Ratings based on 218 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Location was good, close to both town and beach

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: Breakfast was ok. Room wasn't too small. There was a bath. Pretty much what I'd expected.
Location: Pub called Inferno nearby has really good, sensibly priced food. Try the burger and sweet potato fries. Avoid the nearby slummy karaoke pub.
Location was good, close to both town and beach and to my conference venue.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location, close to centre & beside East Cliff

Posted Jul 5, 2014
Pros: Car parking on site, valuable from a security perspective. Quite location with lively action down town if you want it.Plenty of down town restauraunts
Cons: Very small lift/ elevator can be a challenge. Control for shower unit in bathroom was a mystery in itself.
Location: Already covered & commented upon.
Staff, from reception to management, extremely helpful. Good value breakfast. Clean room.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, friendly staff but no Wifi in room

Posted Jul 3, 2014
I had a small double room which was lovely, clean and ideal just for me. Nicely furnished and cleaned each day. However I booked this hotel for work purposes and Wifi was important, I could not get wifi in my room for the whole 3 day stay, I could get it downstairs in reception so wasn't a problem with my eqipment.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chris from Burton on Trent

Nice well managed hotel.

Posted Jun 25, 2014
Pros: Although being a very old hotel it is well maintained, decoration of a good standard and above all very clean.
Cons: The lift only holds a maximum of 2 persons, so a larger lift would be better for the size of the hotel.
Location: Although not immediately on the seafront it is only a short walk away and in a nice area, with shops, bars and restaurants nearby.
Found all staff to be both friendly and helpful throughout our stay, hotel is spacious with good facilities including a swimming pool. Housekeeping of this hotel really impressed me, the cleaning of all area's was excellent, well done Head Housekeeper and team. Service and breakfast in dining room was also of a very good standard. Overall I feel it is a very well managed hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tina from Epsom

Friendly and helpful staff

Posted Jun 22, 2014
Pros: Situation close to the front and the excellent staff
Cons: As mentioned maybe a fan in the room when it is hot in the summer and a mini fridge would have been gooe
Location: Close to the front just 5 mins walk, also fairly close to the main train station, plenty of buses if you don't want to use the car
In my opinion this hotel is good value for money, rooms were clean, beds were comfortable, could have done with a fan in our room as it was quite hot in the evening as it faced the west, and maybe a mini fridge but overall very good. Breakfast good, didn't eat in the restaurant of an evening so cant comment. The staff at this hotel were excellent, very helpful and friendly, and that goes for all the staff, from the front desk, the breakfast staff who were very efficient, to the chambermaids who cleaned the rooms, in my opinion this is very important and more than makes up for any little problems with certain lack of amenities in the room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by John from Olney

Brilliant value.

Posted Jun 19, 2014
Pros: Everything. It would appear that the owners must have a strict timetable for re-decoration to keep it in immaculate condition.
Cons: It's fine just as it is.
Location: On-site parking for two pounds per day gives an opportunity to walk into Boscombe or Bournemouth in only 15-20 minutes.
I've stayed in hotels that cost two or even three times as much for a room as we were charged at the Hotel Royale. They could learn a few things from this friendly, efficient, spotlessly clean hotel. Brilliant value. The restaurant too comes in for praise. Their fish special dinners at additional cost of a supplement, even if a little expensive (but still excellent value for money), are very tasty. Makes a change to be able to taste the various items served on the plate (once you've spoilt the 100% presentation!) instead of the normal tasteless dishes served up in an overpowering sauce.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Would stay again!

Posted May 10, 2014
Close to the town, bars and pubs, 10 min walk to the beach, brilliant rooms, breakfast well worth it, bar is nice and lots of seating too, staff very helpful and friendly, only downside is the swimming pool, it's good but needs something else i.e jacuzzi/steam room... overall we had a great stay,
2 out of 5
by Emily from Nottingham

Reasonable.

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Upon arriving we were greater with tight car parking spaces but friendly receptionist. The lift was tiny, suited for two people with overnight bags but not any more or suitcases. The room was ok, but only provided 1 hand and 1 bath towel for 2 people. The floor boards in the corridor outside squeaked endlessly all night, and for a time so did hours and the occupants in the room above us. Overall, reasonable for one night at under £40 including £2 parking.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Emily from Cambridgeshire

Lovely little hotel

Posted Feb 26, 2014
Pros: Everything, we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.
Location: Not far from the beach which is great, although the hotel has a pool.
Found this hotel for a night away at an amazing price considering where it's located. The room was small, but had a fabulous bathroom which made up for it. The lady at the front desk when we arrived was charming, and created a brilliant start to our short break away, she even made sure to give us a call half an hour later to check everything was OK in our room. The restaurant, wow. That was in a world of it's own. The food was phenomenal!
3 out of 5
by Thomas from Geneva

Very small room and small bed

Posted Feb 23, 2014
Pros: Breakfast Wifi
Cons: The size of the bed (length) just big enough to accomodate a 182cm guy like me.
Location: Close to the city center and the train station. Didn't have time to go out at night.
I was given a small room with a 1-person bed just long enough for me not to go over it if I laid in diagonal. Wi-fi was working properly with a password to collect at the reception. Good point. Breakfast was good and I would say it was a standard english breakfast (eggs, beans, sausages).