Ratings based on 364 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from west bromwich

You get what you pay for

Posted Aug 28, 2014
The room wasn't set up for the amount of people we booked for. It took about half hr to set up. There was 5 of us and the room was set up for 3ppl. The reception and bar area was nice but the rest of the hotel was a bit of a Mish mash. Some of it can I understand as they were renovating but others were around cleanliness and bad decor. Overall it wasn't as bad and swimming facility was a good bonus, for a cheap budget for a family it does the job as we spent a little bit of time in the room itself
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not good value - a poor experience for the money

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Pros: Most of the staff were friendly and helpful.
Cons: The hote was dirty and the communal areas need renovation. The checkout time is too early.
I stayed here for a two-day weekend break. On arrival the receptionist was unwelcoming, which was not a good start. The communal areas in the hotel are worn and dirty and in need of renovation. The room was acceptable and the bed comfortable. However the bathroom was very unsatisfactory. The floor, walls and shower curtain were dirty, with mould and peeling paint in various places. The shower did not work correctly, with the water alternating between freezing cold and scalding hot, with no effective way to control it. This is not acceptable for the price I paid for the room, which was not cheap. My biggest complaint, however, is the checkout policy. The checkout time is 10am, unlike the standard time of 11am at most hotels. On a weekend break, especially after returning late from a night out, it's not good at all to have such an early checkout. The reason for the 10am deadline is that the hotel charges £10 per hour for late checkouts. So the artificially early checkout of 10am is simply a way to increase the room rate. Not acceptable! I have to say that even the reception staff were embarrased by the hotel checkout policy. On the positive side, the staff were friendly and helpful (apart from the receptionist on the first night).
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not great experience.

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Pros: NOTHING
Cons: Every thing
Location: Bad
Bad.hotel needs to be refurbished. Wifi was disabled before check. Very uncomfortable with builders al Over the place
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Midlands, UK

Nice and not far bus stop

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: The location of this hotel.
Cons: Better staff training.
Location: The location is okay for a short holiday stay.
Satisfactory choice of menu. Good service and reasonably helpful staff.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ashby-de-la-zouch

Awful tired hotel

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Pros: Nothing !
Cons: Knock it down and start again , seriously .
Location: Your not close enough to the beach especially if you have young kids, or the city centre so you'll be using your car and paying extortionate car park
From a nightmare check in , to my kids being told the pool is out of action , awful tired room , hotel is full of workmen but don't get your hopes up , food left out on the stair well for days causing a stink, nowhere to park because of all the work vans and skips etc, it's not close to beach or centre so you'll be using your car all the time. The sofas in the bar are that worn the wooden frames are showing , you find better in a rubbish tip, why not just throw them out ???
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Everything ok, hotel close to the beach

Posted Aug 8, 2014
Pros: Staff was friendly.
Cons: In room was very hot..
Room can be more clean and tidy, was very dusty.. Bathroom not good clean, dirty towels.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London.

Worse hotel stay ever

Posted Aug 5, 2014
This was the worst hotel stay I've ever had. It started by being given a room key which was to a room which was already occupied. Luckily someone wasn't getting changed. After this the room had dirty cups, no tea and coffee, no toilet roll, no lightbulb in the toilet and the tv was hanging off the wall. When I complained I was told I shouldn't have been given the room but also told that no other rooms were available as they were fully booked. I'd phone the day before to warn them that my arrival wouldn't be until 9pm. After this the room was cleaned and rectified but I still found a hair clip on the floor and cigarette ash down the side of the bed and the room was non-smoking. Never again will I stay in a Britannia Hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Staff have poor attitude

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Booked for 2 adults and 2 children. On check in I was told I booked a double and a single bed. Had to argue for another single bed. Staff ignore you in restaurant even when you call. Phone at reception sometimes goes unanswered. Will never set foot again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Surrey

Adequate, three star at best

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: I liked the fact that it has an indoor pool, though we didn't get time to use it.
Cons: Make the room doors easier to close quietly. Refurbish the worn out bathrooms and provide better towels.
Location: The location was a bit away from the town, which suited us as it was quite quiet, but very easy access by bus. There was lots going on in town.
Staff at check-in were not very welcoming, morning staff were more friendly. The room was rather small and the bathroom facilities were on their last legs. The initial page of info from Expedia said free wi-fi and free breakfast. Further in the booking process wi-fi became subject to surcharge. Actually, breakfast was not included but wi-fi was freely available. The room was very hot and the windows could not be opened more than a tiny amount, so the fan was necessary for sleeping but too noisy for comfort. It would be very nice to have a small fridge. However, the bed was very comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wales

Hotel is nice ignore bad reviews

Posted Jul 14, 2014
The hotel is in the middle of renovation but despite this we had a nice stay, our room was lovely and large, pool was lovely and oh soooo warm, breakfast was really nice and plenty to choose from.