Ratings based on 30 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by davefrom england

doha break

Posted Mar 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
lovely hotel,room could have been cleaner. great,helpful staff. lovely,varied breakfast. pool is very small.good location,building site across road may spoil sea view when built
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Feb 10, 2014
I had a sea-view room on the 9th floor and I can highly recommend this option. Views of Doha were great and this level seemed better maintained than the earlier room I had viewed which was a standard room. The location of the hotel is in easy walking distance of the souk, the corniche, the hop on, hop off bus, the Museum of Islamic Art and the Islamic Cultural Centre making it a great location for a all the major sights. Also only a 30 rial trip from the airport via taxi so all in all a good option as long as alcohol is not a priority in your travel plans.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel for flight stopover

Posted Jan 10, 2014
Pros: Location, Room rates,
Cons: Taxi booking with the hotel,
Location: Near souks and plenty of shops
Taxi from the airport set the meter, knew where the hotel was the security booth on the airport exit has CCTV and driver had to give his destination. Hotel location great, short walk to souk plenty of shops nearby. Room was very comfortable a/c a bit noisy but did the job. Wifi no problems. Check in very efficient and helped with luggage. The There is a problem with booking Hotel taxi, we booked the full day trip in the Limo service, the bell boy told us our taxi was waiting, directed us to a waiting taxi, the chap was a bit light on English and the taxi was not a Limo. We got in and 5 mins down the road the drivers changed, after a heated exchange we were taken back to the hotel where the Limo driver had been waiting 10 mins for us. The car was a Limo, drivers English was excellent and we enjoyed the trip. The driver asked if we needed a taxi for the airport we told him we had already booked with the hotel he was surprised as he was the hotels taxi service and had no early morning bookings for the next day. He took a note of our pick up time. Next morning we went to the desk for our taxi only to be told there was no taxi ordered fortunately at the same time the taxi driver came up to the desk for us, he confirmed with us that the hotel had not passed the booking on and it was only us telling him that he was there to pick us up. I can only assume that the staff are operating there own taxi service with another operator. Any comments welcome from the management
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent stay

Posted Dec 1, 2013
Pros: Clean hotel and the room even had a kitchenette - very convenient.
Location: Right in the city with lots to do in walking distance.
My stay was really good - if you need to be near the city and stay in a clean and nice hotel, this is the place for you.
2 out of 5
by Femalefrom Toronto

Dirty and surrounded by construction.

Posted Nov 4, 2013
Cons: Staff hospitality training. Interior cleanliness. Exterior cleanliness.
Location: About a 5 minute walk to the Souq if you can get past the dirt and garbage outside the front door.
Although close to Souq Waqif, the area around this hotel is filthy in part due to lack of maintenance but also due to the extensive construction. Breakfast was very poor in both selection and quality. Other meals ordered were also terrible. It was necessary to leave to hotel to find something appropriate to eat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Carriefrom Atlanta, Ga USA

Great hotel close to the souks and the corniche

Posted Nov 4, 2013
I had a fantastic experience at Kingsgate Hotel! The room was very nice and clean. The hotels location was central to a lot of the nice places to walk to for entertainment. Though the size of the bed was smaller than anticipated it was comfortable and the hotels staff more than made this stay worth my time and money. The staff is excellent! They treated me in such a wonderful way that I know I will return to stay there again when I'm back in Doha!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Victorfrom Chicago

Nice clean hotel for a good price.

Posted Nov 1, 2013
Pros: Cleanliness and updated d├ęcor.
Cons: Hotel staff is not too warm and friendly. The front desk staff couldn't even tell me the correct hours the restaurant was open for lunch.
Location: Location is not the greatest. It does not appear that there is much near the hotel. Lots of day laborers loiter around the entrance to the hotel.
For the price of a room at the Kingsgate, the hotel is a bargain. The rooms are exceptionally clean and modern. The bathroom is spotlessly clean as well. The beds are very comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by WILLIAMfrom DOHA

ITS ALWAYS GOOD

Posted Oct 18, 2013
Pros: PRIVACY
Cons: NOTHING
Location: SOUQ
GOOD
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by SJfrom UK

Excellent housekeeping

Posted Sep 14, 2013
Pros: Quick check-in, execellent staff, very accomodating. Hotel is very clean, location is good, souks, mosque and shops very close by.
Cons: Only problem is didn't have car parking spaces; at time very difficult to find a space. Another problem was that there was no ramp as we have a baby i
Location: Souks, mosque and shops close by. Exchange just around the corner from the hotel. Taxi's easily available in this area.
Excellent experience. Housekeeping very good, especially Kala and Shambu were very helpful. Would definitely stay here again. Excellent sea views from the hotel, could see the West Bay Skyline. Overall very beautiful experience.