Ratings based on 33 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful, helpful staff with excellent restaurant

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Pros: beautiful grounds, wonderful & helpful staff, excellent restaurant
This was our favorite place we stayed at during our 10 day trip to Costa Rica. The staff was so friendly and helpful. The grounds are lush and well-maintained with many birds. butterflies and iguanas. My two boys loved the pool which was lit with coloful lights in the evening. There is a full bar and, we normally like to venture out and eat somewhere other than our hotel, but the service was so great and the food so delicious the first night, we ended up eating in the restaurant all 3 nights. It is a 30 minute drive to Manuel Antonio Park, but there are other beaches closer to the hotel. We didn't spend much time at the beach because too much rain made the water very cloudy. If you like horseback riding, don't miss the horse trip to the Nayuca Waterfalls (the hotel can arrange it for you) - one of the most memorable experiences of our entire trip, the guides were fantastic and the horses beautiful and sure-footed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by sergei

location and hotel are great, but there were probl

Posted Mar 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
everything was fine, but like in many other expensive hotels in the area airconditioning unit was 'smelly' and also bathroom had smell
5 out of 5
Recommended
by k gaskill

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel.

Posted Feb 5, 2014
Pros: The grounds were beautiful. Villas were 4 units to a building. Quiet.
Cons: The road to the villa!!!!!!
Nice size room. Beautiful, spacious grounds. Terrible road to get to the villa. 500-800 km of hard rocky road. While it was a pretty standard non-paved road, it made it undesirable for going off sight-seeing and returning to the hotel. For that reason, we were glad that it was only a one night stop.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Andrew from california

beautiful but pricey

Posted Dec 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
pros- really nice and helpful staff, beautiful grounds, good foods, and all the amenities. cons- wifi is limited to hotel lobby, double occupancy room was very small(id say it was 120 square feet tops), no tv, the shower smelled like sewage, the food was all marked up id say 25% conservatively. its also quite a distance to the beach. surfers or beach lovers without a car stay elsewhere.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by nwgypsy from Seattle

Excellent choice in Dominical

Posted Dec 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
This hotel is a very comfortable choice that has a great location by the river in Dominical. If you don't have a car it is a 5 minute walk to town, and it is not right on the beach, but it is very quiet which is a real plus. Nice pool area, restaurant is a little pricey, but the food is good and it is open almost all day, which is unusual in Costa Rica. Nice staff. I was going to stay two days, ended up staying four. What else can you say? A very good choice if you are staying in Dominical. Only other place that would compete is Costa Paraiso, which is also very nice but a bit more expensive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gloria from WYOMING

Well Appointed Hotel Close to Beach and Shopping

Posted Dec 2, 2013
Pros: Quiet, quaint, well appointed, great food and service
Location: Without a GPS it would have been difficult to find the Hotel. Perhaps additional signs along the road.
Everyone on staff at the Hotel was extremely helpful, polite, well mannered and went out of their way to make sure everything was First Class.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Native New York from New York, Queens

Best hotel in the area

Posted Nov 30, 2013
I did my homework before picking this hotel and it paid off. It is located in the forest with just a 15minute walk to the beach. There is not much to the town but if your looking to get away from the craziness of the city life then this is the right spot. As to the hotel it had all the comforts one could dream of. From its Hugh pool to its excellent restaurant. No regards.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mart from Sarasota FL USA

Perfect spot.

Posted Nov 11, 2013
If you are looking for a relaxing stay in a laid back area, you can't go wrong with Villas Rio Mar. Impeccably groomed grounds, peaceful, great food, smiling and friendly service, and all at budget friendly prices. Thanks to all at Villas Rio Mar. We hope to see you again before long! Mart & Jill Solu