Ratings based on 21 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Debbie from Houston, TX

Wonderful views and staff.

Posted Mar 21, 2014
Pros: The views and the staff.
Cons: I would add some daily specials to the menu.
Location: There is wonderful surfing, restaurants, hiking and wildlife watching.
This was our first time to the area of Dominical and found this hotel on line. We were so excited when we woke up to the wonderful views that this hotel has. The hospitality was awesome and I would highly recommend this hotel. Tom and his staff went out of their way to treat us as if we were friends and at a home instead of a hotel. We will definitely return!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Fran from California

Posted Dec 11, 2013 on Hotels.com
Wonderful host (owner). We felt very welcome and had great food and service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gary from Texas

Fantastic View of the Pacific

Posted Nov 16, 2013
Pros: The view was fantastic. The staff was accommodating. The room was clean and comfortable.
Cons: There is a sign at the entrance for the road, but there should be a billboard type sign along the way.
Location: The location allows access to Osa and Manuel Antonio and there are numerous small towns nearby. The beaches are small and few are accessible.
The hotel sits on a mountain and is run by an American couple who go out of their way to make sure that everyone has a great experience. It was raining when we arrived and the owner gave us an umbrella and took us to our room. The room was indeed roomy with more space I have ever seen. All rooms have a view of the ocean and a porch with two rockers. While we were sitting on the porch, the owner brought us smoothies and welcomed us. The road up the mountain is a little steep and rough but worth the trip.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Million Dollar View but Disappointing Facilities

Posted Oct 28, 2013
Pros: The View.
The view is fantastic but the hotel leaves much to be desired. Villas Alturas is more a vacation home than a hotel although the refrigerator was broken and there were no pans. The hotel is up a steep hill so you need a four wheel drive vehicle. A taxi to a nearby restaurant is $16 one way. Although breakfast is served there is no restaurant. The water in the pool was turning green and you couldn't see the pool bottom.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 17, 2014
Hello, we are the new owners, taking over in early October, and have been busy doing major upgrades and updates. We have completely retiled the pool adding a mosaic whale's tail, just finished replacing all roofs, all linens, new dinnerware, coffeemakers, and many other upgrades. All villas are being painted and all appliances have been serviced or replaced. We have hired a full time chef and have been serving breakfast and dinner. We will soon be open to the public with fine dining available for all. The view remains amazing. We hope you will come back and see all the improvements. Regards, Tom and Ivette
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Agnes and Wit

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Phil from Caversham, Reading, UK

great hotel for a couple

Posted Aug 14, 2013
Pros: Food - cooking was excellent
Cons: A group of rowdy guests
Location: Beautiful location with magnificent views
Lovely hotel with helpful staff and excellent food
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jasmom from Calgary, AB, Canada

Best stay in Dominical!!!

Posted May 29, 2013
Pros: The view!!
Cons: Was a bit tricky finding it.
Location: Up a steep, bumpy hill. But that's the area, it's all like that own south.
Very nice hotel. Beautiful, beautiful, views!!!! It was quiet, romantic, clean and well maintained. Breakfast was delicious. The pool, lobby and restaurant was beautifully decorated. Staff was so friendly and helpful can't say enough good things about this place and we stayed a few different places on this trip. Be sure to have a 4\4 because you have to climb up a bumpy road to the hotel, but worth the trek. Dominical beach 5 minutes away with really yummy food and a beautiful secluded beach. Loved this place and will return some day!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Eric

Paradise.

Posted Mar 7, 2013
Excellent service, super friendly and helpful. The views are absolutely stunning, and the villas are quite spacious. Just make sure you have a 4-wheel drive to navigate the .5 km driveway - very steep and rocky.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Worth the steep bumpy drive!

Posted Jan 28, 2013
This hotel is up a steep narrow bumpy road, but the ride is worth the effort once you arrive at Villas Alturas. Cindy and David greeted us with big smiles after we had had a long long drive. Our condo, #3, had the most stunning panoramic view of the Pacific and we loved the large porch with hammock and two rocking chairs. Listening to birds, cicadas and monkeys was amazing. The pool was open 24/7 and we loved our very late night dips to cool off before bed. The ambience is very laid back and relaxing. If we had one criticism, it would be that the complimentary breakfasts could have been a little more creative and "typical" of Costa Rica. ..one morning we had "eggs in a frame", which weren't very good. We were sorry to miss one of David's special weekly dinners. That said, we would definitely come back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Porto Alegre - Rio Grande do Sul, Brazil

Great time!

Posted Jan 21, 2013
Cons: The only thing we missed was a little mattress and sheets for the "pack-and-play" crib.
Great location, great people. We had a wonderful time and everyone helped us in every way they could. We would certainly recommend the hotel.