Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by danny from swindon

Review

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Had a lovely stay at this hotel with partner and 14 month old. However only issues we had was that there was an iron on site but we we're not able to use it our whole stay. Also there was no air con so it was very hot and stuffy so out daughter hardly slept the whole weekend. As for cleanliness and hotel staff they we're polite and to a top standard. The breakfast was also lovely.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by H Sandy from London

Comfortable hotel, great location!

Posted Jun 14, 2014
We recently stayed for 1 night at this hotel. On first impressions the back of the hotel looked very dated and in need of some DIY and a lick of paint! But on entering the hotel we were greeted by some friendly and helpful staff. Our room was very large, clean and comfortable. The hotel was in a great location being a short walk away from the beach. The draw back is the hotel isn't the most fancy or modern but for the price and location, the short stay was more than pleasant
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by sarah from Richmond,Surrey

in good location near beach and town centre

Posted Apr 18, 2014
Pros: was in good location
nice and comfy room,very friendly staff and helpful .
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Chris from Southsea

Excellent location for the beach and town.

Posted Feb 22, 2014
Pros: Great location, friendly staff, pleasant lobby and bar area and lovely pool. Overall no major frills but good value. Ideal for a short getaway.
Cons: The family room was spacious and clean but decorwas tired and bathroom was small. The heating was temperamental and we were only given two towels.
Location: Good restaurants nearby, excellent access to beaches and Russell Cotes Museum.
Wonderful walks along the beach with easy access to Bournmouth and Boscome. Very close to the fantastic Russell Cotes museum, a real must. Good restaurants and caf├ęs nearby.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 3, 2014
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by ladyofleisure from Bournemouth

Posted Sep 6, 2013 on Hotels.com
Fantastic service, especially in the restaurant with breakfast. 2 things would make the stay better; more organisation in the car park on arrival; indicating where the third car park is, and....... I did request no stairs; the lift only goes to the first floor and there were then 4 stairs to go up to the room. The lift doors were extremely heavy and made it difficult to get in and out, especially with luggage.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
1 out of 5
by Tatiana from London, UK

I'll not recommend to anyone.

Posted Jul 24, 2013
Pros: helpful receptionist
Cons: dirty room
Location: good
Very dirty room and cobwebs in the corners. The linen was dirty and stale. Is simply awful thing. Maid comes into the room without knocking. In the future I'll try to avoid this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by LARAINE from CLOSE TO BOURNEMOUTH

Comfy Beds

Posted Jul 19, 2013 on Hotels.com
THE SHOWER IN OUR ROOM WAS AWFUL. IT MORE OR LESS TRICKLED WATER. IT WAS EXPLAINED THAT THE WATER PRESSURE WAS LOW. THE OUTDOOR SWIMMING POOL WAS FILTHY AND THEY USED A GARDEN HOSE TO DO GOODNESS KNOWS WHAT WITH IT. THE SERVICE WAS EXCELLENT. THE MEAL TIMES WERE TOO EARLY FOR US. THAT IS BREAKFAST DURING THE WEEKDAYS WAS FROM 0800 TO 0930 - WE WOULD HAVE PREFERRED IT TO 10.00 AM. THE DINNER TIME WAS EARLY TOO FROM 1800 HOURS TO 1930. WE WOULD HAVE PREFERRED UP TO 2000 HOURS. THE SERVICE IN THE ROOM AND DINING ROOM WAS EXCELLENT. ALTHOUGH THERE WAS AN INDOOR POOL IT WAS VERY, VERY SMALL. HOWEVER WE WOULD CERTAINLY STAY AT THE HINTON FIRS AGAIN. IT WAS VERY WELL RUN AND THE STAFF WERE EXCELLENT, HELPFUL AND FRIENDLY.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by JEG from Bucks

Very dirty- pics apply to only a handful of rooms!

Posted Jun 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
Our room was awful- dirty, the shower didnt work, the water ran out brown, it was freezing cold with no power when it got going (so bad I couldnt wash my hair), mould on the windows and on the bathroom tiles, stained towels and the room was full of dust. Very disappointing. The online pics apply to only a small number of rooms, the rest are very old, dull, dirty and in real need of a clean. On the upside, breakfast was ok. Took a while to get served but you could see the staff were trying their best.