Ratings based on 79 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rutland

Lovely welcoming hotel

Posted Jul 14, 2014
We only stayed for one night but will without a doubt return. Staff were very polite and friendly. The room was just right, the bed was comfortable. Breakfast was lovely, a selection of juices and cereals plus full English amongst other options. Excellent value for money. We didn't eat evening meal there but the food smelt divine. The hotel was overall excellently presented and located. We would recommend to others and would love to return ourselves.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pub Inn like the old days but with modern comforts

Posted Jun 23, 2014
This friendly Inn catered well to our needs. We stayed with two children and got served breakfast even though we missed it! (Got up late). Only complaint is that the heating on the bathroom rad was on full blast in mid-June - odd.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasant time

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Found the hotel to be comfortable,good breakfast and friendly staff. Easy access to the town with buses. Safe parking
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from isle of wight

good food close to town etc

Posted May 26, 2014
very pleased with clean room only problem was people in nxt room 14 kept us awake most of the night but this was not the inns fault.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

OVERNITE STAY

Posted May 23, 2014
Pros: breakfast was ok!!
Cons: very old hotel and am not sure if that's 3*!! very outdated! next to very busy junction and traffic was awful!! window view was flatroof for something
Location: location was idyll which was why I chose this hotel! But is a pub, there was no mention of it being a pub!! shocking
I would most certainly not be going back to that hotel!! photo's are very misleading!! was very surprised at the sight of the shower cubicle, I banged my arms abt 3 times! no where to put the shower cream which made it even worse because everytime I went to pick it up I knocked the surround!! not impressed!!! THANK GOD IT WAS ONLY ONE NIGHT!!! VERY VERY OLD DECOR!! EMBARASSING!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by TERESA from ESSEX

USED HOTEL ONE NIGHT BEFORE DRIVING TO SOUTHAMPTON

Posted May 6, 2014
Pros: FRIENDLY STAFF, GOOD LOCATION, FOOD GREAT.
LOVELY CLEAN ROOM FRIENDLY STAFF, REASONABLE PRICE, FOOD VERY NICE, BREAKFAST GREAT. GOOD AREA, SHORT DRIVE TO BEACH. NEAR TOWN CENTRE ALSO
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Des from Gosport

Overnight stay.

Posted Apr 28, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff and clean environment.
Location: Easy to access location, 15 - 20 minute walk to the town centre and beach.
My wife and I explored the town centre, gardens and the West Cliff beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Ideal stay after ferry

Posted Apr 17, 2014
Enjoyable breakfast, especially poached eggs cooked to perfection. Room a tad basic, ensuite small.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great for an overnight stay

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: Friendly, convenient for the town/ beach, reasonable price.
Cons: Bathrooms a bit tired, showers far to weak. No hair dryer in room. No lift,
Location: Close to main town/seafront
I only needed a room for one night. The hotel was great for just that. Very clean, the staff were friendly and happy to help with a take away breakfast as we were checking out earlier than the 9-10 Sunday breakfast. The restaurant had a good selection of food for our evening meal. Although we were staying in a pub there was not any disturbance from the patrons. We could walk to the seafront in approx 20 mins, uphill on the way back though! Good parking. Excellent wifi .
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sue and Mike from Somerset

Started well great hotel but went downhill

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: Breakfast very good
Hotel clean and pleasant with nice helpful staff. Breakfast really good, bedroom small but comfortable ,TV a bit too small and not in a very good position. Friday night very good but returning on Saturday, very tired after a long day out there was live music that was really loud and felt as if the band were in our bedroom with us. After they finished at 11.30 ish the background music was still too loud. After losing the hour (end of March) fianlly got to sleep after 1.00 a.m. to be woken by very noisy residents returning to the hotel at 4.00 a.m. and then same thing again at 5.00 a.m. We had thought we had found a little gem but we should have been told about the music when booking so we could have made our decision about staying. Probably would stay again but not at the weekend we feel that it was not unreasonable to have expected the music to finish at 11.00p.m.