Ratings based on 33 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 8, 2013
Pros: It was clean, and the grounds are very nice. The staff were very friendly.
Cons: The mattresses aren't that comfortable, and the pool could have used a cleaning.
Nice place to stay if you want to be out of the central part of Dominical. It is about 15 minutes to walk to the restaurants, beach, etc down a dirt road. At night, there are no lights at all, so if youre going to be doing some walking back and forth bring a flashlight. Overall it is a nice place to stay if you are looking to relax in and outside of your hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by 2 Missouri Travelers from Missouri

At last! Costa Rican hospitality.

Posted Oct 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
We had been in CR for 10 days and visited three resorts before we arrived at Villa Rio Mar. It was not until then that we experienced the much touted "Costa Rican friendliness". We were beginning to doubt all the hype but, from the moment we got out of our car until the moment we pulled out of the parking lot two days later we felt welcomed and treasured. Estella greeted us as if she was actually glad we had come - unlike other resorts we had visited. She talked to us and not at us and was proactive in her service. The entire staff went out of their way to please us. Not even a steady downpour could dampen the mood. We donned our ponchos and walked to the restaurant where we enjoyed the bar, the outstanding food and, most of all, the service. On our last morning we were having coffee on the porch when we were greeted by half a dozen toucans not more than 75 ft. from us. As Estella made her way around the restaurant to check on "her guests" we shared our siting and she celebrated our luck. It was more than hospitality, it was friendship. We were sorry to leave and, had we not already paid for lodging up the coast, we would still be there in that little eco-paradise. It may not be for everyone as it is just as it is advertised - an eco-friendly resort. You may encounter a miliped or cricket in your bungalow. The big resorts could take some lessons from these SMILING hospitality professionals. We hope we get the chance to go back! It was very private and relaxing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by gary from costa rica

nicely laid out and designed hotel..

Posted Oct 23, 2013
Pros: landscaping,, room design,,and location near the river
Cons: small thing,, beds noisy ..
Location: beaches and national parks
enjoyed my room and was pleased with location and design and friendly staff.. it is obvious that a lot of personal planning was put into the gardens and layout of the hotel..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 19, 2013
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Max from Madison, WI.

Nice hotel close to the beach and small stores.

Posted Sep 2, 2013
Pros: I liked the natural nature environment.
Cons: Nothing
Location: You are close to all of the different activities which are provided in the general area.
I enjoyed my stay very much. Everything was very natural. The hotel common area and the rooms provided you with a natural nature environment at its best.The rooms are partially open to the outside which was very nice.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by clauds from Costa Rica

nice in the area

Posted Aug 18, 2013
Pros: food was good
Cons: Wasnt happy about not having a descent long mirror there.
Location: location is really nice
Average hotel, but the area does not have much better options,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by sandy from florida

close to alot

Posted Jul 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
the villas were beautiful, quite and peaceful. didn't like the road getting there.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Enis from Toronto, Canada

Breakfast was good

Posted Jul 14, 2013 on Hotels.com
We found the room was moldy and was surprised that the room did not have a TV or air-conditioner. We believe a TV and air-conditioner should be standard in all rooms. We did, however, enjoy the breakfast!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Vikki from San Clemente, CA

Family friendly!!

Posted Jul 13, 2013
Pros: Clean private room, high pressure warm shower, beautiful grounds, AC and pool
Cons: Add some directions to your website
Location: This hotel was close to Dominical shops...a little bit of a walk along the road next to the river to get to the main action in Dominical.
Great for families and couples too! Widely spaced cabanas among beautifully landscaped and well maintained grounds. We were greeted with some mango shakes. We traveled with our 8 and 10 year old boys who loved the big pool. The food was good and a decent price. Our son especially loved the shower with it's jets and different shower heads! The room was quiet with a nice mosquito netted patio that was very comfortable to sit in. It had AC and a small refrigerator...would definitely visit this place again. WiFi works in main reception areas and is hit and miss with the rooms (especially with the rains). It was a trick to find..keep to road closest to river and you'll get there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by JamLion from Kelowna, BC, Canada

Pretty Grounds, Cute Rooms

Posted Jun 8, 2013
Pros: Pool area and the grounds.
Cons: Bed comfort
Location: About a 15 minute walk to town along the river.
We stayed here one night. The hotel grounds were gorgeous with lots of wildlife ie. birds and lizards and were a bit of a maze. The pool area was beautiful and the rooms were very pretty. Each little room had a private balcony with netting around so you could kind of seclude yourself if you wanted. Our room was very plain but was good enough for the night. It is a bit of a walk to town so if you dont have a vehicle, renting a bike or something would be a good idea.