Ratings based on 96 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SW Wisc

close to planned activities

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: location
Location: Dodgeville, WI. Cave of the Mounds, Taliesin and House on the Rock, Wisconsin Canoe/Kayak Co landing and many parks and/or camping activities.
We chose Motel 8 because of proximity to Spring Green and Kayaking activity. It was very clean, in mostly open seemingly non-commercial area to allow enjoyable and safe and enjoyable morning walk, but with many meal choices, gas station and Walgreens within walking distance, and then direct easy drive to our destination. Complimentary breakfast was quite nice--offering Belgian waffles, toast, cereals, etc. Only missing item was a fruit other than bananas. We were disappointed that a pool was not on premises, but teenagers enjoyed workout room as substitute. Very comfortable beds and plenty of towels.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Milwaukee, WI

Great value.

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Not the most updated hotel decor-wise but very clean, great mattresses, nice hot tub, good (and free) breakfast, and very nice staff. Couldn't have asked for a better hotel for the price!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Cons: An elevator would have made getting in and out of our 2nd story room. We will request the 1st floor next time.
We stayed one night to visit family in Highland. Except for not elevator, the hotel was comparable to some of the more expensive chains.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MN

Second time I have stayed here.

Posted Jun 27, 2014
Pros: I liked the sink being out in the bedroom area. The breakfast was better than most, but the room could use another table.
Location: We enjoyed the Minerals Museum.
It was quiet and comfortable. It took me a little time to figure out the remote on the tv but otherwise everything was great. .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Judy Frank from Skokie, IL

EVERYTHING WAS GOOD AT THE SUPER 8

Posted May 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
I thought it served our purpose well. Everything about the room, location, etc. was fine.
3 out of 5
by scott from illinois

GREAT LOCATION, LACKING AMENITIES

Posted May 20, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff, cleanliness.
Cons: Faster replacement of supplies at the breakfast service. A more interactive thermostat for the people staying in the room. Better mattresses.
Location: We went there specifically for the house on the rock, which was an IDEAL location for the hotel. Good stores and restaurants close by.
Great location close to attractions like house on the rock. Whirlpool was decently sized. The temperature settings we adjusted on the thermostat didn't have any bearing on the actual temperature, tried to make it cooler in the room and wound up sleeping uncomfortably all night due to heat and humidity. The place WAS quiet though, and the staff was quite friendly. Breakfast variety and quality was fair to good, but it took the staff too long to refill and replace empty items for example our coffee, yogurt, and oatmeal had run out and we had to wait at least 5 minutes for the staff to replace them. The coffee ran out twice.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Bob from Chicago

Good for Grilled Cheese Fest

Posted Apr 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
We attended the Grilled Cheese Fest in Dodgeville. The hotel was fine and the location was near Harris Park where the festival was held. It was a lot of fun.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Joyce from Michigan

The House on the Rock Vacation

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Pros: Close to activities
We were greeted by Theresa who was very infomative and friendly, the other front desk personal were also very friendly and happy to answer any questions we had. Our breakfast choices: cold cereal or oatmeal, fruit, juice, yogurt, make your own hot waffle, toast, pastries, coffee and tea - all self searve.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Weekend getaway

Posted Apr 15, 2014
I took my kids on a weekend away to The House on the Rock.This hotel was perfect.