an older hotel like this one. Overall very nice.
We were in town for a get away day and my wife's birthday. The hotel is a former Holiday Inn with the holidome still there.