Ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by shelley from ontario

easy to find, right on side of hwy.

Posted Apr 30, 2014
nice view from pool, easy walks to north entrance and south entrance to playa tortuga, go once tide is out to walk the loop, and to go in the caves at north side. good breakie in morning, drive north up hwy, restaurant beside the gas station! ask for the hawaiian salad, not on menu.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tiffiany from Denver, CO

Great To Stay Place for Value and Ease

Posted Apr 27, 2014
Pros: No televisions, no telephones, no AC -- great way to feel closer to nature but still have a hot shower and clean sheets.
Location: The Oso Peninsula is amazing. Pristine beaches, national parks and amazing wild life.
This hotel is a great place to stay for families. We heard monkeys in the trees outside our villa every morning, and with a rental car you can easily and quickly explore everything that Southern Costa Rica has to offer. It was a very friendly, quite place (except some noise from the road). It is not a five star hotel, but it is a great, clean place for the value especially if you want a more eco-friendly option. They had recycling onsite, solar heating for showers (never had any issues with hot water), full service restaurant, friendly staff, opportunity to book excursions and a naturalist. I would (and already have) recommend this place to family and friends.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oakland, ca

A lovely first night in Costa Rica

Posted Apr 19, 2014
We booked this on no recommendations as we had very few choices of available rooms. It was so much more than expected. Very friendly staff, large charming rooms, lovely pool and the best hang out room with a view. Dinner and the included breakfast were the perfect intro to cr cuisine. For the price, I couldn't ask for more.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great food

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Pros: restaurant, staff, pool
Cons: bedding
excellent restaurant, pool and grounds. staff were wonderful. A little oud with road traffic and rooms were comfortable and large but a little tired.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Love2Travel from Atlanta, GA

Great Rooms & Scenery, Bad Service

Posted Mar 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
Pros: Beautiful scenery, nice outside decks with every room, nice pool, loved the wildlife that roamed freely around the resort (geckos, iguanas, lizards, even saw a group of white faced monkeys playing in the trees outside of our bungalow one morning) Cons: hotel service is not very good, staff is friendly but not helpful.. I tried 3 days in a row to book activities with them and they just brushed it off and said they would call and set it up but never did.. We ended up having to plan activities with Marvin down the road at Cabinas Hidalgos (great guy btw).. Also hotel restaurant is expensive and inconsistent. . Ordered the same dish twice during our stay, the first time it was great, the second time it was terrible and they refuse to do anything about it or take it off the bill even though I sent the food back and did not eat it (very rare because I have a healthy appetite and eat almost anything).. The same night we saw another couple both order what looked like lasagne, they tasted it and got up and left the plates.. My friend had the same experience with something she ordered after trying mine the night before.. it wasn't good, completely different even though they say it was the same chef, and they still refused to do anything about it.. We heard a lady complain about the service the first day we arrived, and at the time we didn't understand why because the staff comes off as friendly, but a couple days into our stay we understood why completely.. Much better food and prices down the road at La Costa restaurant (also Marvin's spot)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by dw from ca

southern costa rica

Posted Jan 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
really charming cabins in an amazing setting on the way to our cabin you could smell the ylang ylang. the cabins are very basic with poor lighting and it could use a fan although it had an air-conditioner we prefer not to use it and its not on our list of must haves just so you know they had no tv, hair dryer or iron in the rooms but they did have wi fi which is a must have. easy to find right off the road but once again you cannot go by hotels.com map or address it was much further south than we expected which worked out great for us since we were headed to paso canoas to cross over to panama. food was good in the open air resuraunt service was friendly and good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler from Montreal, Qc

Good rustic place to stay.

Posted Jan 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
Not fancy, but clean and good breakfast. Friendly staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by ella from Montreal

it is rated 3 stars, i give it 4.5 stars

Posted Jan 15, 2014
The only issue was the noise from the road beside. But it was so beautiful and nice that we could simply ignore it. For this 3 stars hotel, my family truely loved it. If you will be around there, go and enjoy it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Virginia

pleasant stay

Posted Aug 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
We had a wonderful stay at this hotel. They keep it clean and the surrounding gardens and vegetation is beautiful. The restaurant although pricey is very good. You have to have your own vehicle to stay here as there is nothing nearby.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by MacKenzie from Davis, CA

Pura Vida

Posted Jul 21, 2013 on Hotels.com
Our stay was amazing. The staff at Villas Gaia are so friendly and accommodating. They're entire goal is to make your stay perfect. The wait staff in the restaurant were so observant that they remembered what we ordered and provided items not usually available. The grounds staff are knowledgeable about the entire property and surrounding area. This was a wonderful adventure! Villas Gaia is a perfect example of Pura Vida!