Ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 7, 2015
Awesome place to stay! My family and I wished we had stayed longer. Great views, great staff, and great food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Calabasas

Best view in the South Pacific side of Costa Rica!

Posted Jan 8, 2015
Love the place, very beautiful and relaxing. Friendly staff and yummy food. Spectacular view!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Rexfrom Las Vegas

I found heaven

Posted Jan 4, 2015 on Hotels.com
My family of five spent three nights in December. It was one of our favorite places and we've traveled extensively. We were greeted with cold coconuts with a straw in them to drink their water. We enjoyed the service. Lucas, Gabriella, and the rest were all very helpful. The chef made us a special order pizza one evening which was incredible. But most of all, it was the location. Nestled in the trees where we saw toucans, parrots, and other birds (they have spotting scopes to use) all at the same time seeing the beautiful ocean below. We will be back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Debbiefrom Houston, TX

Wonderful views and staff.

Posted Mar 21, 2014
Pros: The views and the staff.
Cons: I would add some daily specials to the menu.
Location: There is wonderful surfing, restaurants, hiking and wildlife watching.
This was our first time to the area of Dominical and found this hotel on line. We were so excited when we woke up to the wonderful views that this hotel has. The hospitality was awesome and I would highly recommend this hotel. Tom and his staff went out of their way to treat us as if we were friends and at a home instead of a hotel. We will definitely return!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Dunn'sfrom Saskatoon

Our stay at Villas Alturas, Costa Rica

Posted Feb 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
We really enjoyed this resort! The panoramic view of the ocean is stunning from the pool area, but unfortunately the view from our villa was quite obstructed by trees. Our air conditioner stopped working the last night but the management tried to make as comfortable with a large fan as then did not charge us for our deck charges (snacks and some drinks) to help compensate. The service was excellent, the food was great and we know that we will definitely come back to stay here on our next vacation to Costa Rica!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Franfrom California

Posted Dec 11, 2013 on Hotels.com
Wonderful host (owner). We felt very welcome and had great food and service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Garyfrom Texas

Fantastic View of the Pacific

Posted Nov 16, 2013
Pros: The view was fantastic. The staff was accommodating. The room was clean and comfortable.
Cons: There is a sign at the entrance for the road, but there should be a billboard type sign along the way.
Location: The location allows access to Osa and Manuel Antonio and there are numerous small towns nearby. The beaches are small and few are accessible.
The hotel sits on a mountain and is run by an American couple who go out of their way to make sure that everyone has a great experience. It was raining when we arrived and the owner gave us an umbrella and took us to our room. The room was indeed roomy with more space I have ever seen. All rooms have a view of the ocean and a porch with two rockers. While we were sitting on the porch, the owner brought us smoothies and welcomed us. The road up the mountain is a little steep and rough but worth the trip.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Million Dollar View but Disappointing Facilities

Posted Oct 28, 2013
Pros: The View.
The view is fantastic but the hotel leaves much to be desired. Villas Alturas is more a vacation home than a hotel although the refrigerator was broken and there were no pans. The hotel is up a steep hill so you need a four wheel drive vehicle. A taxi to a nearby restaurant is $16 one way. Although breakfast is served there is no restaurant. The water in the pool was turning green and you couldn't see the pool bottom.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 17, 2014 by Tom and Ivette, Hotel Management
Hello, we are the new owners, taking over in early October, and have been busy doing major upgrades and updates. We have completely retiled the pool adding a mosaic whale's tail, just finished replacing all roofs, all linens, new dinnerware, coffeemakers, and many other upgrades. All villas are being painted and all appliances have been serviced or replaced. We have hired a full time chef and have been serving breakfast and dinner. We will soon be open to the public with fine dining available for all. The view remains amazing. We hope you will come back and see all the improvements. Regards, Tom and Ivette
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Agnes and Wit

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 23, 2013 on Hotels.com